i miss the snow on my page

Christmas decorations taken down,
Back in their boxes
for another year.
dark winter envelops,
at night, only lights from
stalled traffic and fast food
joints add artificial festivities.
Houses plain again,
yellow light from windows
– no more candles in windows
or twinkles from
Christmas trees beckon
a welcome.
Stale cookies dumped
into the trash or
flung out into the yard
for birds and squirrels.
I look out and sigh.
sunny day, clear blue sky.
The limbo between brown lawns
and blooming plum trees
stretches like an endless
road in the desert
diasappearing into
a bleak horizon.
and even on my website
the holiday snow has
stopped blowing
across the page –
that bit of whimsy
just….gone.
I want the power
to stop or start the snow again.
I want the light again.
I want the darkness
to turn into dawn.

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smilecalm
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 12:18:07

    so many snowing blogs
    that are still snowing!
    is it only me 🙂

    Reply

  2. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 13:25:55

    Great writing. I’m a light person as well and thankfully today the sun it shining. 🙂

    Reply

  3. SirenaTales
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 13:31:38

    Hang in there, Kanzen! I know how you feel–but my decorations and lights will be up for awhile, and I have some pretty recently baked tins of cookies. I’ll send y’all some telepathically :). Maybe we can lobby wordpress to continue our blogs’ snowfall? I miss mine, too. xoxo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 05, 2015 @ 13:37:57

      Thank you for the cookies! I shall enjoy sitting by your tree and enmoying the good company, tree lights and cookies!

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 14:02:02

    I like the short lines. They heighten the feeling of letdown and underline the dreariness after all the glow is gone. 😮
    I haven’t taken mine down yet. Soon though.

    Reply

  5. Master of Something Yet
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 19:33:34

    I forgot to turn the snow on when we had the heatwave last week. Damn. When you petition WP for the return of the snow, how about suggesting other seasonal touches like falling leaves for autumn and cherry blossoms for spring? Hm. What could fly across the screen for summer….? Blow flies? Mosquitoes?

    Sending you some sunny summer weather to light the dark for you, Kanzen. (I’ve got plenty to spare.) 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 05, 2015 @ 19:39:50

      Excellent ideas, one and all. How about butterflies or fireflies for summer? Thank you for the warmth and summery weather! It was a hard day today but doing better.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • Master of Something Yet
        Jan 05, 2015 @ 19:43:54

        Those are much better suggestions, although I would vote for butterflies. We don’t get a lot of fireflies here. Well, we don’t really get a lot of snow either I suppose… 😉

        Glad you’re doing better. Lots of sunshine to you. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jan 05, 2015 @ 19:49:32

          Fireflies are so magical. As a child, i’d get a qt. Size canning jar and a piece of foil with holes punched. Inside wojld be sprigs of leaves. I’d gently catch a bunch putting jnto the jar. I’d put on the bedside table and watch them blinking kn and off in the dark. Ay some point, my parents would come and let them back out int the yard. Running around jn the dark or sitting on the porch watching them was a wondrous thing to do.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

  6. macjam47
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 21:14:26

    Me too!

    Reply

  7. huntmode
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 22:56:48

    Kanzen ! It may be the day itself, but this is one of your best – calling to my heart –
    “….The limbo between brown lawns
    and blooming plum trees ….
    and even on my website
    the holiday snow has
    stopped blowing
    across the page –
    that bit of whimsy
    just….gone.”

    Reply

  8. Enchanted Seashells, Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 22:57:42

    ME TOO! Happy New Year, though! 🙂

    Reply

  9. bkpyett
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 04:11:06

    Kanzensakura, this is really poignant and lovely! Sorry you have lost your snow!

    Reply

  10. nikibayard
    Jan 06, 2015 @ 18:08:42

    😉 understood,
    i think it’s time to buy a bunch of daffodils 🙂
    xo

    Reply

  11. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 04:30:27

    Somehow the time till the daylight truly returns is a long one…

    Reply

  12. Pratibha
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 08:50:58

    Haha me too. But guess what the real one is here now. so ya.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

