Cup of Kindness – 2015

 

And so we come to the end of another year. This has been a year of tremendous changes. In spite of so many hard things, there have been many good things.  In March, I lost my job due to ageism and racism. Ugly combination, hey? And as time has progressed, my mother has become more fragile in her health and after rescuing her from a bad situation in Florida and taking her to live with her youngest sister in Tennessee, she just seemed to just step off the edge of the cliff. Health folks often call it that. She is now in and out of reality. Dementia is a demon from which there is no escape. I call her daily. The other day she asked me where my father was and why he hadn’t been to visit. I gently told her he died 30 years ago. She didn’t remember. This is a daily heartbreak for me. It is also a daily reminder of those fragile relationships that mean so very much and could suddenly….end.

But there has been highs in this past year. I’ve been able to devote more time to my writing, reading, cooking, independent study and went back to school for pharmacy. Being an engineer, my outlook isn’t the typical glass half empty/full thing. Our thing is, if the glass is half empty or half full, then get another glass. So I got another glass.

I am also ending this year finding out that my deep depression disorder is not that at all. I am bi-polar. Not a death sentence by any means but a life sentence none the less. But I can and will cope. I have the best husband in the world and I have friends – beyond excellent friends.  Hope and faith – words for the new tomorrow.  I promise, I’ll do my best not to be whiney about it!

Dear Chloe over at: http://sirenatales.wordpress.com did a post on Automaticity. Just what I was thinking for the past week or so. Basically, practice makes perfect. Practice a dance move, a speech pattern, whatever – until you do it automatically without thinking. Like when I draw my wakizashi with that single sweep and into fight position. I don’t think, I do.

What to practice in 2015 until it becomes so engrained? Here’s my list. What about yours?   Compassion, hope, joy, positivity, sharing, honor, humility of spirit, curiosity, open mindedness, open heart, gentleness, faith…big one – Faith. 

I forget who said this: When we worry today, we rob tomorrow of its hope.  There.  Nuff said.

I thank all of you who follow both my blogs; this one and Aki no Koe. Thank you for your likes, comments, kindnesses, prayers, positive thoughts. Thank you for your posts and all you have shared. Blessings to you in 2015.  I wish you all and those you hold dear, the best that can be granted to you.

And above all, let us practice kindness. Let us drink deeply from that cup o’ kindness and pass it on. Let us practice it until we don’t have to even think about it. Kindness as automatic as our hearts beating. Sharing it without thinking.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trini Lind
    Dec 30, 2014 @ 23:45:08

    I know you have been through a lot this year, and I am wishing with all my heart that 2015 will be a year of Love, Comfort, Healing, Joy and Happiness for you. We are all here supporting each other, cheering each other on. It is a beautiful thing 🙂 Keep being your beautiful self ❤ You are lovely! ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 30, 2014 @ 23:57:25

      Yes, we cheer each other on and bless each other with kindness and caring. Your sweet and lovely spirit often reminds me of the good things in my life. Bldss you Trini dear. ♡♡♡

      Reply

  2. smilecalm
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 02:24:57

    go team kindness, go!
    making it through to another happy present moment!

    Reply

  3. bkpyett
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 07:10:34

    May 2015 bring your desires to fruition, and good health too! ❤

    Reply

  4. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 11:07:58

    May the new year bring you & yours, health, and days of laughter with peaceful nights. Big warm cyber hug to you. Love, Paulette ❤

    Reply

  5. Bernice
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 13:01:42

    Blessings my friend through cyberspace! Yes, you have been through a lot but your faith will carry you when you cannot. You are an inspiration to me in so many ways! Happy New Years!!

    Reply

  6. cynt5525
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 13:47:53

    Have A Happy New Year!!! Thank You for liking my Painting!! 🙂 *Cynthia

    Reply

  7. SirenaTales
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 17:00:32

    Dear Kanzen, Thank you so much for passing your cup of kindness to me so many times this past year, including with your shout out in this generous piece. My heart goes out to you with your challenges and also in your blessings and triumphs. One thing I do know is you are one tough cookie AND and an amazing dancer, chef, writer, human being with a big heart and spirit. May the kindness and verve you share come back to you a hundredfold! Let’s rock 2015, baby! with love, love, love

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 31, 2014 @ 18:41:15

      Your ki dness and live overwhelms me. I am thankful for the gift of you and your spirit. Ialways look forward to your posts because I know I will be inspired, gladdened, strengthened. I’ve survived and will contine. Thanks to friends who have become family and thanks to their love and support. After your post, I could not not acknoledge you. I hope more people will stop by! I wish you and those you love the richest blessings available. Thank you for your sharing, your kindness, and the heart within you.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  8. Pratibha
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 18:54:57

    All the best in the new Year my dear. My prayers will be there for you your mom and your family. We all go thru times rough and gentle. but someone above our level always is there to take us thriu in many different forms.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 31, 2014 @ 19:02:57

      Thankyou and may you have a blessed new year. And yes, thankfully there is that One who loves and keeps us close. Thank you for tbe prayers for my mom. I always tell her when someone sends their prayers.

      Reply

  9. David Emeron
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 20:28:29

    Reblogged this on David Emeron: Sonnets and commented:
    This so closely mirrors my own experiences this year that I feel it would be redundant to compose a similar post–though perhaps I should anyway.

    Reply

  10. Master of Something Yet
    Dec 31, 2014 @ 21:08:32

    Beautiful words, Kanzen. I love your engineer’s version of the glass half empty/full. 🙂

    Good luck with your practice in 2015 (though I think you’re already there on many of them) and here’s hoping for much kindness in our world.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 31, 2014 @ 21:23:39

      Here’s hoping for mire kindness, indeed. I try to do better at practicing. Blessings toyou in the new year and may much kindness be shown to you.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  11. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 04:38:41

    This is truly one of the most beautiful blogs I’ve read summing up your personal year gone by and your hopes and dreams for tomorrow and the coming year. I’ve been the recipient of your cup of kindness so many times. I’d never have known that it wasn’t a natural for you, my friend. I fully understand the ‘faith’ bracket as it’s something I’m grasping but haven’t reached yet.
    I’m sure with your pharmacy knowledge you are aware of the dangers of many antidepressants when an individual is bipolar.
    Again, an amazing blog from an amazing woman. Happy New Year, my friend.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 01, 2015 @ 09:09:55

      Happy new year to you! None of us by nature are naturally kind, but some more so than others. I was blessed to grow up in a home of kindness and faith. My grandmother Ninny, alway tried to teach and sbow us it was better to be kind than right. I am a stubborn hard sell but I try. I am so praying this year will overflow with kindness for you. Faith is hard because it isn’t something we can quantify. It is simply belief in the unquantifiable. I may be afraid, but I still believe in better things to come. I would rather have faith than a life of despair. You have faced down so many challenges this past year and in spite if it all, you have persisted; you’ve had faith. I shal do a small post I think using one of my favorite songs from of course, one of the Star Trek series. I have faith that this new year, we Bitten Babesmay bend, butnot break, smile, continue to soldier through, laugh, find pkeasure in our special ways, encourage and be encouraged, find peace, to emerge scarred but more beautiful in our souls. I have faith in this and if you need some at any point, my portion is small but there is always enough to share. Bless you, dear heart.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  12. macjam47
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 07:57:50

    Wishing you happiness, health, and many new followers in 2015. Keeping you and yours in my prayers, and praying for a kinder, more gentle world in the coming year. Hugs.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

