NaPoWriMo 7 and dVerse Poets Pub

Today at dVerse Poetics Pub, we have been prompted to write a letter. At NaPoWriMo 7, we are prompted to write about money. I am combining the prompts.  Please note:  No real piggy banks were harmed in the creation of this poem!  🙂

My Poor Dear Broken Piggy Bank,
I know my action was cruel
And so I will be frank.
The truth be ugly and stark
Unpleasant and harsh
But I didn’t want to sit in the dark.
I counted the coins – twice
And divided them into dollars
And had enough – nice!
So please don’t take this as a slight
I had to break you
To ease my plight.
The electric bill has been paid –
The stove works and the tv plays
Watchathon continues – my day’s been made.
And though I broke you into pieces
Still you smile and give good cheer
And though broken my happiness increases.
I’ll repair you, yes indeed
and hope there will never be another need.
Much love from,
Kanzen.

public domain image

public domain image

41 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abhra
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:27:55

    AH very refreshing and interesting note you have in here – must say it was a fun read. smiles.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:30:47

    I like this clever letter, but do find myself feeling sad about the piggy bank. I have a couple of piggy banks that I just will not break. Smiles. I would rather shake the coins out one by one than ‘kill’ the pig.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:34:53

      Usually I use a long letter opener or knife to put into the slot when I turn it upside down and get the money out. My piggy bank was given to my by my Grandfather the last year he was alive. I can tell you truthfully, he has never ever been broken, shaken harshly, or tossed or abused in any fashion. he’s a good lad though the way he allows money to be taken from the slot. I should have added: No real piggy banks were harmed during the creation of this poem.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:40:12

      And my smiley face at the end of the comment didn’t come through! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Bryan Ens
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:39:06

    a lovely touch of dark humour to this…I combined the prompts too!

    Reply

  4. Gabriella
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:39:12

    I had a friend who periodically would give her son piggy banks. I am not sure why. Maybe she wanted him to save money but also to feel he could break the bank and spend.

    Reply

  5. wolfsrosebud
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 17:50:18

    this made me smile

    Reply

  6. The Course of Our Seasons
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 18:20:29

    The photo is as funny as your wonderful letter! Poor old piggy but the bills have got to be paid- wonderful

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 07, 2015 @ 18:21:50

      Poor old piggy apparently was used to it! My real piggy has never been broken although the money slot has been violated with a letter opener assisting the money out!

      Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 18:47:01

    Abuse. Piggy bank abuse at its best! The reasons were good and the strike necessary. Delightful letter, yet sad because the the piggy is the last resort. The apology was sweet. I’m sure Piggy understood. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  8. Victoria C. Slotto
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 21:03:43

    Now glue her back together and start feeding her again, poor little thing. You might need her in the future!

    Reply

  9. Dusty Writes
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 21:32:07

    Cliche term though mine may be, this is so Sweet!

    Reply

  10. mishunderstood
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 00:44:01

    I like how you try to reason and reconcile with this little piggy bank. I’m sure you are forgiven. 🙂

    Reply

  11. billgncs
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 01:17:37

    reminds me of one of my favorite sayings… I ain’t broke, but I’m badly bent 🙂

    Reply

  12. Prajakta
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 06:11:00

    Fun fun! I STILL haven’t broken my piggy bank yet. About two decades worth.

    Reply

  13. C.C.
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 10:34:40

    Very cute….and a necessary thing to do from time to time. Great photo you found to go along with it!

    Reply

  14. MarinaSofia
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 11:02:49

    Awww, poor piggy – but a necessary sacrifice, it’s true. Hope you can fill up a new piggy bank soon!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 08, 2015 @ 12:56:04

      No real piggy banks were harmed in the creation of this poem. 😊 I hve a piggy bank given to me by my grandfather years and years ago. If I need money, I turn it upside, insert a letter opener into the slot and jiggle it around. it works a treat and piggy stays safe.

      Reply

  15. Glenn Buttkus
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 12:09:49

    Clever duplicity here; a fun read indeed. Somehow in life, I never had a piggy bank, even as a kid; seems like I missed out.

    Reply

  16. Linda Kruschke
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 15:26:36

    This is so cute. And I love your disclaimer at the beginning that no actual piggy banks were harmed in the writing of this poem / letter. Peace, Linda

    Reply

  17. katiemiafrederick
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 17:08:20

    Ah.. the broken dreams of desires of piggy banks.. do come in waves of
    satisfaction.. where piggy can’t mind with no mind at all..

    Perhaps.. Piggy has the truth.. and I will listen close..
    broke or not..
    as Piggy’s
    friend..:)

    Reply

  18. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 18:48:53

    I’ve never had a piggy bank. My bank was shaped like a football and at a time when I was really desperate for pokemon cards, I used a lighter to melt it so I could get the money out faster… so which is worse: the piggy getting nailed with a hammer or the one that got fired? hahah…. very nice write.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 08, 2015 @ 23:49:43

      Oh that is great. A football bank. My husband had one and still does. There are a lot of marks around the misshapen slot. He used a screwdriver to get the money out.

      Reply

  19. othermary
    Apr 08, 2015 @ 21:30:56

    Hahaha – very funny. Right from the disclaimer that no piggy banks were harmed in the writing of this poem to the end it’s a real hoot!

    Reply

  20. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 10:08:46

    Great! (I must get me a piggy bank.)

    Reply

  21. zongrik
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 12:15:04

    bitingly clever

    Reply

  22. Sarah
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 14:19:17

    😀

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

