Pewter Landscape II

the full moon is the watch dog
guarding the shadows of night.
the landscape is awash in greys, blacks and white.
summer heat pulses
cicadas thrum
tree frogs cry for rain
but the merciless moon shines bright
in a cloudless night sky.
a faint sussuration
like the sighs of dry grasses
remembering the wind
passes around, through me.
the road says, come with me now.
the country roads are empty
and like ribbons of silver they stretch to the horizon.
headlights turned off
driving in silence by the light of the moon
humming tires…
pewter moonlight monochrome
ghostly landscape sleeps,
I need to get lost tonight.

***Note: This is the second in a series of poems built from lines from Pewter Landscape – tanka

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 17:07:31

    Oh you wrote about driving without headlights .. Sounds magical. Once I was skiing in moonlight.. In winter it was also magical.

    Reply

  2. Daedalus Lex
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 22:30:38

    You have a wonderful way of keeping the images concrete while letting the gestures of meaning float behind them.

    Reply

  3. Clowie
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 01:22:16

    I love it when the moon is really bright. It’s lovely to go walking, everything seems so different. The moonlight is magical if you can see it shining on water.

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 09:07:52

    More than anything, a feeling of restlessness stands out. As the world sleeps, this soul pursues escape (from self? from the heat? from emotions?). Though keenly aware of the magical surroundings, a central craving isn’t fulfilled. ❤ ❤ ❤ A haunting scene, Kanzen.

    Reply

  5. MarinaSofia
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 12:43:13

    And I’m not sure why I was convinced that I was following your blog already… but clearly I was not and I missed this.
    You are right, you whisper, you don’t shout – but the whisper is often as haunting (or even more haunting) than the loud-voiced madness!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 15:14:18

      I think sometimes WP glitches when un notified upgrades are done to the system. There were a couple of hundred blogs I follow that just blipped off my system. I had to go in andvre-follow!

      Reply

  6. DELL CLOVER
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 22:53:14

    Oh wowza, Toni–all good, but I’m especially taken by the final line. My echo: “me too”.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 23:03:22

      Sometimes, we do need to get lost, to be in a different space than where we are. I am going through a time of depression now. I’d like to be in another place away from it.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • DELL CLOVER
        Jul 10, 2015 @ 00:51:49

        Ohhh, dear heart–I’m glad you told me, as I will be lifting you up in prayer, earnestly and fervently. I had just a couple days of it again, and know it’s hideous–regardless of duration. I don’t want to pry–but do you know what’s causing yours, as in just one thing, or “Everything”? You needn’t specify–I’m just curious if it’s one of those “generalized” deals, as sometimes they can be worse than something specific. Anyway, I’ll quit talking–and just pray for you. Trusting our Father who loves you so much, to step in and relieve you of whatever is causing your spirit grief. xxoo, Dell

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:01:48

          Bless you, it is all kinds of things, apart from general but my husband is now only working part time – the major thing. So that is a specific need -fulltime employment for him with benefits and part-time for me. I appreciate so very much. I pray for those who I touch in the blogosphere. Thank you.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

          • DELL CLOVER
            Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:05:27

            I can understand how this would be a worry, and cause depression. Thankfully, our God is Bigger than our biggest worries and problems–He is the God of impossible situations. Believe me, I’m preaching to myself as I write this for you. I will keep you and your husband in my nightly prayers–so try to just put everything in His big loving hands, Toni. We’ll trust Him to provide abundantly for you!

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:15:06

              I feel badly. His boss was fired, wrongly, outright. Thank you. I know I have asked you this before and I do deeply apologize, my brain is just mush…by what name should I call you?

              Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

              Reply

              • DELL CLOVER
                Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:18:12

                Oh, Toni, that’s a terrible situation–one I was in once, myself–my boss was fired illegally when I worked for a library system. But she got an attorney, and won a huge settlement. Hope that encourages you a bit. You can call me Dell, or Caddo–doesn’t matter (Just don’t call me late for supper!).

                Reply

                • kanzensakura
                  Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:26:51

                  I love it. A good friend used to say that to folks…call me anything but don’t call me late to dinner! These people have their tracks covered well. Several folk have been victimised. I just keep praying for my husband and the situation. He, bless him, just keeps going along.

                  Reply

                  • DELL CLOVER
                    Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:32:10

                    I really feel bad for you both–it’s hard to be in a situation where you feel victimized; not nearly the same as a mere “layoff” would be–which isn’t easy, but it doesn’t attack your self-esteem and sense of worth. But, we will just keep praying and believe, honey–I have plenty of faith to spare from clear over here in the NW!

                    Reply

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:34:27

                      Thank you. It is always encouraging when someone says, have courage.

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:36:28

                      Yes–and also, “Be of Good Cheer”! That always makes me smile, for some reason.

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:42:09

                      Yes, it does. It reminds me of those small greeting cards that had a small pretty bouquet on the front and those words inside…and makes a smile!

                      Date: Fri, 10 Jul 2015 11:36:29 +0000 To: thspencer51@hotmail.com

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:44:53

                      Oh, those old-fashioned cards? So Pretty!

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 07:57:54

                      Yes, they were. My grandmother had a large box of varrious ones that smelled of roses. To keep me busy at times, she would have me go through it and pick out cards for her to send. So very lovely and of course, it kept me still and quiet because it was a lot of them and the perfect ones had to be selected. Lost art, those simple small cards.

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 08:06:58

                      How lovely–yes, it’s sad that we’ve lost that art and “habit” of sending cards. I used to buy tons to send to people–now they’re way too expensive!

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 08:13:18

                      There is a Christian bokstore that selks boxes of all kinds of cards BOGO. Makes them about 50 cents each which isn’t bad. And they often have packages of one desighn small cards for about a buck fifty. Lifeway Christian Bookstore. Don’t know if they have in your area. They’ve been a good resource.

                      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 08:18:02

                      Oh cool! I do all my shopping through Amazon, these days–and they have Christian assorted packages too.

                    • kanzensakura
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 08:30:45

                      I’m an Amazon addict myself…but Lifeway often has excellent sales and promotions and coupons. They are online as well. I was able to purchase the archeologic study Bible for a little less than half price, a super deal.

                      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

                    • DELL CLOVER
                      Jul 10, 2015 @ 08:36:16

                      Oh wowza, thanks for the tip, Toni!!! Nighty-night!

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

