Yummy Nuttin’ of a Sweet Treat Recipe

This really is a nothing kind of recipe, something I would read and flip past. Yeah, sometimes I am a food snob. Really I am! I had this at a friend’s house and she very kindly wrote down for me.  Thank you Minou.

You can use the last of the summer peaches or the very first of the new crop of apples. I used peaches because they are so precious, I want to  see if I can’t just wring every bit of wonderfulness out of them I can before they disappear into that place socks go in the dryer.

So…not as elaborate as my own recipe, but very good and on a busy night, this makes a wonderful end to a thrown together grilled cheese and tomato soup kind of supper. Apple/Peach Dumplings. So easy my SamCat could fix it if he wasn’t so busy being a cat.

Here’s the recipe. Y’all think of me when you serve and folks go…dang! That’s good!  <grin>

Super Easy Apple/Peach Dumplings

2 Granny Smith apples or similar size peaches, peeled
Juice of 1 lemon
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
8 canned buttermilk biscuits or I prefer, canned “crescent” rolls
3 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
½ tsp. nutmeg

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Peel, core and slice the apples/peaches vertically into 8 slices each.. Squeeze the lemon into a bowl of water and add the apple/peach to keep from turning brown. In a medium saucepan, mix 1 cup water, 3/4 cup of the sugar, the butter and vanilla. Bring the sugar mixture to a boil over medium heat. Separate each biscuit into 2 layers. For the “crescents”, separate into triangles, put the fruit slice in the center and seal roll around it and place sealed end down.  Wrap a biscuit layer around a slice of apple or peach, stretching the biscuit slightly to overlap, and seal on the bottom. Place the wrapped slices, sealed-side down, in a 9- by 12- by 2-inch casserole dish. Pour the hot sugar mixture over the apple/peaches slices. Mix the remaining 1/4 cup sugar with the cinnamon and nutmeg. Sprinkle the mixture over the tops of the wrapped apples/peaches. Bake until golden brown, 35 minutes. Top wth vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. NOTE: if you can find mace, use in the place of nutmeg. It is the ground hull around the nutmeg and has a wonderful old fashioned, mellow aroma and flavor. I frequently use instead of nutmeg.  And a tiny splash of good bourbon doesn’t hurt any either, added to the sugar water.

public domain images

public domain images

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 21:32:08

    Yum – This does exceed my no more than 3 ingredient recipe rule but I can convert to diabetic safe. I may have to make an exception to my rule.

    Reply

  2. john flanagan
    Sep 02, 2014 @ 21:41:10

    Kanzen, this appeals to my sweet tooth, appeals probably far too much for my own good but what the hell! Delicious!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 02, 2014 @ 22:02:01

      And, someone told me you could use diet soda, like sprite or seven up or mountain dew in place of the sugar water. So, you can apparently cut down on the sugar content by using equivalent of the soda. The only thing I have ever made from a cola, and as a Southerner that is rare, is a chocolate sheet cake. I may try it that way after Sat when I take and (hopefully) pass my licensure exam and don’t have to study like a crazy woman any more. If it works, I’ll post a follow up. Date: Wed, 3 Sep 2014 01:41:11 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

      Reply

  3. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Sep 03, 2014 @ 16:49:25

    It’s easy to cut the fat by giving up the butter for heart healthy margarine. Of additional assistance to both the diabetic and the heart is to make the biscuits yourself and control the fat, etc. This really can be a no sugar added recipe. It still won’t be low carb but many times better than before the alterations.

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 08:40:44

    Sounds yummy but I’m confused about, “…Wrap a biscuit layer around a slice of apple or peach, stretching the biscuit slightly to overlap, and seal…” Sometimes I just am Duh. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 04, 2014 @ 11:14:55

      I’m sending your a link. I was not clear, so your question is not a duh, as I wrote down my friend’s recipe. Take an uncooked raw biscuit and pull it just a little larger or slightly roll it out, place the slice of fruit on one half,, pull the other edge over and seal. Yo should have a lumpy half circle of biscuit and fruit. Also, not sure if it is semantics and in Canada, a biscuit is what we in the US call a cookie. Not a duh thing at all! 🙂

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Sep 04, 2014 @ 15:01:02

        That’s what confused me, the triangular dough is all you need. There isn’t a SECOND ‘biscuit’ you stuff that into. Whew. Don’t know why this sounded so compliced. Phillbury Dough Boy dough okay?

        Reply

  5. kanzensakura
    Sep 04, 2014 @ 15:17:58

    I guess Minou uses those biscuits that have “golden” layers. I like the crrscent ones. And always have on hand. I’d fold like a diaper or what i think a triangular diaper would. Folded like! Grin.:-)

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

