Winter’s Coming: Sensual Fruit Crumble

Do I have your attention? I’m sure I do. Now, how is a crumble, that most humble and homey of fruit desserts sensual? Well, having fixed this many times during the past few years and observing the “behavior” of the fruit involved, all I can say is: the cranberries pop! and the sugar melts…Okay. Maybe not, but it is good.  Tangy and full of juice – perfect with a dollop of whipped cream or vanilla ice cream or with a cold glass of milk.

You can of course use different fruits according to season. This is a crumble using autumn/winter fruits. If you don’t use the cranberries and only use apple or apple/pear, then add about one fourth cup of apple juice and a teaspoon of lemon juice and adjust cooking times and sugar content. You can also add a nice splash of pear or apple brandy along with the vanilla as well. Not only a sensual, but an extremely adaptable fruit crumble.

I like best those desserts that are simple and full of fruit. My favorite birthday cake is apple pie and for my birthday this past weekend, I fixed apple pie. And it is all gone and very happily enjoyed!!! I hope you enjoy this crumble and I am sure you will agree with me on one thing – it’s good!!!

Autumn Fruit Crumble
2 cups fresh or thawed frozen cranberries
2 firm-ripe pears such as Bartlett, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
2 apples such as Gala, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (I use Macintosh)
3/4 cup sugar, divided
1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup old-fashioned oats
½ cup chopped nuts – walnuts, or pecans or almonds (optional)
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
Pinch of salt
1 stick unsalted butter, softened

Directions
Preheat oven to 425°F with rack in middle. Stir together fruits, 1/4 cup sugar, cornstarch, and vanilla and place in a buttered shallow 2-quart baking dish. Stir together oats, flour, salt, nuts, and remaining 1/2 cup sugar. Blend in butter with your fingertips until mixture forms small clumps. Scatter over fruit and bake until juices are bubbling and topping is golden brown, about 30 – 40 minutes. Cool slightly before serving. Serves 6

public domain clip art

public domain clip art

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life.
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 11:42:08

    Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Yesterday we had Norwegian cookies that apparently had quite a bit of omph in the bedroom. Today Sensual Fruit crumble.. from Kanzen Sakura – sound delicious but one wonders what recipe I shall find for tomorrow…..

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 18:19:13

    Cranberries, pears and apples? Oh my. What can be better than this. Saved this. Must wait for a special opportunity. Mm mm. I’m smacking my lips and I don’t even eat cakes. The fruit alone sounds heavenly. ❤

    Reply

  3. Bernice
    Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:20:08

    I do like this crumble – looks delicious!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:23:17

      It is! And adaptable. But the cranberries are wonderful. I hope you are well. I saw on the weather map NY is getting all kinds of big snow!

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • Bernice
        Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:25:06

        Yep that would be us! Pictures and a video is on my blog. We will survive – we always do. 🙂 I love the idea of cranberries especially at this time of year. How are you doing?

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Nov 19, 2014 @ 20:35:23

          Fine…cold but dry. Almanac says Dec, will be rainy, snowy, cold. So enjoying the dry sunny weather until then! I have made this with just cranberries. I buy extra bags and put in my freezer to pull out all through t o spring.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

  4. chrllrobb.blog
    Nov 20, 2014 @ 22:23:43

    Yum! Sounds so good. My husband doesn’t care much for cranberries. I wonder if he would like this? I will have to copy it.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 20, 2014 @ 22:46:40

      Tart cherries could be substituted but it would have a different taste. Try it with the cranberries or cut down on the cranberries and use more apple and pear. Adjust the sugar and try adding a bit of orange zest for some zip, if he doesn’t like the original. I hope it works for you. It is unusual and it is good.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  5. SirenaTales
    Nov 21, 2014 @ 22:36:25

    Not sure what is more delicious–the crumble or your verve, my friend. Wait. I think ’tis the latter. Thanks for all of the delight. xoxo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 22, 2014 @ 09:50:04

      You made me smile hugely this morning! So I hope my verve has done the trick and you’ll give this one a go. And you are the delight. 💗

      Sent from Windows Mail

      Reply

  6. writingwingsforyou
    Nov 23, 2014 @ 10:19:46

    Yum yum! Can’t wait to try it!
    I’d love to be at your house around the holidays. I can feel the love pour from your words, as I imagine they pour from your food. Happy holidays my friend.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 23, 2014 @ 10:23:04

      Thank you for such a lovely comment. I learned a t a young age, from my grandmother and my father, the seasoning for food is love. Hunger may be the best sauce, but love seasons best. It is one of the joys of my life to cook for those I love. ♡

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 23, 2014 @ 10:24:05

      And as I hit send too soon, I wish you much love and joy over the holidays and in the coming year.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  7. bkpyett
    Dec 12, 2014 @ 01:57:42

    Love your description and the recipe Kansen, shall try it very soon. I’ve never put the corn flour in with the fruit, but it sounds really good!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

