Happy Birthday to Me….and the rest of the 11/16 Society

I love birthdays and I especially like my own. My birthday is my New Year for me, not January 1. It is the beginning of starting a new chapter in the book of my life and for reflecting on the chapter I have just finished writing.

This past year has been full of many troubled times, challenges, and grief but it has also seen times of great joy, deep peace, incredible new friendships (thank you with much love to the Bitten Babes!), beginning again with a new profession and proving that no, I am not beaten and yes, I triumphed.

Last night at dinner at my favorite Chinese restaurant with some friends and my husband, one told me, I am so proud of all you have done this year and how you used a great injustice to move forward and grow. Wow.

So….happy birthday to me! Happy happy happy birthday. And thank you to all of you who continue to fill my life with your thoughts, travels, experiences, poems, photographs, friendship – all of you whose blogs I follow. You help me expand my universe but most important, expand my heart.

the group of us, those whom I term the 11/16 Society, I wish you all happy birthday and year filled with joy, health, and growth. I love you all. The 11/16 Society lost two of our unique band, Jeff and Jamie but….a year ago today, one of the 11/16 Society became grandfather to Jackson. So!!! Happy birthday my Band of Brothers:
Beni, Billy, Itoshi, Jackson, Mashashi, Takahashi-san, Thomas, Will, William and as noted on M-R Blog, Luke. M-R posted a Happy Birthday Greeting to Luke and I.    She is a fine lady from Oz and she keeps us all in line and honest and…wishes us happy birthday! Go visit her and go wish Luke happy birthday. Tell him Kanzen sent you by way of M-R.      http://margaretrosestringer.com/    I am link challenged but M-R is gifted – she has a link to mine and Luke’s blogs on her website…. Thank you M-R for the cake you baked as well.  I am so glad I got the pretty one and not the chocolate one.

And rest sweetly, Jamie and Jeff.  Your lifesongs have ended but the melody is still there in our hearts.   The 11/16 Society:  My friends, brothers, and maker of many of my smiles.  And a Happy Birthday wave on my 7th birthday, in the snow, long ago in a galaxy far, far away.

Kanzen's 7th Birthday   copyright Kanzensakura

Kanzen’s 7th Birthday copyright Kanzensakura

 

73 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Master of Something Yet
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 06:01:01

    A very Happy Birthday to you, Kanzen!! You’ve marked it with a lovely post. 🙂

    Reply

  2. M-R
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 06:10:06

    I’d like everyone to derive such pleasure from his/her birthday as do you, my teeny mate ! 😀

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 16, 2014 @ 16:41:17

      I wish so as well. I read a quote somewhere and my sieve of a brand can’t remember – may they with with joy at your entering the world and weep with sorrow when you leave. So I just have a good time until then.

      Reply

  3. Eddie Two Hawks
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 06:16:22

    Sending a very Happy Birthday new year wishes to you

    Reply

  4. lorriebowden
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 06:36:38

    Happy Happy Birthday Kanzen!! ❤ and remember…I believe you have a birthday "week" to celebrate!! Much love and many blessings to you!

    Reply

  5. yeseventhistoowillpass
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 06:37:14

    Happy Birthday to you! Great wise post!

    Reply

  6. mindlovemisery
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 07:13:54

    Happy Birthday 😄

    Reply

  7. Dionysus Amber
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 08:23:43

    A very HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you dear friend. Many Blessings too. ❤

    Reply

  8. belsbror
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 08:33:17

    May your day be wonderfully happy! 😀

    Reply

  9. macjam47
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 08:33:22

    Wishing you a wonderful birthday dear Kanzen.

    Reply

  10. Silver in the Barn
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 09:11:31

    Wishing you a very happy day, Kanzen.

    Reply

  11. Sarah
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 09:35:04

    Birthdays remind me of my childhood in Wales. I don’t remember much Welsh but I know how to wish you a happy birthday: Penblwydd hapus i chi.
    I hope you have a wonderful day(s). 😀

    Reply

  12. nonsmokingladybug
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 09:54:58

    M-R sent me here so I wish you a Happy Birthday. Have a marvelous day with lots of cake 🙂

    Reply

  13. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:23:50

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJQM5xBaRXI A very special wish for your birthday, to my special cyber friend. May every day be filled with quality and satisfaction all year long. Sending love and hugs!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 16, 2014 @ 13:33:39

      I LOVE IT…..LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!Thank you so much and love to you, Max, Bella, Lady Luck…and your husband and of course, I remember the names of the dogs…..

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

  14. Cynthia Jobin
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 10:35:42

    It’s very nice to visit your site for the first time..(M-R sent me!) and send you a warm “Happy Birthday” from the chilly state of Maine!

    Reply

  15. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 11:40:32

    I believe I’m in better voice now than earlier. I’ve had enough coffee. ❤ ❤ ❤
    Hap-peee Birth-daaayy to Uuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    Hap-peee Birth-daaayy to Uuuuuu
    Hap-pee Birth-daayy Dear Toooo-nneeee
    Hap-pee Birth-daayy toooo Uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    And man-nyyyy mooooooorre.

    Hope you have a wonderful day today, the first of you new year. I',m still working on the 'present'.

    Reply

  16. Luke
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 12:07:13

    Happy birthday to us 🙂 I wanted to say thank you for the shout out to M-R but she did not allow for comments on the post. I’ll link one of her posts so she can see the thanks 🙂

    http://margaretrosestringer.com/2014/11/16/two-birthdays-today/

    Reply

  17. Sue Slaght
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 13:55:27

    Wishing you a very happy birthday. I have come by way of M-R’s blog. 🙂

    Reply

  18. trentpmcd
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 14:15:22

    Happy Birthday/start of a new chapter!

    Reply

  19. seeker
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 14:59:43

    hugs, kisses and waving at you on this monumental event! This is a song I play for everyone including mine. http://3psbyseeker.com/2014/10/30/any-readers-whos-celebrating-a-birthday-today/

    Reply

  20. Franz
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 15:00:21

    Happy birthday girl! Hope you’re having a great one so far! 🙂

    Reply

  21. Beni
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 15:46:20

    Happy Birthday, Kunoichi no Chesterfield.

    Reply

  22. joannesisco
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 18:31:58

    I don’t understand why some people chose to not celebrate their birthday … it’s exactly as you said – a personal new year. Hope your new year is full of all the stuff that makes you happy and laugh 🙂
    I hope your new year is full of prosperity, abundance and mostly love 🙂

    Reply

  23. bkpyett
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 18:57:53

    Happy birthday Kanzen, and your post is very special mentioning your other birth buddies. I am glad that M-R sent me over to discover your blog. May your year ahead be fulfilling and productive, as well as exciting! Best wishes. ❤

    Reply

  24. gpcox
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 07:36:09

    Sorry i wasn’t on line yesterday to wish you one of the VERY BEST BIRTHDAYS – EVER!!!!!! I hope you had a wonderful time!!!! ❤

    Reply

  25. mrsbearfoot
    Nov 18, 2014 @ 12:18:01

    Belated but joyous wishes to you!

    Lindy

    Reply

  26. Edward Hotspur
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:32:46

    Happy Birthday, Kanzen – Sorry I’m late with this, but 16 Nov is also my wife’s birthday…

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

