Letter from 2030 dVerse Poetics Pub

The prompt for today from dVerse Poetics Pub is to imagine our future.  I didn’t go too far in the future in my vision.  Our inspiration for this is a poem:  http://ideas.ted.com/a-poem-from-the-future

Dear Self. I have come back to share this with you. Have hope. Love, me

Just when we thought the world
Was going to explode –
The plague happened –
Like a glowing poison green mist
It halted e.v.e.r.y.t.h.i.n.g.

Now I sit
In this cathedral of tall trees
And listen to the birds singing,
Smelling the green smell of growing things.
Time passed and
After all the burials and burnings,
Suddenly,
There was enough food for everyone.
The air was no longer poisoned
By gas emissions.
The earth began healing itself.
Money meant nothing
Because you could just walk in
And get what you wanted
When you wanted it.
Limited electricity
But candlelight
Is fine to write poems by,
To read and play the piano,
To fix a simple dinner and share with
The four other people
Left in town.
Communities have reformed
But there are still small places
Like here.
We grow most of our own
Food and trade for what little we may need.
Tomorrow is the day to make udon.
I love to make udon –
Simple stuff. Flour, salt, water…..
From a few things comes so much more.
I will put the dough in a big plastic
Bag and knead with my feet.
Pete will play his harmonica while I dance on the dough
And Bess will clap and laugh.
Fresh udon with parsley and green onion
From our garden,
For our dinner.
Food that is alive.
A life that is alive.
For this moment though,
I sit
In this cathedral of tall trees
And listen to the birds singing.

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bmiller007 (@bmiller007)
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:10:48

    the cathedral of trees….sounds like a cool place to be…and a neat turn of phrase too…
    kneading the dough with your feet as you dance..ha…some fun times there…
    pretty crazy that a plague caused the healing…neat story, for sure…smiles.

    Reply

  2. The Course of Our Seasons
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:22:38

    You have created a very real and idyllic world – nature heals very quickly when allowed and humans spirits do as well – loved dancing on the dough and the poems written by candlelight – really lovely – thanks for sharing this with us – K

    Reply

  3. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:33:08

    Wow, this is amazing and got me hungry as well… how cool the air was no longer poisoned
    by gas emissions; and I think limited electricity would be good for bringing us together.

    Reply

  4. Grace
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:35:18

    I love the idea of earth healing itself and the return to simpler life ~ I love udon & to share that is a feast indeed even if there’s only 4 left in town ~ And your ending is very tender – to sit on those trees & listen to the birds singing ~

    Reply

  5. Gabriella
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 20:40:39

    There are some very good aspects in your 2030 vision of life, but some that are also sad since many people seem to have died. I like the closer connection to nature and lige itself and the homemade food.

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 22:08:27

    ‘In this cathedral of tall trees’ grabbed me immediately, the imagery is perfect for this poem. I like the repeat of that statement. Sounds reverent as well as hopeful, back to things remembered but hesitant as to when.
    Life simplified, but again hopeful of the future. Healing takes time. These people appreciate it. This time. Hope they understand the future. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sherry Marr
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 22:15:26

    I absolutely LOVE! this response to the prompt. Because, under all my Positive Think, the sad reality is, I suspect humankind will not make the changes we need back to sustainable and whole living until we are forced to. This resonates deeply with me – a brand of hope, reality-based. Awesome write.

    Reply

  8. macjam47
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 22:58:32

    Amazing! I love it.

    Reply

  9. Bryan Ens
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 23:18:01

    you make plague sound so appealing…lol. I get what you’re saying though!

    Reply

  10. claudia
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 23:29:55

    this tree cathedral is a cool place and sounds like that future is not too bad…though just four people left – i def. mourn for all the rest and wonder as well when greed will start creeping up again as well…hah… the endless pessimist…smiles

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 04:28:51

      I often wonder too how easily folks would revert to bad habits. And only four people in our little settlement. Other folk around in spits and spurts and then the ones who always end up in cities being “important” and not learning a danged thing.

      Reply

  11. el34ax7
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 23:54:25

    “Cathedral of tress” reminds me so much of Dickinson’s treatment of nature and the outdoors as her church. I love this line and the sentiment overall. Please, let me bring my guitar to your future.

    Reply

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 00:03:53

    The cathedral of trees for this surviving.. a gentle response, yet scary in how it could really mean. Making udon and music.. Actually for the few remaining not a bad future..

    Reply

  13. Prajakta
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 00:14:22

    Whew! Beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. This is a future that we need, but I am not sure if we deserve. A quaint poem 🙂

    Reply

  14. MarinaSofia
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 02:01:28

    Hopeful, small-scale sustainability in that cathedral of trees. Not an unattractive future, as long as we can still write poems and make music. And I love udon noodles…

    Reply

  15. Sumana Roy
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 04:30:32

    I love cathedral of tall trees and the birds singing; reading and playing piano by candle light, dancing on the dough…sketch of an amazingly simple life every one would love to embrace…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 04:43:52

      I think the only way we would embrace such a future is if we were forced to it. I am very hopeful about our future though. I hope we can change for the better.

      Reply

  16. dragonscaleclippings
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 06:11:11

    love the positivity in this poem – tho initially I thought the green poison was the same as my chemo – that how it makes me feel in my body and blood… beautiful and uplifting – thank you!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 18, 2015 @ 11:38:00

      I’m so sorry but glad this was uplifting. It is hard going, I know. There are people, including me sending positive thoughts your way and wishes for better days.

      Reply

  17. wolfsrosebud
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 08:12:32

    writing poems by candle light could be inspiring… so glad there is a bit of green

    Reply

  18. Mary
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 10:43:02

    I really like the positive slant you took on this prompt. There may have been devastation, but out of the devastation came a time when people seemed to get back to a way of life which was more healthy & self sustaining for all! And, seemingly, HAPPY.

    Reply

  19. katiemiafrederick
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 13:59:55

    Yes.. just when human begin to think they are larger than the rest of Nature.. Nature often has an answer for that.. not always calm and soothing.. but results that GET THE JOB of balance done.. without the consent and written approval of humans that are not nearly as SMART AS THINKING CAN MAKE THEM THINK they are…

    The meek shall inherit the earth.. and no doubt viruses will number that.. with or without human hosts to serve their life….

    Reply

  20. nikibayard
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 07:15:45

    we dream the dream 🙂

    Reply

  21. mishunderstood
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 15:08:46

    I dread what society and this earth would have to go through first, but the idea of ending up back to the basics of life, where it all began is very appealing. I really enjoyed this.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

