Fried Tofu – For Beni

Good food for a good day!

kanzen sakura

I really love fried tofu.  Sometimes, I dust with my special fried chicken seasoning and fry.  Mostly, I fix this simply.  I serve it with several dipping sauces, such as a sweet garlic chili sauce or soy flavored with slivers of ginger, sesame oil, and sliced scallion.  I personally just like it plain – hot and crispy on the outside, hot and almost custardy on the inside.  A member of the 11/16 Society shared this with me years ago.  It was one of our favorite appetizers to serve to visitors to our home.  Some may say this isn’t authentic Japanese, but since he is authentic Japanese, I beg to differ.

This is not the Japanese agedashi dofu, which is usually served with a dashi broth or a soya dipping sauce.  I suppose you could use these cubes in agedashi dofu.  My friend enjoys this but like me, he just liked the fried tofu –…

View original post 189 more words

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M-R
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 17:39:39

    It is all very well for SOME PEOPLE to use chopsticks … for some OTHER people this is not an option. Sadly do I admit it, as it’s clear to me that they would make turning the cubes of tofu SO much easier ! Sighh … So I use two long-handled serving spoons and kinda throw them around, instead. [grin]
    My current favourite is to start the tofu cooking and then add Tamari – heavenly !!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2014 @ 17:59:52

      Two spoon method works great! I love these things drizzled with a ginger/garlic/wasabi soy drizzle. most excellent Japanese street food.

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2014 @ 18:51:12

      Try ponzu for a change….soy sauce with a citrus tang. I’m seriously addicted to it.

      Reply

      • M-R
        Oct 15, 2014 @ 19:19:14

        ! – I shall, Kanzen – provided I can lay hands on it.
        Thanks, me old china.:-)

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Oct 15, 2014 @ 20:01:22

          Most welcome. if you can’t, pour out a bit of your tamari or soy and add a wee tad of OJ and miniscule bit of orange zest. let it sit over night and see how you like it. if you don’t, nothing wasted. I like it with a bit of lemon and orange zest added.

          Sent from Windows Mail

          Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 18:11:00

    Kanzen, how about I come over to your place and hang over your shoulder and sample some of these. I don’t fry anything because I stopped long ago and it makes such a mess of my stove. On the other hand, fried anything seems to taste g-o-o-d! ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2014 @ 18:49:59

      Sure! come on down. I bought, for little money, a splatter screen. A lot of times the fizz of splatter on the stove comes from either some liquid escaping and splattering, or like bacon, the stuff that comes out of it and sizzles. if you have a good deep dutch oven, put several inches of oil and heat to about 350. carefully put in the cubes of the tofu, or chicken wings, or potatoes…..cover with the splatter screen. heat and steam don’t form and the grease splatters stay in. I bought a set of 3, graduated sizes at Walmart for less than $6. One of the best cooking investments I made.

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 15, 2014 @ 20:28:57

    I’ve mentioned before that I HAVE a splatter screen but I keep forgetting. I wonder if that tells how long it’s been since I fried anything. On the other hand, when I make stews, I like to brown up chicken pieces, pork or beef and they cause a splatter. Get with it Tess. You HAVE a splatter screen. I don’t get this about me. 😉

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

