Short Hiatus due to Mother’s health

I have not been posting much lately or reading the posts of others.  I’ve had midterms and end of term study and work.  I have also been dealing with health issues of my mom.  She has been in poor health for awhile but the last three weeks have bordered on near fatal.

Needless to say, I’ve been much concerned.  She was put into a nursing/rehab center and does not thrive.  In fact, she decided to die and has been starving herself because she hates the place and has given up.

I have made arrangements to visit with her for a bit.  This has encouraged her and she is back on track to recovery, such as it is with an 84 year old woman with COPD, an anyeurism on her heart and a torn descending aorta.  It has been a rough, sad, scary time and I haven’t felt much like writing, reading, or commenting, although I have tried and have worked on being positive.  Hopefully, she will be discharged home soon and I can have a good visit with her and work on trying to rebuild her strength.

I’ll be back in a few weeks and will try to catch up on reading posts and starting to post again.  I apologize in advance for not reading but right now, my mother will be my priority.  I imagine this visit with her in Florida will probably be the last time this side of heaven I will see my mother again.

Your prayers, positive energy, good thoughts for her and I will be most welcome and appreciated.  You all take care of yourselves and know you are all in my thoughts.

It is through challenge that we find out who we really are.

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trini
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 13:16:31

    I will pray for you and your mother!! I am there with you, and so is my Love and Light! I am also going through tough times with my granny, she is 82 and in bad shape, she also have lost faith in life and talk about leaving. So I am right there with you! Together we will manage! 🙂 Take care of your mother and take care of yourself! 🙂 We will be here waiting when you come back! 🙂 Lots of Love to you and your mother from me! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  2. macjam47
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 13:41:49

    I am praying for you and your mother. This is a tough time for both of you (we’ve been through it with my mother-in-law’s emphysema and my mother’s lung cancer). Don’t worry about anything except to take care of your mother AND yourself. Sending you lots of love. ❤

    Reply

  3. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 14:11:13

    Holding you and your mother in my heart.

    Reply

  4. huntmode
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 15:40:21

    Kanzen, you and your Mama are in my heart and my prayers. I am so glad you are able to spend time face to face with your Mama, especially at this difficult time. I know it will do you both good. May the healing touch of God be with you both. xxoo Huntie

    Reply

  5. M-R
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 16:46:56

    Gosh, Kanzen – what a terrible strain …
    I can’t offer you my prayers, but I do send you all the positive vibes emanating from this heart !!!!

    Reply

  6. cindy knoke
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 18:09:36

    Sending healing hopes and prayers your mom’s way~

    Reply

  7. Russel Ray Photos
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 18:30:40

    Sending positive thoughts and good vibrations to you and yours from here in San Diego.

    Reply

  8. SirenaTales
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 20:44:26

    Sending blessings and love your way, Kanzen. Make sure to take good care of yourself, my friend. xoxo

    Reply

  9. seeker
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 21:14:58

    Tina: May the God of Mercy send you and your Mother angels to guide and guard you during this trying time. Blessings. Perpetua.

    Reply

  10. Master of Something Yet
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 21:48:21

    It’s so hard to watch our parents age and to find ourselves in the carer role. Wishing you a meaningful time with your mother.

    Reply

  11. Permacooking
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 22:28:48

    Sending my prayers and positives thoughts to you and your mom, hoping a quick recovery. Peace, Kanzen.

    Reply

  12. Beni
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 23:58:20

    May the Holy Spirit embrace you two.

    Reply

  13. Chess
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 00:22:45

    Hugs, you and your mom are in my prayers.

    Reply

  14. Jean Reinhardt
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 02:59:34

    I am very sorry to hear that about your mother. I have had bad scares about both my parents over the past twelve months. My mother has been treated for COPD for over a year and now they think it might be something else that surgery could possibly resolve. I know the day is approaching when they will no longer be here as they are both in their eighties so I try to make the most of every moment I’m with them. Give your mother my warmest love please and take care of yourself, too.

    Reply

  15. FlaHam
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 07:34:56

    Kanzen, You will be missed but we understand. Take care and be safe. Bill

    Reply

  16. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 07:57:05

    Dear Kanzen, you are in my thoughts and prayers. I know how difficult it is when our parent(s) is far away and we can’t hop in the car at will. Our mother is the most precious being we have on this earth. Don’t forget to look after yourself so you can look out for her. Safe trip. ❤

    Reply

  17. T Ibara Photo
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 10:28:03

    My thoughts are with you and your mother. Please take care.

    Reply

  18. kalyrical
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 19:41:56

    Wishing your mother all the best. The blogging community will be here for you whenever you decide you want to return 🙂

    Reply

  19. Enchanted Seashells, Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 00:18:03

    Best wishes for your mom to enjoy a speedy recovery and for you to be strong!

    Reply

  20. sagedoyle
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 13:41:42

    My thoughts are with you and your mother. I’m here if you need some online support.

    Reply

  21. Maurice A. Barry
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 16:28:15

    This is a very tough time but I know, deep inside, that you can get through this period and emerge stronger. Here’s hoping that this time will help build upon the bond that exists between you and your mom.

    Reply

  22. Bernice
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 12:54:52

    Sorry Kanzen – I have not been on too much lately and just read your post. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. God Blessings and many hugs of encouragement. Where there is fear or worry may it be replaced with peace….

    Reply

  23. hastywords
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 15:19:44

    Lot’s of prayers for you and your mom. I hope love and peace surround you.

    Reply

  24. john flanagan
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 00:56:21

    Kanzen,
    Happy to have found your blog.
    I hope your mother is doing better and making a full recovery.
    My best to you
    john

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

