Pewter Landscape III

This is the final poem in the series taken from my tanka, Pewter Landscape, with lines from the tanka used in each poem. The quote line is from Shakespeare’s Richard the Third, act one, scene one, 1-4.

December night sky –
snow like frozen stars, silent
as dust falls to earth.
no wishes on these stars, no dreams.
line of black trees
separating white snow from pewter sky.
ghostly landscape sleeps.
summer photograph fades with time.
“the winter of our discontent”…
hopes become buried in the ocean of snow.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ayala
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 15:49:53

    Lovely poem!

    Reply

  2. DELL CLOVER
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 21:18:29

    Oh my, Toni–I’m speechless, and so sorry, as it deserves some stellar comment! You’ll have to trust that I was sincerely moved by your lovely writing once again.

    Reply

  3. Gabriella
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 22:44:08

    I read and like the whole series. I think my favorite is the last one – the silent reality of these december night is very powerfully conveyed and the bard’s quote fits perfectly.

    Reply

  4. kanzensakura
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 22:52:21

    Thank you so much. I like the last one best as well. It ties the other two together.

    Reply

  5. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 02:26:36

    You brought out those memories of what December nights are all about, this is the soul of the winter.. Winter gives me shiver.

    Reply

  6. kanzensakura
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 11:17:56

    Yes, winter can seem bleak and without promise. It is only the past 10 years that I have to truly appreciate winter, altough it makes me shiver as well!

    Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 15:33:24

    Melancholy through and through.
    Love the contrasts of colors and textures, especially, “…snow like frozen stars…” Heck, I like all of this. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

