Almost…

Japanese plum blossom (c) Kanzensakura

Japanese plum blossom (c) Kanzensakura

Open Link Night at dVerse Poets Pub! We do not follow a prompt but link to a poem, haibun, play – of our choice.

Last week,
Bitter, bleak,
Snow melted from fluff
To thick rime of ice.
My cat and I
Stood at the window and sighed.

Last night,
Sweet and almost warm
The thousand voiced choir
Of frogs and peepers sang.
My cat and I
Went outside and danced under the stars.

Almost spring, sweet breath
Of plum blossoms in the night –
Almost like a dream.

72 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dkirkstokes
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 15:57:22

    Ah, the sweet scent of plum blossoms. My wild plum will be blooming in the orchard in a few weeks, putting the peaches, apples, and pears to shame. Anticipation…

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:11:59

    Oh Plum blossoms .. the perfect late winter kigo.. Love how you moved this outside the traditional sense and dance with your cat… and yes the song of the frogs can be wonderful at this time of the year.

    Reply

  3. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:13:53

    We had a mild winter here in western WA state, but my rambunctious tulip tree bloomed too soon, & the frosty nights blighted the blossoms, so it stands there looking sad & silly; too impatient not to have waited a week or so; yes, we are in the time of transition, & good on you & your cat for fully enjoying the threshold of Spring.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:24:59

      I am so sorry to hear about the too eager tulip tree! Ours blooms end of April, first of May. I can hardly wait. My cat is a patient lad and has learned his biped is not always sane.

      Reply

  4. Hannah Gosselin
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:38:04

    This makes me hungry for the song of spring!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:38:49

      Wish I could send some to you! it’s been a long time coming, or it seems to be long.

      Reply

      • Hannah Gosselin
        Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:53:17

        Well-deserved! My appetite was whetted yesterday with a quick-brief 53 degree day…back to burr today though! 😉 Soon and thank you for the thought of sending me some…you already did virtually with your beautiful words! 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Mar 12, 2015 @ 17:19:35

          We had several days in the 60’s….I guess all the frogs and peepers came to life at once! Mrach is always so iffy around here, if it snows next week, I’ll not be surprised. Several years ago, after a warm winter, on the first day of Spring it snowed 12 inches and plummeted to freezing temps until first week of april…brrrrr indeed!

          Reply

  5. enthusiasticallydawn
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 16:39:36

    I love the playfulness of this poem. And the cat. Of course.

    Reply

  6. billgncs
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 17:41:33

    I don’t know why, but this poem makes me think of tap-dancing 🙂

    I just got my road bicycle out yesterday, and it was glorious to be almost flying.

    Reply

  7. Bryan Ens
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 17:49:50

    this does have a dreamy quality to it…and what a change a week can make! I’m glad, along with you and your cat, that spring is almost here!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 12, 2015 @ 17:52:10

      It truly is amazing. I’m seeing green bits on trees, daffodils sneaking out….next night like this, grab your kids, dance, and howl…arrrrrooooooo!!!!!

      Reply

  8. Grace
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 18:02:35

    I would have love to listen to that choir, smiles ~

    No blooming here yet but above 0 C calls for a celebration in my part of the world ~ Looking forward to the almost spring like season ~ Happy OLN ~

    Reply

  9. charliezero1.wordpress.com
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 18:27:02

    Such a beautiful and well written poem.

    I truly enjoy reading this piece and I love it a lot. 🙂

    Reply

  10. mishunderstood
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 18:30:31

    Oh I love how the cat is part of the celebration of Spring.
    This is lovely! 🙂

    Reply

  11. kelly
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 19:30:02

    Oh, I can so relate! We are just thawing out a bit here, can’t wait for signs of Spring!

    Reply

  12. wolfsrosebud
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 20:17:43

    i like the fact that you and your cat can sign together

    Reply

  13. katiemiafrederick
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 20:21:59

    Ah.. yes.. my cat and i sing of the first scents of spring too..
    and we even sneeze together.. as the pollen comes to..
    And the Dogwood blooms are a sign to me..
    that Oh my goodness creativity for me does spring forth
    in springtime dreams as well.. come true..:)

    i think that’s a Limerick but i’m not much on form..;)

    Reply

  14. Madeleine Begun Kane
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 20:25:26

    I don’t know where you live, but this sure sounds like our NYC weather. 🙂 Nicely done!

    Reply

  15. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 21:06:42

    A-wishing and a-waiting… Dreaming and contemplating… Spring IS in the air. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  16. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 21:07:48

    You’ve done it again, Kansen. ❤
    My fingers were too excited and got ahead of me. 😀

    Reply

  17. 5h2o
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 22:00:03

    Love the texture and play. Nice job!

    Reply

  18. C.C.
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 23:33:54

    In this case, ‘almost’ may be even sweeter than that which you are waiting for 🙂 Your description of it is certainly beautiful.

    Reply

  19. vbholmes
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 09:01:03

    Wonderful celebration of the early signs of spring which for us coincided with daylight saving time–life is “almost…” back to normal.

    Reply

  20. The Course of Our Seasons
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 12:02:21

    I heard our first peepers this week! Ah spring! Beautiful poem filled with the dance of the season

    Reply

  21. Linda Kruschke
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 14:59:53

    I like the hope of spring coming in this poem. But my cat is jealous of yours because mine doesn’t get to go outside. Peace, Linda

    Reply

  22. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 20:40:02

    gotta keep the cats away from me (allergic) but that won’t stop me from celebrating spring! well, unless it’s a hairless cat.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 13, 2015 @ 21:04:26

      SamCat says if you want to dance in the pale moon light, he’s happy to sit in the window and watch. He enjoys watching almost as much as he likes dancing.

      Reply

  23. Prajakta
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 01:21:50

    The plum blossoms look gorgeous! You paint a lovely picture with the cat welcoming the spring 🙂

    Reply

  24. dani
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 18:13:41

    this is lovely! your cat sounds like a wonderful companion!

    Reply

  25. Irene
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 20:02:53

    Love the view thru eyes of two: ‘cat and I’ ~ We got our spring fast and exactly in almost 6 weeks as was told by groundhog 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 21:11:11

      Good ol’ Phil. Did you see him bite the mayor? The video is on YouTube. I don’t blame Phil. If someone hauled me out of my warm bed at dawn with a bunch of screaming people around and wearing a hat that looked like a dead relative, I’d have bitten him too.

      Reply

  26. Abhra
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 18:32:53

    Advent of the beautiful season – is always lovely and so is your cat, adorable.

    Reply

  27. 365dniwobiektywielg
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 10:36:48

    This flower fits this text

    Reply

  28. Sean Michael
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 13:37:40

    Interesting and beautiful. I like it.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

