#Authors #Bloggers #Readers – Be aware of Intellectual Property Theft Laws!

Very good information.. you will note I have copyright information on my website and the photos I take and post.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Intellectual Property Theft – a growing problem that hurts everyone in this writing business

By Susan M. Toy

Recently, I’ve become aware of the increasing amount of Intellectual Property (IP) theft that’s taking place online. It’s been happening for a long time: artists—visual, photographers, musicians and writers—seem only able to stand by and watch as what they have created is either copied and pasted elsewhere on the net without permission or no attribution at all is given for their work. Yes, there are copyright laws in place to protect us and the illegal use of our IP. But internet users seem unaware of these laws, or blatantly flout them, or truly believe that, whatever is on the Internet is free for their own personal use and by anyone who wants to copy and paste it into their status update or to their blog.

I’m going to speak specifically to the…

View original post 1,528 more words

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 10, 2014 @ 19:42:05

    I have questions about the legal blah blah on blogs. Some post icons from different free sites where they register (I assume). Creative Commons is one. Still, by the looks of things, there are no guarantees.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 10, 2014 @ 20:01:57

      No, but at least it is out front warning people. Also because of the way WP documents dates of postings, that helps clear up date issues. I have thought of putting b r if legal blah blah on postings. As nd on my sites, that’s exactly what I call it, Legal Blah-blah

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Dec 11, 2014 @ 14:22:16

    Youtube gives itself credit and self-polices. The video let’s you know it’s YouTube and at the end of the clip, similar videos pop up on a grid. Those that are super protected will not play at all.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

