Keeping the darkness at bay

“Let your light so shine before [all people], that they may see your good works and glorify God. “—Matthew 5:16

“A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle”.  James Keller

How far that little candle throws his beams! So shines a good deed in a weary world.” William Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice

“The Sun will rise and set regardless. What we choose to do with the light while it’s here is up to us. Journey wisely.” Alexandra Elle

Dark times, these. War everywhere, destruction by weather: drought, tornados, earthquakes – hunger, disease. That is the world view. Locally, the same. I stopped watching the news because I could not bear it anymore. “Bad news on the doorstep, I couldn’t take one more step…” (Don McLean, American Pie). It seems the darkness is taking us over. We often feel overwhelmed by the enormity of need, grief, hate, darkness. We seem to be too few and too weak to drive it back.

In J. R. R. Tolkien’s book The Hobbit, the wizard Gandalf explains why he has selected a small hobbit like Bilbo to accompany the dwarves to fight the enemy. He says, “Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love.”

I have spoken before of your kindness to me. I think that I am not alone in my thoughts of kindness and light. We may not all believe in a Supreme Being, Savior, Prayer…but from what I have felt and known for awhile, we all believe in goodness and positivity. Your positive energy, love, kindness, prayers – given so freely, lifted the darkness of the abyss from my heart and from my mother’s heart.

If only one of us does an act of kindness, rescues someone/animal that is helpless, shares the light in their soul with one other person, then that darkness is driven away. I have almost 600 followers – I think of you all as points of light in this seemingly overwhelming darkness. That is a lot of light!!!

I think of Robin Williams who committed suicide by hanging himself. Man, that is one serious wish to die. Strangling and suffocating slowly is a hell of a horrible way to die. I wonder, with all the laughter he created, how he was unable to fight against the darkness, to ask someone to help him…Like him, many of us, including me, suffer from deep, chronic depression. Along the way, we either asked for help or was given help. We accepted that help. Damaged clay lanterns that we are, those cracks in us allow light out into the darkness. We in turn help others and share that light with others. And those others share the light and on and on and on.

I am convinced darkness will not win. I truly believe our light will hold darkness at bay, that it will light up the lives of others, that it will light up the dark skies of deepest night. Only one little star but how far its light travels and how brightly it shines! That is you my friend, that is you.

This video was sent to my by friend Beni. He encourages me with his faith and strength and his friendship. I do the same for him. I encourage others. He encourages others. Those others….you know the rest of this. You may not have a belief in a God, a Savior, prayers, but I know you all have a belief in goodness and light and kindness. This video, in one fell swoop, takes me back to the time a great love in life ended, the loss of a job, the finding out I had cancer and how my faith and hope was made stronger.  Many small and large acts of kindness drove away the darkness and fear.

I believed in God’s grace during the storm and darkness. You have read my post about that. I share this video with you all. Light up the sky – be the stars in the darkness. Be the guiding light, the giving light, the loving night, the steady light.

Blessings. The video is below the words to the song.

“Light Up The Sky”

When I’m feeling all alone
With so far to go
The signs are no where on this road
Guiding me home
When the night is closing in
Is falling on my skin
Oh God will You come close?

[Chorus]
Light light light up the sky
You light up the sky to show me You are with me
I I I can’t deny
No I can’t deny that You are right here with me
You’ve opened my eyes
So I can see You all around me
Light light light up the sky
You light up the sky to show me
That You are with me

When stars are hiding in the clouds
I don’t feel them shining
When I can’t see You beyond my doubt
The silver lining
When I’ve almost reached the end
Like a flood You’re rushing in
Your love is rushing in

[Chorus]

So I run straight into Your arms
You’re the bright and morning sun
To show Your love there’s nothing You won’t do

[Chorus]

That You are with me
That You are with me

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. huntmode
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 23:42:54

    There should be a LOVED this button! Thank you, Kanzen. Your words, Beni’s, the song, the video all brighten my evening. Thank you. Love HuntMode

    Reply

  2. huntmode
    Aug 28, 2014 @ 23:44:20

    Reblogged this on Chasing Rabbit Holes and commented:
    Kanzen reminds us of the power of Light, Love, Kindness – the ability to give and sometimes more importantly to receive – to ask and receive. Thank you, Kanzen.

    Reply

  3. BloomLisa
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 00:10:01

    What an inspiring quote, a candle loses nothing by lighting another. In fact its flame only grows by sharing and uplifting another, just as you have done with sharing your heart, soul and sweetness here on the page. Be well Kanzen, you are amazing.

    Reply

  4. joannesisco
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 07:20:46

    I look at life from the point of view that what you send out into the world, gets mirrored back to you – positivity, negativity … you decide by your actions, words and thoughts.
    I believe that all the light and kindness you feel directed your way right now is all the kindness and positivity you’ve sent out into the world magnified back at you ❤

    Reply

  5. FlaHam
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 07:57:33

    Kanzen, Thank you, thank you very much. Please take care, Bill

    Reply

  6. macjam47
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 09:16:55

    Kanzen, thank you for sharing this. It is a wonderful message that we all need to remember and to put in practice everyday. You are an amazing person. Sending you love, positive energy, and prayers. ❤ ❤

    Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Aug 29, 2014 @ 09:26:44

    Absolutely LOVE this video. Beni is a loving and sensitive soul to send you this. Thank you for sharing with us. The words to the song lift me up even as I fight tears. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  8. Maurice A. Barry
    Sep 01, 2014 @ 14:03:06

    We can all shine in our own way… 🙂
    Loved it!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

