A hole in the world – Rest in peace, my friend Peggie

Peggie Duggan passed away suddenly May 15. Many of you knew her as the brilliant and compassionate blogger at Chasing Rabbitholes.

Always fearless, always loving, always with a kind word. My heart is broken and I can only sit and weep at the light which has left our world. She leaves behind her rescued greyhound, Ella, her cat Elby, and friends who deeply love her and will miss her sweetness. The death of her brother Sean last year was so hard for her and I can only say that now the two are together and her heart is satisfied at being with those who have gone before.

Sleep well my friend. Rest. It was a hard battle for you. I love you.

34 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seeker
    May 27, 2015 @ 01:08:46

    I’m sorry to hear about her demise, Thank you for spreading the word.

    Reply

  2. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 27, 2015 @ 07:26:14

    I am brokenhearted. This is a devastating loss of a brilliant mind and magnanimous heart. Thank you for letting us know, Kanzen. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    May 27, 2015 @ 08:01:36

    Reblogged this on How the Cookie Crumbles and commented:
    R.I.P. Huntie.
    This is for those of you who have not seen her online for quite a line.

    Reply

  4. vanbytheriver
    May 27, 2015 @ 09:16:34

    Such a lovely and sad tribute. I didn’t know her, but I understand the connection. ❤ Van

    Reply

  5. The Persecution of Mildred Dunlap
    May 27, 2015 @ 09:18:15

    So sad to read about Peggy. A beautiful soul who I felt grateful to get to know. RIP dear sweet friend.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 27, 2015 @ 09:23:38

      Like Bill Hamilton, she had COPD. I knew it had gotten bad. She told me of stryggling to get the food in from the market for her her dog and cat and had had an exaceebation. I think she knew. When I last soke to her, she was so tired. I didn’t think it was this bad though. I am heartbroken.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  6. Hannah Gosselin
    May 27, 2015 @ 09:55:42

    My heart breaks for you. She’s beautifully remembered. ♥

    Reply

  7. Sue Vincent
    May 27, 2015 @ 11:02:35

    I am so sorry.

    Reply

  8. Bernice
    May 27, 2015 @ 12:46:29

    It is always sad when we lose someone in the blogging world.

    Reply

  9. DELL CLOVER
    May 27, 2015 @ 17:16:11

    I’m sorry for the loss–you wrote a lovely tribute, and as you say, she’s now reunited with her brother–a most comforting blessing.

    Reply

  10. Chatter Master
    May 27, 2015 @ 20:15:22

    I am so sorry. I knew of her through Bill Hamilton. May she rest in peace with her loved ones she has been missing.

    Reply

  11. Flash
    May 28, 2015 @ 09:26:21

    I wandered in here on a thread. As a lifelong dachshund companion I look for others with a similar family. I see 60 in the past and wanted more info about this lost soul who should have lived decades longer providing a home for greyhounds.
    Could find no obituary, just your post and her blog.
    So sorry for all the friends from the past, and sorry for the empty future.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 28, 2015 @ 10:20:03

      Thank you for your words. But, future is not empty. While the future will not have my friend Peggie, it does hold memories of her. the future contains beautiful moments (if you read the series of “everyday” haiku I posted) and it does hold people like yourself who drop by and give kindness. The future is not bleak, just the present is sad now.

      How nice that you are companion to dachshunds and give them a home. I know someone who takes rescued dachsunds, many of them rescued from puppy mill torture. Anyone who rescues these innocent creatures and gives them love and a proper home deserves sainthood. I myself am a companion to rescued cats.

      My friend should have lived but she did not. But in her brief light here on earth, she adopted all of us souls and gave her love to us. She was a wise, caring, humble, magnaminous old soul.

      there is no obituary, just an outpouring of love from those of us who miss her. She would not have wanted such and so her family has not posted one.

      Thank you for dropping by. I wish you could have known Peggie but, if you adopt rescued animals, then in a way, you. I hope you will visit often and always know the future is always full of friends we have not yet met, rainbows to come, the sweetness of spring rain, and an opportunity to help.

      Reply

  12. joannesisco
    May 28, 2015 @ 16:52:20

    Oh Kanzen, I’m so very sorry for you. I know she was a dear friend and her loss must feel so huge for you. My thoughts are with you while you try to digest this world without your dear friend in it.

    Reply

  13. Carl D'Agostino
    May 30, 2015 @ 14:48:16

    my condolences

    Reply

  14. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    May 30, 2015 @ 17:12:46

    Toni – This is a moving and special tribute to our special Peggie.

    Reply

  15. Bette A. Stevens
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 16:30:07

    A lovely tribute to Peggie.

    Reply

  16. Tina Blackledge
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 19:39:09

    A very loving and moving tribute to a dear friend. Your friendship has deep ties and that means she will always be a part of you because those who carve their imprint in our lives can never truly leave us. They are woven into the fiber of our inner most being because it was a mutual relation of utmost respect and love. It is a heartfelt tribute that would stun your friend with its powerful sentiment.She sounds like a wonderful woman who touched many hearts during her journey. God bless you and all who knew her as they learn how to say good bye to a wonderful woman. God Bless you and keep you tucked under his comforting wing while you heal.

    Reply

  17. MJ Brodeck
    Jun 11, 2015 @ 19:45:53

    My deepest sympathies. It’s apparent she touched many hearts.
    MaryJane

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 11, 2015 @ 19:59:32

      She was a beautiful, brave, intelligent, witty person who never met a stranger. I still pick up the phone to call before I remember I can’t. I was blessed by her.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

