Flu Sux but….

sick

Pneumonia is the pits. Truly. I am posting this from my bed. My MD wanted to put me in hospital and I said, no way. Not in that germy place with all those sick people.

I am doing so well at home, I am bored. But truly, I keep track of my blood pressure, temperature, take oxymeter readings several times a day. I am taking my meds, drinking plenty of fluids, getting rid of fluids, I use my home nebulizer for three daily breathing treatments….I don’t have a roommate with noisy relatives watching TV shows I don’t like, I don’t have people constantly going in and out of the room at all hours, people passing by in the hall at all hours, I have tasty, nourishing food, SamCat checks on me frequently, my husband leaves me alone and takes care of himself. I imagine folks in hospital would be envious. And I am saving a TON of money.

I email my MD vital readings daily. I take out my stethoscope and listen to my heart and lung sounds and report that. I imagine she will get tired of that soon. I don’t recommend this for everyone mind you. But as for me, this is working out just fine. I’ll get back to posting more regularly in a bit.

You all take care of yourselves, wash your hands, cover your mouths when you sneeze or cough, and be safe in bad weather.

55 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 19:01:22

    You are such a wonder, Kanzen. You’re right about the germy hospital and if you can email your readings and obviously know what you’re doing, more power to you. Bravo. Hope you’ll be up and around and back to feeling like yourself soon. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  2. SirenaTales
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 19:29:13

    Ugh, so sorry to read that you’ve been wrestling with pneumonia….but agree with the comment above. YOU ARE AMAZING! Sending you very positive vibes and can see you dancing and up to your usual hijinks in no time. xoxo

    Reply

  3. bmiller007 (@bmiller007)
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 19:37:20

    ugh, that stinks…i hope you feel better soon….yikes….
    you def dont want the flu on top of it, so i would stay right where you are
    and get some rest…

    Reply

  4. Trini Lind
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:41:22

    Oh, I am so sorry that you are sick! It sounds really awful! I hope you are keeping those happy healing thoughts coming and that you have someone to take care of you. ❤ We all need a little bit of care and comfort and extra Love when we are sick. I sending you all of those things through my laptop! 🙂 ❤ I wish you will heal beautifully and soon be up and about again ❤ Be kind and sweet and nurturing to yourself and think happy thoughts! 🙂 ❤ Lots and Lots of Love from me to you! 🙂 ❤

    Reply

  5. de Wets Wild
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 21:00:05

    Get well soon Kanzen!

    Reply

  6. macjam47
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 22:39:57

    HEAL! And quickly.

    Reply

  7. seeker
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 23:05:01

    So sorry. You seem to know what to do. Just keep your chest covered and warm. It took me a month to get rid of the flu I had the beginning of this year. Take Care.

    Reply

  8. Sue Vincent
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 02:46:39

    Oh dear! Yes, it sucks… had it two winters ago. Take very good care and rest up ( and I stayed home too!) xxx

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 06:10:57

    Yup, I’m with you on the staying home thing. I could never understand why they made pregnant women come to hospital for their check-ups and delivery. Everybody is so protective of expectant mothers and then they send them to a germy place like that. The world is crazy. Anyway, sorry to get off topic, I hope you make a speedy recovery. It sounds like you’re doing all the right things.:)

    Reply

  10. Beni
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 10:54:35

    Praying for you.

    Reply

  11. Bernice
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 12:43:58

    I hope you feel better soon! And I am with you – you might get sicker or a different disease by being in the hospital. I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers….

    Reply

  12. Enchanted Seashells, Confessions of a Tugboat Captain's Wife
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 14:22:46

    In the same boat, being sick! I hope you have a rapid recovery; I have a viral lung infection, but so far it’s not pneumonia. This is a very bad, virulent strain of whatever it is. I haven’t been to the gym in a week and that’ probably the most upsetting. Being here alone without hub was not the happiest, but I’m a good nurse and like you was taking my temp/BP, forcing fluids. Now he’s back but I’ve improved a bit. How are you?

    Reply

  13. Carol A. Hand
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 20:00:10

    Sending you healing thoughts!

    Reply

  14. joannesisco
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 21:25:44

    Pneumonia is serious stuff and I hope you are feeling better! The fact that you are starting to feel bored is actually a good sign 🙂 Get well.

    Reply

  15. sb2711
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 03:00:48

    Get well soonish Kanzen! Even I was under the weather recently…viral 😦 I know how it feels. Be up on your feet in no time 😀 Cheers!

    Reply

  16. sb2711
    Feb 23, 2015 @ 23:34:46

    How are you now?

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 24, 2015 @ 08:25:35

      This stuff is horrible. I feel much better, but still with the cough and head congestion. I’ve heard people say they’ve had this stuff and it takes them about six weeks. But I’m bored so that says a lot! I thank you very much for asking.

      Reply

      • sb2711
        Feb 24, 2015 @ 12:32:44

        We are made to drink a lot of home made concotions (read evil looking potions) for this. I am not sure whether I should suggest or not because I know the medications are already there and it will take time. Rest all that you can. If you have the sun there in full force….then bask in sunlight for sometime. It helps too. I wish you a speedy recovery 😊.

        Reply

  17. Mustang.Koji
    Mar 02, 2015 @ 00:48:58

    You bring up a good point about hospitals. These days, people expect doctors to cover every conceivable possibility when you become ill…and doctors are afraid of being sued, leading to meds and hospitalizations. I’d stay home if I wasn’t deadly ill…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 02, 2015 @ 11:22:29

      I was extremely ill but knew I was better off at home. I used to work managed care for the state and the things people would go to the emergency room for were outrageous – and some of these things cause the cost of health care to sky rocket, not to mention what you said about doctors being sued.

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

