dVerse Poetics – Meadow Stars

Today at dVerse Poetics, we have a guest host/bartender: Wolfsrosebud aka Patti Wolf. She is asking us to get closer to nature – get on our hands and knees, get a little grubby and take a closer look at the world around us, especially the smaller world.  Come visit us and….go outside and renew your acquaintance with the natural world around us.  Cut off the cell phone, stop answering text messages, stop tweeting and Facebooking – take a few minutes and live life!!     http://dversepoets.com/2015/06/02/poetics-micro-poetry

fleabane daisies - copyright kanzensakura

fleabane daisies – copyright kanzensakura

Fleabane daisies bloom
over the meadow floor – do
the local folk, the worms and beetles,
tiny spiders and hoverflies
think the daisies are stars
blooming over their green grass world?
Do they make up names for
the daisy constellations
and stories of how they came to be?
These  meadow stars that bloom brightest
at day and only glow softly at night?
When one fades and falls
do the sister ladybugs
link together their tiny legs
and make a wish?
I need to get closer and see if I can hear
what their wishes would be –
to be more patient and discover
if their wish comes true.

o

 

 

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. X
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 15:37:18

    What an interesting perspective to view the world through the eyes of a bug, and see the daisies as stars and naming constellations. I think that is a human trait, the need to name everything. Actually cut a line about that from my poem today.

    I hope the services for your friend went well. I never heard from you Friday, but I assumed you were probably away at a memorial or sure.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 02, 2015 @ 15:54:16

      Thank you. She wanted no service and I would have had to travel to CA if she had. I spent the day in meditation and prayer and remembering. And lying in the grass and watching the gentle world around me.

      Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 15:44:57

    This is a wonderful thought.. the ladybug making wishes is such a great thought.. and those little stars that could form constellations.. I can really tell that you went down there and listened and looked at all the details..

    Reply

  3. Hannah Gosselin
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 15:48:49

    I love the idea of the locals making up star stories!! What an enchanting poem!

    Reply

  4. wolfsrosebud
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 15:52:42

    i like the little world you took us too… it does make one wonder just what we are stepping on day after day… ouch

    Reply

  5. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 16:01:58

    Your time of meditation & prayer was a perfect prep & conduit for today’s prompt. You transported us into a macrocosm microscopic universe, & it was fascinating. if daises might be stars to insects, consider what cruel behemoths we must appear to be.

    Reply

  6. DELL CLOVER
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 17:17:55

    I love your concept that daisies are stars, whole constellations!

    Reply

  7. Grace
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 18:14:37

    I admire the micro world you have painted for us: daisies, worms, beetles, ladybugs, grass ~ I want to hear what their wishes are too, smiles ~ Thanks for joining in ~

    Reply

  8. katiemiafrederick
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 18:33:44

    Ah.. yes… many petaling stories.. flowering.. insect connections..
    do lay at feet.. of nectared spector.. as cycles do tale..
    spinning wheels.. of life.. beyond most eyes of
    larger reach..:)

    Reply

  9. lynn__
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 18:40:55

    An enchanting microcosmic perspective indeed…and stunning photograph!

    Reply

  10. ayala zarfjian (@ayalazarfjian)
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 20:36:01

    I wonder what their wishes would be….. Lovely

    Reply

  11. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 21:32:19

    As adults we forget about the days spent in the grass watching the littles in the grass. You do it still. How inspiring. You poem reflects your attention to detail. This is amazing, Kanzen. Superb. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  12. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 22:30:54

    I love the micro-neighborhood you’ve introduced us to. Every little detail is so real to me. I love this garden.

    Reply

  13. Bryan Ens
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 00:27:30

    oh I love this micro-cosmic cosmos you have created. The “micro” for us is the “macro” for the ants.

    Reply

  14. Prajakta
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 03:02:51

    Through the eyes of the ladybug?? This is so enchanting 🙂

    Reply

  15. Linda Kruschke
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 17:27:26

    Wonderful! This made me smile. And I love the picture. I’ve not seen this type of daisy before. I have feverfew daisies in my yard, but I think I need to get some of these. By the way, I wrote my first haiku for this prompt. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration and encouragement. Peace, Linda

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 03, 2015 @ 17:36:57

      I’ll have to go and check it out! These are little wild daisies and the boolms are a little smaler than a dime, in clusters with several cluster groups on a plant about w feet high. I think they are similar to the feverfew. I thought the same but there is some difference.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  16. Sherry Blue Sky
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 19:21:28

    I love the idea of them as “meadow stars”, and the ladybugs linking legs to make wishes. Loved it.

    Reply

  17. sheridegrom - From the literary and legislative trenches.
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 19:30:17

    The meadow fairies are dancing in the moonlight – – I’m certain.

    Reply

  18. Kathy Reed
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 20:08:39

    Ahh, a Bug’s Story, the movie was great…conveys the same magical quality of people searching and surviving,; nice to have stars to look up to at night from any perspective;)

    Reply

  19. SirenaTales
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 21:22:03

    Enchanting, giving me goosebumps, Kanzen. You remind me of one of my favorite tales from childhood–“The Borrowers”–written from the perspective of wee folk. Thank you for taking me back to that breathless magic and mystery. xoxo

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 03, 2015 @ 21:27:00

      I LOVED The Borrowers….Pod, Homily, and Arriety….I had forgotten about them until now. And yes….the wee folk…and the insects and how they could look eye to eye with the Clock family.

      Reply

  20. billgncs
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 22:20:57

    If we get up to our cabin in Wyoming in the spring and I ride my bike along the mountain roads, the scent of flowers is intoxicating. Here’s a look… https://bwthoughts.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/bareback-on-bandit/

    Reply

  21. lightwalker1
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 21:52:24

    I love the perspective you have taken us to. Your childlike imagination has brought us down on bended knee and laid us on our stomach close to the world in the landscape that we ignore from our human height. The questions posed are perfect, so natural. Beautiful, as always. In love and light Cheryle

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

