NaPoWriMo17 #social #media

Today for NaPoWriMo17, the prompt is to write a poem from social media using comments, tweets, etc. I have followed that prompt today.

facebook
Kanzensakura do you know these following people?
Joe D’Schmo   Cottonwood, AZ
Garret Guffaw   Lizard Lick, NC
Lucy Looseleaf   Philadelpha, AL
Marty McFly   State College, PA
Soozi Snoozi   Byrdstown, TN
Cherry Phosphate   Levittown, NY

Add the people you know to see their photos
And updates…

#bah humbug

Update: Here’s a pic of me and my boys on the couch
Snuggling and watching TMNT
5,385 Likes

Tweet: I’m at Walmart!
Tweet: Bub and Bitsy are engaged!
Tweet: I’m at DSW!

Update: here’s a pic of me and my boys on the couch
Snuggling and munching on popcorn while we watch TMNT
10,863 Likes

Tweet: On the way to MD for stomach virus!
Tweet: On the side of the road vomiting from virus!
Tweet: I’m at Walmart!

Update: Here’s a pic of me and my boys on the couch
Snuggling and sad the movie has ended
23,098 Likes

Tweet:  I’m at Walmart!
Update: Here’s a pic of me and my boys at Walmart!
3141592653599 Likes

#bah humbug
#I quit FB

 

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bryan Ens
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 18:20:47

    I’m far too addicted to FB…although twitter is not really an issue. I check it maybe once a week.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 17, 2015 @ 18:24:14

      After a week of this sort of nonsense, I stopped being on FB….reminded me too much of Emily Dickinson’s poem, I’m Nobody. A friend told me she got to see pics of her granddaughter on FB. Really? Your son/daughter is so rude and busy they don’t have time to email their mother pics of her granddaughter in a more personal interaction? That’s one reason I hate FB…that sort of thing. I did make up the number of likes for the last update though – Pi

      Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 20:13:38

    😀 😀 😀 This is entertaining, if I understand the gist.

    Reply

  3. macjam47
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 08:16:03

    This is a hilarious look at the way we put ourselves out on social media, and it’s all wrapped up nicely in a poem. Great work. Hugs.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 09:24:57

      💗 And why I don’t do social media. I am appalled at some of the things I have read. I once worked in an agency that dealt with sexual predators. And to no one’s surpise at the agency, many of these predators got their information and kicks from things people posted – such as leaving for an appointment or on vacation or pics of their young daugthers in bathing suits. These social media accounts are easy to insert oneself into or hack. People know this but for some reason, rarely use caution. it is frightening.

      Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 12:05:03

    I used to be more into twitter.. but I seem to have moved back to facebook.. My cherry-flower image a couple of days ago got quite a few likes.. not couch updates yet. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Prajakta
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 13:04:53

    Excellent capture of present day life! FB was something that used to depress me – thankfully now I am out. Actually LIVING my life instead of updating the world about it!

    Reply

  6. Éilis Niamh
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 18:31:22

    Too true! Tweets about immediate physical locations and current health status are over sharing at its worst. Seriously. And if I know someone, we’re already friends (or decisively not for good reasons) and facebook doesn’t have to inquire. I’d rather add people myself. 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 20:22:26

      This is true. What is sad, is that these tweets and updates came from the 5 people who show up

      because we are “mutual friends” with the two friends I have on FB.

      Reply

  7. smilecalm
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 22:01:46

    i have no fb
    friends 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 18, 2015 @ 22:12:12

      Wow, you are my hero. I have 3 but get junk from “mutual ” friends. I think i now have about 250 notifications I am ignoring.

      Reply

      • smilecalm
        Apr 18, 2015 @ 22:38:08

        wow, sounds like fb
        is a full time obligation!
        I barely find time to
        post on wp once a week 🙂
        wishing you & your friends
        more sunshine, less notifications.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Apr 18, 2015 @ 22:47:50

          My priority is living my life, then writing. How the people find time to live on FB, tweet,etc. Is beyond me. I often wat to adk, how can you suposedly be dojng all these when every 5 minutes my tablet buzzes and it is some kind of notification from you? It is a puzzle.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

  8. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Apr 18, 2015 @ 23:58:39

    Yes indeed, so sad to say. FB is a major black hole. I love this.

    Reply

  9. Gabriella
    Apr 19, 2015 @ 08:40:55

    Great social commentary! I must say I use FB as many of my relatives live far away from home (and so do I). It is a good way too see a few things about their lives as this would be too many people to email regularly, even if I email the ones I am closest to. However I agree that people often post senseless statuses and if somebody posted about being at Walmart I’d look for the “I hate button”.

    Reply

  10. Sarah
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 13:55:35

    I quit FB when I started getting the hang of blogging. The interactions here seem more nourishing somehow.

    Reply

  11. Grace
    Apr 21, 2015 @ 18:28:57

    I am smiling at the tweets & update ~ I am not into FB so much, smiles ~

    Reply

  12. Clowie
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:42:35

    I wouldn’t ignore Marty McFLy because he might introduce me to Doc Brown and then I’d meet his dog Einstein!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

