dVerse Poetics – Meeting the Bar

free public domain clipart

free public domain clipart

Today at dVerse, Bjorn has given us a totally different kind prompt for Meating the Barn. We are to write poems based on cathacresis. It derives from the Greek for “abuse”. Worse than mixed metaphors, it is just wrong metaphors…like “I shall speak daggers with my eyes” (Hamlet about Gertrude) or, smooth like waffle. And it is often used in nonsensical poetry, although to be honest, they seem to make sense, in an odd, offbeat manner. Anyway, don’t take this seriously or try to understand it – just scratch your head at it and have a laugh or two.

Pollen
Wordless as a salient mummer,
The pollen tiptoed in on little rhino’s feet.
Like a patent euthanized against the sky
Heaving came – peachlike dankness fell.
Fortifed, I cast perils before swains
and essayed outside.
Alack, pollen slapped up my nose and I –
Kazoo! Kazoo! Kazoo!

Do I dare?
With revisions and circumcisions
And long divisions and xyvisions
I extanted the field.
Back to my recliner among the nightingales.

Whazoo! Whazoo! Whazoo!

And do I dare?
Staph and nunsense –
Like a crab clacking across
an airfield,
I shall wear my treasures roiled.
Pollen – thou art a hartless snitch.

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 17:48:36

    I love the image of a tiptoeing rhinoceros.. that must be exactly how those pollen feel like.. and the perils before the swains is an excellent Cathacrisis

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 18:14:34

    Ha, I really like ‘perils before swain’ too & “kazoo! kazoo! kazoo!” Very creative thought processes here….I commend you!

    Reply

  3. Glenn Buttkus
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 19:07:36

    Imaginative, clever, funbag-filled jelly honuts 4 sure! You really got into the mix, the spirit of both foolishness & brevity; nice job; laughed out loud thrice. I like the line .peachlike dankness fell/.

    Reply

  4. Randstein
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 20:34:22

    Loved it. We must have more! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 22:06:29

    Absolutely–may I say–delightful? No, not the painful pollen. I enjoyed this because of the wonderful descriptions and word choices: I cannot list them as they were every other word.
    I love kazoo, kazoo, kazoo. I can hear it. 🙂 🙂 ❤

    Reply

  6. kanzensakura
    Apr 30, 2015 @ 22:21:37

    It was fun but I am afraid T.S.Eliot is whirling like a dervish in his grave, but gosh Tess, I had too much fun. I could get addicted to this style.

    Reply

  7. billgncs
    May 01, 2015 @ 00:07:27

    🙂 after reading this, I will keep my circumcision to myself 🙂 – You’ve really captured the spirit in this little work.

    Reply

  8. anmol(alias HA)
    May 01, 2015 @ 01:30:47

    What a fun write! I loved your use of the literary technique. Liked this bit in particular: “Like a patent euthanized….”. 🙂
    -HA

    Reply

  9. MarinaSofia
    May 01, 2015 @ 05:07:07

    Poor T. S. Eliot must be turning in his grave… – that patent euthanized was just too funny! Then again, he did have a sense of humour, so he might be chuckling away. The roiled trousers were priceless too…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 01, 2015 @ 11:50:20

      Mr. Eliot is my main man. My husband says he doesn’t know which man I am most entranced with – him, Eliot, or the Japanese actor, Hiroyuki Sanada. I would like to think he would have a good chuckle from the poem though. I hope other folks had fun and a good laugh.

      Reply

  10. Sherry Marr
    May 01, 2015 @ 13:34:29

    This is actually wittily brilliant. Or brilliantly witty, take your pick, since we are not splitting hares (LOL.)

    Reply

  11. Linda Kruschke
    May 01, 2015 @ 15:19:01

    This is very funny! And dramatic, too. Peace, Linda

    Reply

  12. mishunderstood
    May 01, 2015 @ 15:42:48

    Even in a nonsensical style, you created an eloquent piece! Bravo!

    Reply

  13. kanzensakura
    May 01, 2015 @ 16:09:53

    Thank you very much!

    Reply

  14. Bryan Ens
    May 01, 2015 @ 18:04:27

    nothing nonsensical about this…pollen makes you sneeze and have hallucinations. Me too! 🙂

    Reply

  15. lynn__
    May 01, 2015 @ 22:37:54

    Clever and entertaining…bless you!

    Reply

  16. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 02, 2015 @ 06:53:18

    Brilliant!

    Reply

  17. janjoy52
    May 03, 2015 @ 17:17:04

    Silly and clever as a sly rock. lol.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

