Guest Blogger: SamCat – Sakura’s back home!

Good morning Every one – two legs, four legs, how ever many legs.  My most favorite upright, Sakura, is back home again after a too long absence.

The male upright took care of me while she was gone.  He’s okay but he isn’t…he’s….I’m trying to be kind here but he just isn’t cat material.  I mean, he is acceptable as a shredding post but that is about it.

I’d tell him I was hungry and he would say, SamCat, there is food in your bowl.  And yes, there was that wonderful new food my Sakura got for me:  no grains, no artificial flavors, colors, bye products (not sure what that is, is it products who are always leaving?). She told me it was full of salmon, Alaskan whitefish, sweet potatoes, greens….yummy.  And my tummy feels better and I don’t itch the way I used to itch.  But that was all he would do.  He kept my food and water bowls full, he cleaned my private loo.  He didn’t play with me or pet me or let me sleep in his lap.  He ….. he prefers… dogs.

When I tell my upright Sakura I am hungry, she walks over and checks my dish and then leans down to pick me up and scratch me head.  SamCat, you have a whole bowl of fresh yummies and fresh water and it looks like the treat fairy left you a treat.  Some animals have to work for their treats, don’t you know?  And she is right and when she puts me back down, I eat my treat first and nibble a few yummies to make her happy and then rub against her legs as a thank you.  The male upright does not do this.

While my Sakura was gone, I didn’t feel like playing with my toys or taking naps in her chair.  But she is back and I am so happy!  I heard her say once, Absence makes the heart grown fonder.  As usual, she is right about things.  When she came back and I heard her voice, I came running!  I loved her more than I did a week ago.

And I have a plan so she won’t leave again.  I have made her suitcase my new bed.  Now if she leaves, she has to take me with her!  I think that is a good plan – my bowl full of yummies and her suitcase full of me.

All of you out there have a good week.  Be kind to each other and do something to help feed hungry animals and humans in your neighborhood.  It is hard to smile when your tummy is empty.

sam in bag

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Vincent
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 08:35:27

    Hey SamCat, you have my sympathies… mine is always waltzing off without me these days. They just don’t get it, do they? Not sure I’d fit in her suitcase though… she travels light.
    You’ve gotta cut the male upright a bit of slack though… I prefer dogs myself, though cats have their uses… ‘specially Ginger next door.. he keeps me fit.
    Much love, Ani x

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 01, 2014 @ 11:39:34

      Hi Ani. Sakura travels light as well. that duffel was it for 10 days. she used to do a lot of backpacking so she is a good packer. So far though, she pulled out a bag with rattly things n it but nothing else. She has accepted I am the King of the bag. I like the dog next door. She is a rather elderly spaniel and doesn’t mind the few times I go in their yard to check out the birds. I don’t do it much because I have been told it is impolite and that we have more trees and more birds. I hope you have a good week and enjoy running Ginger about.
      Much love,
      SamCat the Ripper

      Reply

      • Sue Vincent
        Oct 01, 2014 @ 12:13:56

        Hi SamCat,
        I got called a Mad Dog today 🙂 Pretty cool!
        You’re not so bad for a cat.
        She’s off on her travels again any minute… I can tell. But she won’t be long, I know, ’cause she’s got cheesy stuff in the fridge.. that means the ball guy will be coming to visit too 🙂 So I’m going to play with my friends for a day or so, but if she doesn’t bring me back to see the ball guy there will be trouble 😛
        Much love, Ani x

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Oct 01, 2014 @ 15:08:46

          wow! That is cool. I got called a Monster Cat…..the neighbors don’t like me and when one of them threw water on me from their water hose, I arched my back and hissed at them. They told Sakura about it. She said if they didn’t want you in their yard, they should take five minutes to fix the hole in their fence and that next time their spaniel came over and left a package in her yard, she was calling them to come and clean it up. Or, she’d either clean it herself and leave it for them and there was no need to be ugly when their four leg wasn’t perfect by any long shot. So, the hole in the fence has been repaired and I noticed Trixie has been kept in her yard today. Two legs can be so strange. the family below us likes for me to visit and hang out. I gave them a dead mouse the other day and they were happy and told me what a fine fellow I am. I guess it is just how things hit two legs at the moment.

          Mad Dog and Monster Cat….I love it.

          Sent from Windows Mail

          Reply

  2. BloomLisa
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 10:15:06

    Wonderfully sweet. I love how your cat has claimed your suitcase, that is so “cat”! So unlike dogs it is nice to see how much cats do love us;-)

    Reply

  3. Clowie
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 10:56:50

    I think your plan to stop her going away is an excellent one!

    Reply

  4. M-R
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 04:12:15

    I LOVE this post ! – and I love SamCat, now. (I didn’t know her, before, she added hastily.)
    I wish Lui Stringer would be as adorable as that. Mind you, he does love me – but ONLY me, and he is vile to everyone else. Sighh …

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 02, 2014 @ 10:18:26

      SamCat’s full name is SamCat the Ripper and with good cause. He has shredded various things about the house and as he had a hard, badly abusive beginning, sometimes he does go into attack mode. I think during one of the abuse instances, he was either slightly braindamaged or so traumatized he does sometimes go ballistic if a wrong or attack-appearing motion is made towards him. Otherwise, he is a sweet and loving boy. He did another guest blog a few months ago: wordy Wednesday in which he details how we came to be a family. Cats are passing strange critters, but more intelligent than dogs and they only know and understand their ways.

      Reply

  5. joannesisco
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 18:07:26

    Awwww – this made me so happy. SamCat sounds just like my Theo ❤

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

