Friday Fun – Bad Luck…gettin’ down at the disco…

 

Here we are, another Friday the 13th! Listen to this oldie but goodie and dance away your bad luck.  Back in the day, Saturday’s were devoted to watching Soul Train, eyeing the fashions, trying out new moves, listening to extended play version of hot songs….the EP of Bad Luck I had at home was 12 minutes 33 seconds – the same version burning the floor at the disco. This version is quite a bit shorter and is a video of Harold Melvin and The Bluenotes getting it on with the Soul Train gang.  I had fun reliving the moves for my husband.  He joined in on the second play.  “No wonder you lived at the disco.  This is fun!”  Well, of course it was.

I hope this takes the “bad luck” out of your Friday 13 and gets your feet to moving and your butt to shaking, working down those shoulders and doing a little peel down. A friend had Harold Melville down pat and he would lip sync with several of us behind him being the background group. Such fun and folks loved it. The DJ would even announce it so we could get lined up. You will see the back singers in the group doing a peel down…

Put on your boogie shoes and dance!!!  Crank it up!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Blackledge
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 02:43:34

    Oh my, it has been a dog’s age since I have even thought about ‘Soul Train’ let alone watched it. Thanks for the stroll down memory lane!

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 07:01:12

    Soul Train! Oh my. I made sure I had the TV on every Saturday. The song’s playing in my head now… o_O

    Reply

  3. lightwalker1
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 00:54:58

    That’s how I learned to dance! As I read your words the voice in my head sounded like a D announcer. What fun we had. MTV or MUCH have nothing on American Bandstand or Soul Train. In love and light Cheryle

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 14, 2015 @ 11:59:50

      I know. American Bandstand was just too homogenized but Soul Train was THE show to watch to learn how to dance. I miss those carefree days but am glad folks like you and I had them! Blessings

      Reply

  4. dani
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 18:11:47

    oh, the disco days! loved the video! thanks for the fun post.

    Reply

  5. seeker
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 01:10:38

    Friday the 13th followed me and I just found out from the Stat page that I am not following you. Bizarre. And the video is not working in Canada.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 15, 2015 @ 12:20:20

      How odd. I have found several times that people I follow, suddenly, I am not following them. It always happens right before WP makes some kind of weird, little unneeded change. A friend of mine in Toronto was able to see the vid. wonder what that is about?

      Reply

      • seeker
        Mar 15, 2015 @ 13:22:04

        I can’t keep up with many changes in the net. I find this out as I go along when I am playing around behind the scene and when I go to your site, for example. I can’t see the vid maybe because of my internet provider. Who knows?

        Reply

  6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 04:32:15

    Ha.. what fun it was… I was slightly too young for the disco peak, but I for sure remember those days..

    Reply

  7. 365dniwobiektywielg
    Mar 16, 2015 @ 10:54:39

    Tra.. Laa… Tuu… Tii… Laa.. Laa.. 😛

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

