A word on those Thanksgiving pre and post sales

My dear friend Huntie has hit the nail on the head. Are we more interested in sales and stuff than giving thanks for all our blessings? is our priority to decorate with glitzy glam instead of spreading light and love? What is your priority? What are you thankful for?

Chasing Rabbit Holes

Are you as baffled and biased about all the advertising as I am, seeing the early “Black Friday” sales, sales that start on Thanksgiving, or even as early as Wednesday? My gut reaction is to weep that such a day has become so corrupt and the antithesis of its original purpose: to give thanks for our blessings. Mind, I worked Black Fridays in retail and it leaves its mark, sometimes literally, depending on the sale. We used to watch the crowds lining up outside the glass doors and just shudder. The doors would open and the herd surged in. I distinctly remember jumping and ducking behind a counter for cover. P’shaw. Amateur hour now. Now it’s a fine art to get the best of deals and be able to really pull off some scoops. I get it. But couldn’t you have left Thanksgiving intact?

While we’re on that subject, Christmas…

View original post 65 more words

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 18:43:40

    Bah humbug to all that crazy shopping just to accumulate and accumulate. Thankfully, there is more to life. We ought to be gratefull for what we already have: health, family, loved ones around us. ❤ ❤ ❤ When will be learn stuff doesn't matter in the end. You sure can't take it with you.

    Reply

  2. huntmode
    Nov 26, 2014 @ 20:34:52

    How wonderful to read you’ve reblogged this one, Kanzen! I am thankful for you and the Bitten Babes, and for God making me such a wealthy woman in every area of my life, most especially in friends! xxoo Huntie

    Reply

  3. machinist
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 03:17:10

    I worked in fast food for years and indeed came to dread the holidays. I don’t have much to do on the holidays but we do spend them with my wife’s family and that is nice. While I am a long time Scrooge I do find pleasure in seeing someone who keeps the spirit in their heart and shows they know the true meaning. It makes the rest easier to ignore.

    Gentle kanzensakura , of course you always shine with the finest spirit and show us a living example of gentle nobility. People like you and the gentle Plague Fairy and her noble Prince make me a better person and help keep me from sinking into the cynical recluse I think nature tended to shape me into. I can’t help creeping toward the light to see the innocent and virtuous people basking in their love and joy in each others company.

    I hope the holidays find you well and happy. You are one of the things I find myself feeling thankful for this time of year.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 01, 2014 @ 20:30:39

      Hello Gentle Mac. It is good to hear your voice and that you liked this post. Since you do find pleasure in people enjoying this season in their hearts, you are not a Scrooge. No way. And you and I know this season isn’t about all the consumerism and partying, we know the season is about love and joy.

      I thank you for your always kind and encouraging words. I wish for you and those you hold dear, extra blessings and smiles and good health now and in the new year. Blessings to you.

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

