Sumire – 澄玲 Voice of Jewels – tanka

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today, Mary gives us the prompt of real beauty, savor it and share it. Click the link to learn more, and enjoy: http://dversepoets.com/2015/03/24/poetics-savor-the-beauty-and-share-it   Many times, we tend to look at the large picture of beauty: sunrise, sunset, the ocean, a forest, Mt. Fuji. As I am only 4’10” and close to the ground I have a different perspective. These small flowers speak to me in sumire 澄玲 – sound of jewels.

澄玲 =Sound of Jewels
The small shining things
of spring sing with the voices
of jewels hidden
in the jewel box of new
grass and faded autumn leaves

Gallery

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trini Lind
    Mar 24, 2015 @ 23:45:45

    So beautiful! ❤ And I love the flowers too! 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 24, 2015 @ 23:52:00

      Thank you! I love the small little flowers that seem to be overlooked at times.

      Reply

      • Trini Lind
        Mar 24, 2015 @ 23:55:54

        Yes! I so agree, they are my favorites too! Like snowdrops 🙂 I love roses too, but I feel that they are already so loved they don’t need my Love too, but the little wayside flowers do, so I love them with all my heart ❤

        Reply

  2. claudia
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 00:38:47

    oh yes… jewels indeed…sometimes the biggest magic is to see new life and decay side by side…

    Reply

  3. smilecalm
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 02:15:16

    hooray for
    beautiful
    small flowers 🙂

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 04:46:24

    Oh love the small details… My favorite flower is the forget-mo-nots.. (BTW I corrected the link… somehow there was a mistake when you linked up).

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 09:05:11

      Thank you Bjorn. I am link challenged. I love the tiny forget-me-nots as well and finally have them established in my yard. A similar flower and smaller is a wild herb, speedwell. Alas, it does not seem to want to transplant into my yard. But I shall continue to try.

      Reply

  5. Mary
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 06:49:12

    Ah, flowers really are like little jewels, aren’t they? Especially when they first pop out in spring! I love it when the arise from the ‘ruins’ of those decaying autumn leaves. I do think we notice them moreso early in the season. After a while, sigh, we tend to take them more for granted.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 09:03:18

      A couple of years ago, it hit me I was taking these tiny jewels for granted. I began working on this tanka and while I probably will continue to do so, I am content with this version now. I have also discovered the eensy weensy blooms of the chickweed. But they do not bloom until later in summer.

      Reply

  6. macjam47
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 07:43:09

    That is so beautiful. I can’t say I have a beautiful flower, I love them all!

    Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 07:56:39

    These take my breath away. Mother Natures tantalizing delights. Thanks for the slideshow and for your wonderful poem. ❤ ❤ ❤ Fresh. Simple. Shining.

    Reply

  8. Grace
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 08:06:11

    Voices of the jewels in the box ~ Love the spring tanka, smiles ~

    Reply

  9. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 09:15:01

    Lovely! ❤

    Reply

  10. billgncs
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 09:26:14

    faded autumn leaves a jewel box – I very much like that image.

    Reply

  11. vbholmes
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 09:53:45

    What lovely imagery–early Spring flowers are, indeed, like jewels brought forth to re-energize us after the bleak last days of winter.

    Reply

  12. Sherry Marr
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 11:04:21

    This is so beautiful….I can see the little pansies like jewels in the grass! Just loved this.

    Reply

  13. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 12:16:00

    We get colorful pansies here as well, & lots of other flowers I do not know, but love to greet; nice sweet tanka celebratory poetic. Spring smiles, as do we.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 20:33:37

      And to think, three hours south of here, spring is grinning. I had to go to a funeral and so many trees were in bloom, the camellia bushes full of blooms, all kinds of varieties of daffodils…oh my goodness. And one yard was like the grass was truly blue from the solid heavy blooming of tiny speedwells….truly, you would have smiled hugely.

      Reply

  14. MarinaSofia
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 12:51:57

    Ah, the beauty of the small detail and the overlooked flowers – we are full of primroses and crocuses now, peeking shyly beneath the dried leaves, and people overlook them for their more showy relatives, the daffodils.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 20:31:26

      I love daffodils but….I love these tiny surprises that exist in their own world under those leaves. Aren’t they amazing? Have you ever laid on your stomach and looked them in the eye? They smile back at you, you know.

      Reply

  15. Victoria C. Slotto
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 14:02:36

    For me, one of the thrills of my walks with the dogs is to discover these hidden jewels that nature has to offer and that poets have the eye to see..

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 25, 2015 @ 20:29:57

      I know. These tiny bits of little things. I actually plucked one of the speedwell blooms (smaller than forget-me-nots) and wound around my wedding band. A lady at the market commented on what a lovely bitty enamel flower that decorated my band. I told her it was real and she gaped. I said, look down sometime and find tiny speedwell, bluets, johnny-jump-ups – like bitty yellowish white butterflies hovering over the grass. She said, I will. And I am glad.

      Reply

  16. Bryan Ens
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 15:51:06

    love the lilting rhythm of “shining things of spring sing”. Another lovely piece!

    Reply

  17. Gabriella
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 21:05:40

    My favorite kind of flowers are the little Alpine ones I have come across when hiking in the Swiss Alps. There was something uniquely beautiful about their being seen by just the few people that venture so high.

    Reply

  18. kanzensakura
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 21:06:23

    Reblogged this on kanzen sakura and commented:

    This is perfect for spring and hot summer. It is not vegan but it is vegetarian. Beautiful green and full of flavor and veggies…You will keep this as part of your regular refrigerated go-to.

    Reply

  19. dani
    Mar 25, 2015 @ 23:34:04

    so full of the spirit of spring! and i love the detail of the “faded autumn leaves” ~ rarely mentioned when describing spring, but there none-the-less. beautiful!

    Reply

  20. Sabio Lantz
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 05:02:39

    gorgeous, well done

    Reply

  21. katiemiafrederick
    Mar 26, 2015 @ 13:42:13

    OH!.. so true! tHere is no gem or jewel greater than Pandora’s BOX of Mother Nature TRUTH AND LiGHT IN Beauty Open.. never closing! for all to share.. and enjoy..FREE as Nature CAN bE!..:)

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

