dVerse Poetics #2 oulipo

At dVerse Poetics Pub today, I found the prompts so intriguing, I decided to try one more. I am attempting oulipo lipogram. I have fashioned a haiku in which there are no words with the vowel “e”.

free public domain image

free public domain image

icy scabbards hang
from my forsythia bush –
wintry arctic blooms.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 19:23:10

    A work of art – both poetry and photo!

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 20:25:28

    Wow. Kanzen. You outdo yourself. This is amazing. I can’t imagine writing while avoiding ‘e’ words. That must be the most common vowel in the English language. Every word I can think of has an ‘e’ in it..okay, one or two didn’t. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  3. katiemiafrederick
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 20:37:30

    Ah.. the blooms of cold flowers freezing.. icicles of petals like diamond sharp hard liquid.. in fire of Winter ARTs that can and do burn hands so raw and red in flowered thaws..:)

    Reply

  4. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 20:45:47

    beautiful write… makes me a tad less annoyed with the ice outside… smiles

    Reply

  5. Grace
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 21:17:48

    I can them outside my window ~ Love the winter inspired haiku ~

    Reply

  6. Anna
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 22:35:53

    You demonstrate that constraints are a vital part of the art of poetry. Fantastic!

    Reply

  7. billgncs
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 23:01:10

    nice – pure without the malevolent “e”, I liked that you wrote with meaning within the limits

    Reply

  8. Kathy Reed
    Mar 05, 2015 @ 23:11:58

    Pretty tricky not using ‘e’s…here, I have to say they are blooming brightly in the sun..so sad for that forsythia..great haiku!

    Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 00:05:40

    The image of icy scabbards is really good, and it also means moving away from the first words you would come upon, the obvious choice of daggers..

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 06, 2015 @ 09:41:53

      I actually thought of tanto first but went with scabbard. I felt it was a friendlier word although I may go back and change it to tanto since it is a haiku. This was just so much of a good brain stretching exercise. Most enjoyable.

      Reply

  10. el34ax7
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 02:02:46

    Scabbards! Now there’s a word that doesn’t get enough use. I really liked that opening and excellent pairing with that picture.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 06, 2015 @ 09:34:43

      Just like argle bargle. Besides you, the only folk I know who know and use that are myself, my husband, and one other person.

      Reply

      • el34ax7
        Mar 06, 2015 @ 16:50:38

        Well I’ll bring the sakura mochi to our first meeting of the great minds meeting! 😉

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Mar 06, 2015 @ 17:26:35

          OOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!! Sakura mochi….. I was planning to bring karaage chicken wings to the next meeting but can most def do some tofu for the veggie crowd, which to be honest, I love the deep fried tofu with that sauce. Go check out their website and read about dTeam, dRules, and their prompt schedules. Make a comment. Introduce yourself. go on blenza and read the offerings for this Thursdays prompt. Quite a wonderful assortment of amazing writers. Being part of this is like working for my graduate degree in poetry. and nice people to boot. I made umeboshi this year from my plums…soooo good.

          Reply

  11. SirenaTales
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 08:32:54

    Brava! So vivid. Extra points for using the rare, evocative and beautiful word “scabbard.” :). xoxo

    Reply

  12. nikibayard
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 19:42:48

    🙂 that’s great 🙂

    Reply

  13. David Emeron
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 00:44:16

    A very nice result. See there? More pressure; more diamonds.
    Also, on a completely unrelated note Mrs Emeron says:

    “I thought of KanzenSakera when I saw this but was too tired to go to her site. Would you plz pass it along, dear? I remember she wears just such trainer shoes. http://www.instructables.com/id/Painted-Converse-shoe-makeover/

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 07, 2015 @ 09:49:37

      Your precious wife….Yes, I am still prancing about in my shoes with the geisha on one side and the koi on the other with an under pattern of faint turquoise and white checks. I’ve seen those painted shoes and am amazed. The only artistic talent I have is making flowers garnishes from fruits and vegetables, although I may be able to do a stylized Fuji and cherry blossoms. I was so surprised to see this comment from you today and it just made me smile, my friend. Please give dear Melanie a hug and kiss on her sweet cheek for me and then have her do the same to you, from me. Blessings dear ones.

      Reply

  14. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 07:07:39

    Lovely!

    Reply

  15. hypercryptical
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 04:09:31

    So well done, quite brilliant.
    Anna :o]

    Reply

  16. mishunderstood
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 23:16:17

    A beautiful haiku….omitting the “e”s would surely be a challenge.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

