Shining Wind

 

I began working on this poem last spring but had it in a “work on this later” file. Kathleen, our guest at dVerse Poets Pub came up with the wonderful prompt of March Winds. I had submitted early but my mind kept coming back to this and so, I pulled out a brush and soap and scrubbed it up some. Thank you Kathleen for this beautiful prompt and getting me going on this poem!  I love the Japanese words for Spring Wind (there are several) but to me this speaks so much of birth, renewal, joy…Kaze hikaru – shining wind. It is almost a holy breath in the way it is said and the naming of such a wind.

Flowering Cherry and Maples with Poem Slips, By Tosa Mitsuoki (approx. 1617-1691)

Flowering Cherry and Maples with Poem Slips, By Tosa Mitsuoki (approx. 1617-1691)

Shining Wind/Kaze Hikaru
Gone the bitter winter winds,
Gone the birds huddled in my flowering quince
Seeking shelter from cruel winter wind.
They have taken wing to the skies
In the shining winds of spring:
Kaze hikaru.

Gone the thieving winds,
Gone the hostile winds
Replaced by friendly winds
That beckon us to run and chase robins
These shining winds of spring:
Kaze hikaru.

Gone the punishing winds
Gone the freezing winds
Shivering bare branches
Now blooming with blossoms fetched
By the shining winds of spring:
Kaze hikaru.

Gone the forbidding winds
Gone the silencing winds
That take the words from our mouths
We speak and sing and whistle
In tune with the shining winds of spring:
Kaze hikaru

 

46 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Course of Our Seasons
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 22:13:16

    How lovely is this! Such a wonderful expression – the shining winds of spring. So happy you chose to scrub it up and share this breath of spring with us – K

    Reply

  2. seeker
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 23:11:08

    An active poem. I could literally feel that wind in my mind. Awesome!

    Reply

  3. Lerene Forte
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 01:04:39

    This is phenomenally good–makes me a smidge envious!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 01:10:22

      It shouldn’t. We all have our voices and how we share them. Sometimes we write things that are amazing, other times, things that just plain bite. Which is why I had put this one away for more work….it was a.w.f.u.l. But I was ready for it this time. Never ever compare your work to that of anyone else. That is what makes those of us who write – unique. We all have our voice and it comes out of us in different ways.

      Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 01:47:32

    I love the term the shining wind – the repetition of the different aspects in the winter wind is especially effective.. So much hope in that wind.

    Reply

  5. taehreh
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 01:51:17

    Oh my gosh I loovvve this! Beautifully written 💐

    Reply

  6. Bastet
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 02:01:42

    Excellent … very very beautiful and effective with the repetition technique… and what imagery!

    Reply

  7. dani
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 02:51:53

    i love this!!! so many wonderful ways to describe the winds of winter! and “shining wind” is such a beautiful phrase. i must echo Bastet’s comment as well ~ love the repetition and stunning imagery!

    Reply

  8. Bryan Ens
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 05:05:33

    Beatiful!! I love the back and forth of this poem between the “good riddance to winter winds” and “welcome to the shining winds of spring.” “Kaze Hikaru”…it indeed does have a holy/hopeful feel to it…

    Reply

    • Bryan Ens
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 05:10:42

      just shared the link to this with my sister who spent 3 years teaching English in Japan…and 3 years learning to speak Japanese too 🙂 I suspect that this is something that she will enjoy.

      Reply

      • kanzensakura
        Mar 19, 2015 @ 10:34:50

        I’m glad you did. Re: your beautiful haiku. I had a hard time with it and it didn’t have the same lovely voice as the English. See if you can get your sister to translate it fo you. I suspect she would do a much better job. but personally, I think it is lovely just as it is.

        Reply

        • Bryan Ens
          Mar 19, 2015 @ 11:45:08

          thank you. She doesn’t know the full Kanji script, but she could probably see about having some of her friends in Japan do it. Thanks again!

          Reply

          • kanzensakura
            Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:21:39

            They would do a better job I know. This deserves the best it can get! My Japanese is terrible. Just as I was learning it fit enough to be spoken, my lover left and returned to Japan. I was left on my own studies and it is okay but….such a complex language!

            Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 19, 2015 @ 10:35:31

      Thank you! Spring seems to be a holy season to me.

      Reply

  9. L Weaves Words
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 05:17:01

    This is a brand new idea to me, that the wind can shine…
    Loved it, thank you 🙂

    Reply

  10. M-R
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 05:46:57

    Delightful, Kanzen ! – I like this poetry far more than haikus. But that’s just me.

    Reply

  11. dragonscaleclippings
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 06:30:27

    truly beautiful – such positivity (much needed by myself) in this poem. and I also enjoyed the rhythm of the words…

    Reply

  12. Grace
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 08:29:53

    I love the contrasting verses, one telling the winter winds to go, the other beckoning us to chase robins and play with the spring wind ~ Happy to read that the prompt inspired your muse to share the lovely verses ~ Thanks for the poetic gem ~

    Reply

  13. annell4
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 08:58:21

    Say goodbye to the harsh winds of winter and hello to kaze hikaru. Lovely poem.

    Reply

  14. zongrik
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:26:21

    i like thieving wind. that wind keeps taking everything away.

    Reply

  15. Lisa Fazillah (@oceangirl415)
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 16:17:10

    many types of wind so true!

    this is Lisa a thttp://livehigh2.blogspot.com

    Reply

  16. Hannah Gosselin
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 20:24:56

    The repetition brings a mantra feeling…I really love the way each portion contains two parts that have such a different feel to them…lots of great sound play as well. Excellent writing…I enjoyed this!

    Reply

  17. lorriebowden
    Mar 23, 2015 @ 15:08:34

    Beautiful, Kanzen! I am so happy I did not miss this. 🙂 Hope everything is super in your world!! ❤

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

