NaPoWriMo 9 – Kokuryū – Black Dragon

Today for NaPoWriMo9, I am following an optional prompt of my choice.

1897 ukiyo-e print from Ogata Gekkō's Views of Mount  fuji

1897 ukiyo-e print from Ogata Gekkō’s Views of Mount
fuji

I gasped the first time I saw him.
To my friend I said,
He is the most beautiful man
I have ever seen.
She laughed at me.
He is oddly handsome but…
Standing still in the midst
of beehive activity.
It all moved like a blur around him
and he was the only bit of focus –
sharp and clear.
He looked like he had stepped
out of a time machine –
black silk hakama, hair in a warrior’s knot –
in his obi the two swords – daisho.
His eyes lifted and trapped mine.
A gentle smile and slight bow.
I blushed and lowered my gaze.
To myself I murmured “Kokuryū” –
Black dragon.

Later I stood across from him.
There was about him a wildness,
a smell of cold fresh water
rushing over rocks.

And still later
He placed a branch of pink
cherry blossoms in my hand,
Kissing my fingers.

And there was a calm about him –
the last part of the wave
gently caressing the stones
on the beach.

And there was about him
a heat, like the skin of
a dragon and a strength
like the wings of a dragon
lifting upward beyond the sun.
I could only stand and watch
as he moved out of my sphere.
And a loneliness about him,
like the dragon curled
about himself in the
depths of faraway cave –
“Kokuryū” – Black dragon.

 

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lightwalker1
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 00:47:15

    I love it. I am a fan of dragons. You have shown him to be beautiful, strong, vulnerable and gentle. I am in awe, as I always am of dragons. In love and light Cheryle

    Reply

  2. dragonlife
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 02:15:31

    Top-class sake!

    Reply

  3. Dusty Writes
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 03:20:11

    I am overwhelmed by your poetry–it is entirely unique and has such a quiet elegance, definitely a lovely Asian flavor.

    Reply

  4. gpcox
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 05:43:33

    Japanese art, to me, is so simple yet so beautiful and intriguing. The poem and painting here so enhance each other as to be one product of artistic fantasy.

    Reply

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 07:15:20

    Yes, this poem is infused with the gentle grace a Japanese woman might use. You capture that Asian mood so well in your description, it’s impossible not to feel it. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  6. wolfsrosebud
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 09:38:09

    intense and beautiful… filled with emotions… nice

    Reply

  7. purehaiku
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 09:38:12

    love the picture! beautiful poem – verse 2 really struck a chord with me…

    Reply

  8. macjam47
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 15:56:14

    Outstanding poem.

    Reply

  9. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 08:34:05

    Wow, just wow. Every word precisely placed for maximum emotional pull. Powerful in each element. Never a missing link. Passionate.

    Reply

  10. Sarah
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 14:14:50

    Beautiful. ❤

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

