Nishikigoi poem

cat and koi pond - Cat and koi pond by Utagawa kuniyoshi (歌川国芳)  January 1, 1797 -  April 14, 1861

cat and koi pond – Cat and koi pond by Utagawa kuniyoshi (歌川国芳) January 1, 1797 – April 14, 186 

 

Years ago, we had a koi pond – nishikigoi: brocaded carp. It is a pleasure to feed them and watch them nibble bits of lettuce and melon, to watch them break the surfacte and play. A good friend of mine wrote the first three lines, which so delighted me, I wrote the rest of the poem from that inspiration. And, my friend loves my fried chicken!

禁断の愛
A forbidden desire:
A fishing pole, pond,
Carp sushi–and fried chicken.  by Beni

Nishikigoi:
Unmoving, sleeping.
At peace in the sun.

Barely rippling,
Fins and tail calm.
Dreaming of lettuce.

Nishikigoi
Flutters ripples hides –
Carp sushi nightmare.

Looks up and sees
Tall thin one with
Pole is not topside.
Sees short round one
With lettuce and melon.
Safe, he rises to eat.

Nishikigoi laughs.
Tall thin one comes
Eating fried chicken

Bits of biscuit
Float on water – Snap!
Gone without a trace.

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DELL CLOVER
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 05:19:47

    Now you have me craving fried chicken!! Toni, I can’t make it to save my life–and I have southern roots, so I don’t know what happened! Please send me a bucket? I can, however, make great smothered okra–if you like that, I’m willing to do a trade.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 29, 2015 @ 09:55:05

      Sounds like a plan to me! Ionce did a post which included corn pudding. It’s easy to do a search for it. If I ever get my laptop back, i can send you a link.

      Reply

      • DELL CLOVER
        Jun 29, 2015 @ 16:24:33

        Oh I made corn pudding last year–great recipe and easy…..wonder where I filed that…

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jun 29, 2015 @ 16:58:39

          I make something I call Carnal Pudding. I use a local sweet corn – Super Fantastic. I barely add any sugar to it because the corn is so very sweet! Cream, eggs, vanilla, butter…man oh man. the corn, when I double cut it off the cob is so full of milk and so sticky sweet – perfect for sweet corn pudding. I use other types of fresh corn for cooking but Super Fantastic is my corn pudding corn.

          Reply

          • DELL CLOVER
            Jun 29, 2015 @ 17:13:53

            Oh this sounds WAY better than mine….

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Jun 29, 2015 @ 17:18:37

              Not necessarily..it’s the corn that makes it sooooo good. If i make a savory corn pudding, I have to get a different corn, it is that sweet. When I out up bags in the freezer, I put Big SF on the super fantastic because that is for corn pudding.

              Reply

              • DELL CLOVER
                Jun 29, 2015 @ 17:30:27

                I can see why fresh corn would make the difference. The recipe I used is just canned cream style–but yummy!

                Reply

                • kanzensakura
                  Jun 29, 2015 @ 18:39:33

                  A friend of mine uses the canned too and it is good. I use a recipe from one of the old taverns in Williamsburg alternately with my father’s recipe. I cut off ad freeze plenty of fresh not just for pudding but for bread and buttered corn or soups.. right now its 10/$1…..so it’cheap to put up now.

                  Reply

                  • DELL CLOVER
                    Jun 29, 2015 @ 19:01:00

                    I do love making a good pot of potato-corn chowder when it’s cold!! Yummy.

                    Reply

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 19:12:06

                      Yeppers, you got that right. And I do an old fasioned pudding bread with the corn, cornmeal and flour with caramelized apples on the bottom of the skillet. My grand said it was something his grandmotherr made as a little boy and a baked cornbread with corn added. Good stuff.

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 19:13:54

                      Oh my goodness, now you’ve done it–I’m hitch-hiking to your house for dinner!! Is this apple-corn recipe hard to make? If not, is there any chance you’d share the recipe?

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 19:23:04

                      It is easy. My grandmother hacked an easy version of when i was a kid. You take two boxes of the jiffy cornbread mix and mix in 2 eggs and enough canned cream corn to make a nice batter and add 1/2 stick melted butter. In the bottom of a 10 inch iron skillet, melt 1/2 stick of butter, about 1/2 – 3/4 c. Brown sugar, cinnamon, good splash of vanilla. Put in oven and let it all melt together, stir, let apples get al dente. Can add some chopped pecans or walnuts. Pour in the batter on top. Cook at 375 fot 20 minutes, check to make sure batter is done. Pull out of oven and let sit about 10 min. Loosen with spatula and upend on large plate. Put servings in individual bowls and pour some cream over or scoop of vanilla ice cream,….i add a bit if lemon juice and nutmeg to the apples. You can add a splash ofvrum or bourbon.

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 22:21:39

                      Oh my, that sounds good–thanks for sharing, Toni!

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 22:23:16

                      More thank welcome!!!

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 22:27:39

                      xxoo

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jun 29, 2015 @ 22:53:30

                      I think it would be good with fresh peaches too…unusual. Use mace instead of cinnamon.

                      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jun 30, 2015 @ 01:37:41

                      Oh that does sound yummy, too.

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 08:28:25

    Oh so much better for the carps.. (but worse for the chicken).. you know how to save those beautiful jewels of the pond.

    Reply

  3. Bryan Ens
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 08:57:10

    I and the koi find this delightful. The chickens, though, are not so impressed 🙂

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 29, 2015 @ 09:41:08

    You’ve given the fish such personality. I love this.They wouldn’t bite the hand that feeds them. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  5. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 15:23:37

    “Carpe Sushi,” says the cat!

    Reply

  6. Bastet
    Jul 02, 2015 @ 00:06:47

    This is so delightful … 🙂

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

