NaPoWriMo 6 – Aubade

Prompt today for NaPoWriMo is to write an “aubade”. There are several definitions including morning love song, lovers parting at dawn (as opposed to serenade when lovers part in the evening). This is my take on the aubade for I am writing about my true love. I hope the video of my Japanese Plum in bloom will play for you all. it is a lovely thing and the scent of the blooms in the early morning intoxicates even the irreverent bees.

Early morning in spring!
My young sweet love –
Many lovers I have had
But few I so eagerly greet and long for.

Warm summer mornings
With smells of dew
And that special smell
Of newly turned earth in my garden.
A strong and vigorous lover indeed.

And autumn – crisp
And smelling of frost and apples.
Knowing all will soon be gone
Into winter and takes its time
Drawing out each poignant embrace.

Snowy mornings in winter
That bids one to go slowly
And employs snowflakes’ delicate touches
To kindle surprising fire
Deep within the soul.

But spring! My young sweet love
And all is new.
Sounds of love comes from your
Throat and your beauty astonishes.
The scents of new love –
Sweet wine of plum blossoms,
Sunny unbridled joy of blooming daffodils,
Innocent warmth of early sun
That grows warmer
As confidence takes hold.
Of all my lovers,
When you return,
I run to greet you and embrace you.
Arms wide as I try to inhale
All of you, as much as I can stand.
Early spring morning!
My young sweet love.

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. billgncs
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 11:53:57

    this made me think that deep love always seems fresh and surprising

    Reply

  2. Hannah Gosselin
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 12:04:39

    Spellbinding! Love it!

    Reply

  3. Bryan Ens
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 12:46:21

    Lovely piece! A beautiful thing to have a love that is always so fresh and wonderful

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 15:24:09

    Entrancing as is the dawning of spring. Oh to be young again, and in love during spring. This is mesmerizing, Kanzen. Haunting. ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 06, 2015 @ 15:51:22

      Although, it truly is about spring mornings!

      Reply

      • Let's CUT the Crap!
        Apr 06, 2015 @ 15:59:29

        Sigh. Yes, spring mornings and the glow of young love on those same mornings. Sheesh, where did this come from, but that’s what I’ve been thinking. ^^’

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 06, 2015 @ 16:07:07

          In the spring, a young heart’s fancy turns to love…I walked out this morning, inhaled, spread my arms wide and felt I could fly – I’m in love – I said to myself and SamCat who was out checking out the birds. Spring can do that to you.

          Reply

          • Let's CUT the Crap!
            Apr 07, 2015 @ 20:21:38

            I have been single a long time, but when spring arrives ( I’m not torn but it happens), the old knowledge of love sparks and is always entangled with spring: the scent of new growth, the freshness of spring air, the earth warming. All heady stuff. They culminate into one. Memories of love.
            I did not have a springtime love and have no idea why every spring the replay is similar. 🙂

            Reply

  5. Dusty Writes
    Apr 06, 2015 @ 21:33:29

    Quite lovely, as always.

    Reply

  6. wholeproduction
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 02:39:36

    I enjoy you little clip 🙂

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

