Meet the 6 military dogs to be honored in Veterans Day parade

And this is not too late for Veteran’s Day. Lest we forget to thank these dogs who “hold the lives of those we love in their paws”

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. firecook
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 00:08:16

    It is sad that a dog stays with that owner then he has to go to a new family .I feel for both. That poor creature to wait for a friend who will never see again Makes me cry..

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:39:06

      Yes. it is sad. But so many of them do get to be with their friend, which is very nice!

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

      • firecook
        Nov 13, 2014 @ 22:57:24

        That makes me Happy;)

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Nov 13, 2014 @ 23:01:46

          Good! There is a veteran who lives near us with his wife and his service dog. The dog was with him in Afghanistan and was able to come back to be with him. a private, local group retrained the dog to act as a service dog. She is one of those who help veterans working through PTSD. this group goes into animal shelters and chooses adult or older puppies who otherwise, would have not other life but to always life in the shelter (we have no kill shelters in this area). this gives them a new life, a second chance, a purpose and costs much much less than training pups from babyhood to adult hood. it is amazing how well these dogs catch on and sense their purpose. it brings happy tears to see one in action, protecting their human and helping through a hard time.

          Sent from Windows Mail

          Reply

  2. charlypriest
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 03:44:45

    Gotta love the Americans, only there do they actually honour the war dogs. I actually had a picture of a Marine with a dog next to his side saluting a memorial for dogs that had died in wars. A memorial for dogs! That´s quite something. Here in Spain I think most of the population don´t even know they even have an army and if they do they don´t care or they just hate it.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:49:17

      Well, we are a different group of folk who started out a bit different from the Spanish. We’re just a rowdy crew over here and we do love our dogs! I think if the dogs are in harm’s way and protect our service personnel, they definitely deserve some extra pats and treats! They sniff out bombs and attack to protect their human and I don’t know too many humans who would do such a thing. I’m proud of them too.

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

      • charlypriest
        Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:52:59

        I thought it was great that they actually honoured the service dogs. In our army it seems the budget is not there, but I have lived in the U.S for the better half of my early life and I know the U.S and how it works. But since I´ve been almost 13 years out of the U.S when I came about that picture of the Marine and the dog, saluting an actual memorial couldn´t do anything else but hit the print button and hang it up the wall. I thought it was touching. Only in the U.S of A. I would go back in the blink of an eye if I had the chance, believe me on that. Not a perfect country but sure beats any other country I´ve been to specially the one I was born in. You´re a lucky man to live there

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:59:32

          No, it is not a perfect country but I do love it. I am glad you do as well. And I am a lucky woman . LOL, trying to be gender neutral doesn’t always work out. I thought a photographer I liked was a female until he emailed me a picture of a young Japanese man. I find it kind of funny and wonder how many more folk I will make the gender mistake of. BTW, my like button only behaves in fits and starts and by the time in my reader I got to the picture of your dog, my button wasn’t working. I liked it! Made me smile.

          Sent from Windows Mail

          Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:15:00

    That is so unfair. How much time and effort was spent training the dog(s) only to break its heart? So not fair. As far as a dog continuing a tour of duty with a new owner, doesn’t the dog need a break too or is he used until he is used up?

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 07:23:41

    I hadn’t read the article when I first responded. I’m happy to say now retirement for dogs is as it should be. Good medical care is important to everyone even four legged ‘soldiers’. ⭐

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

