d’Verse Poetics – 4th Year Celebration – Icebreaker

This is the FOURTH ANNIVERSARY of d’Verse Poetics community – woohoo!!!! We are celebrating poetry, each other, contributors and commenters. Yesterday Grace, in Pubtalk, gave us the theme of gratitude and it is part of the prompts for this whole week. Today Marina Sofia is providing an icebreaker for us to get to know one another better.

We choose three words that mean a lot to us or describe us and three words that state what we are grateful for and then writing a poem with those words in 12 or less lines. Come join us for the celebration, the amazing poets, join in the conversation and contribute poems of your own.

My words:  Japan, the South, Phoenix, family, husband, love

southern woman – a family heritage
of hard work, courtesy and respect to all,
unconditional love of family -for them, by them.
knocked down by cancer but a survivor –
lessons of hard gained, deep romantic yet hard lost love.
locked away in loss and pain but reawakened to life and the joy of words
Phoenix poet rising from the ashes.
discovering along the way and living by,  equally –
Bushido and the Ten Commandments – The South meets Japan.
rising from the pain of lost love to new love –  a husband, friend, lover –
travelling the world, diving into different cultures –
The Phoenix southern woman poet finding her way home.

 

Bushido - public domain image

Bushido – public domain image

 

47 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. claudia
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:18:26

    wow – you told us about your life in 12 lines – i’m in awe – sounds like a difficult way at times but so glad you rose from the ashes and found new love and joy

    Reply

  2. X
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:19:06

    Sounds like Phoenix fits you in several ways. Props on being the cancer survivor as well. Cancer is some nasty stuff and has touched several that I love. What an interesting blend you are in a person too. Ha.

    Reply

  3. billgncs
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:22:51

    the south meets japan… now that is a complex statement – but I think it fits.

    you may want to check your dverse url 🙂

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:26:41

      Usually Bjorn is around to fix it for me….I am link challenged in the worst way. Yeah, Ieat my NC style bbq with chopsticks – 🙂

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO..

      Reply

      • billgncs
        Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:14:28

        I was in Missouri riding the Katy bike trail – and had some wonderful bbq and grits for breakfast at waffle house 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:31:45

          The Katy…I always think of Blues Brothers when hearing that..smile. Oh my, grits and bbq. Reminds me of a past love watching me eat grits and bbq and saying how similar itvwas to a Japanese breakfast, which started a 13 year conversation. Waffle Houses are the.bomb.

          Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

          Reply

          • billgncs
            Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:34:30

            There was a place nearby the trail where the gent has an outdoor wood-fire oven and you bike up and order a fresh pizza. You eat outside in the shade of tents with big fans – but the pizza is superb.

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:43:03

              Ambiance and food sound superb. This is indeed the best of food and adventure combined. Now I am hungry. Somehow now, fresh corn on the cob, sliced garden tomatoes, and fried okra seem rather tame.

              Reply

  4. Grace
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:30:12

    I love this strong statement: – Phoenix poet rising from the ashes. And that power of love to heal us and find our way home ~

    Its been great to know you Toni ~ Hugs

    Reply

  5. enthusiasticallydawn
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:38:56

    I am sort of amazed that you said so much through this prompt. So UN vague! What a beautiful, authentic offering! Thank you…I am loving this prompt, and the writing it is allowing to happen. Lovely post. I will link later tonight…if the odds are in my favor. 😉

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 14, 2015 @ 16:58:27

      I hope the odds will be in your favor! Your posts are always so bouyant and true. It will be interesting to see what you would do with this prompt. Thank you for your kind words.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  6. Glenn Buttkus
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:07:12

    You gently rocked the prompt, while sharing significant life nuances with us; applauding your hybrid nature & lifestyle; too many of us only experience such exotic moments in books & films.

    Reply

  7. September Last
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:15:35

    This was so beautiful and moving, Toni–‘specially since I’ve gotten to know you a little better recently (“Dell”).

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:26:44

      Oh!!!! I am so glad to find this is you!!!!!! This makes my heart smile. 🙂

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

      • September Last
        Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:34:43

        Yes Ma’am! Kinda fun having a “summer place”–I may never go back to “the Diary”, but we’ll see. Life is always about “flux”, isn’t it?? I may still email you later–things are very crazy right now, felt like an impending avalanche Sun-Mon, but I’m seeing a beam of God’s light today, so I’m WAY Grateful. Thank you for being His angel–you don’t know how much it meant to have your offer of support–and I actually have a funny thing to share about that, but it would have to be saved for email…. xxoo

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:38:09

          Please do tell. I was mourning for you….. life is like surfing on an earthquake at times, isn’t it? I’m afraid I will wipe out in the next few days, but God and my husband are ever faithful. He has a job interview tomorrow and we are at the point of desperate. I hope my prayers for you encorage you. ♡

          Reply

          • September Last
            Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:45:02

            Oh Sister Toni–I will be praying BIG fervent prayers for your husband’s interview tomorrow–this is Exciting, because we know Our God Can DO It!! (And “desperate” is what always brings us to God, right? Not that we aren’t close to Him always–but I was pitchin’ a southern fit with Him over my circumstances, and He assures me He loves me anyway, so….It’s not about us, it’s ALL about His Power and Love!)

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:47:08

              Yes it is. Yesterday, I had what I call a Job fit….and as usual, God was there to listen. Desperate reminds me of how we are so dependent on God and to let Him just do it all.

              Reply

              • September Last
                Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:50:26

                You’re so right–and a Job Fit sounds like me, drama queen that I usually am!!! We’re dependent on Him to just get out of bed each day–when we put all our cares/concerns in His hands, we can trust Him to “handle it”. I’d have so much more peace if I’d just do that, instead of fretting myself into a meltdown!! Will try to get to that email later…..

                Reply

  8. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:25:53

    I love the blend of Eastern and Western spirituality and am grateful to have learned about the one in order to incorporate it into my natural Christian born and bred understanding. Quite true.

    Reply

  9. divalounger
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:31:14

    I love the sure strength here–and I love how poetry has led you home!

    Reply

  10. Sanaa Rizvi
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:39:53

    Love the way you have described yourself.. allowing us a peek into your life 🙂
    Beautifully penned!

    Reply

  11. Chess
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:40:16

    Happy 4th Anniversary 😃

    Reply

  12. MarinaSofia
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:46:06

    Thank you, Toni, for sharing so much of yourself. I am fascinated by the South meets Japan dimension (although I knew it about you from before) – they seem such polar opposites. And I can certainly appreciate more now the use of the word Phoenix – you certainly seem to have turned your life around, been reborn…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 14, 2015 @ 17:50:58

      I thought polar opposites too until in a 13 year relationship with my Samurai….amazing how similar. I truly have been blessed….he used to call me an onnabugeisha…female Samurai….I grew up in a family of strong women, part of my heritage.

      Reply

  13. Polly
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 18:02:48

    I esp like the line ‘Phoenix poet rising from the ashes’ – seems to encapsulate the whole poem. Beautifully done. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Myrna
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 18:27:15

    Your last line sums it up beautifully. I can hear your strength in this poem and I appreciate knowing about your pain, loss, survival and most of all your endurin spirit. Beautiful.

    Reply

  15. I.
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 19:41:21

    I love this poem. Fantastic.

    “lessons of hard gained, deep romantic yet hard lost love.
    locked away in loss and pain but reawakened to life”

    This was my favorite part.

    Reply

  16. Ninot Aziz
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 20:14:18

    Finding the way home is very difficult for poets – with our head in the clouds so often. Glad you found yours, Kanzensakura

    Reply

  17. Kathy Reed
    Jul 14, 2015 @ 20:55:07

    Lovely description of yourself, the good and the bad, the brave nature you demonstrate now that you have writing to be your guide…Phoenix Rising indeed!

    Reply

  18. Desmond, Anthony (@iamEPanthony)
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 00:24:00

    This is very empowering and inspirational… You gave us so much – from the ups to downs, falling and rising from lost love to new love. Bravo!

    Reply

  19. katiemiafrederick
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 02:00:25

    Ah.. yes.. darkest
    ASHES FIRE
    Phoenix.. EMBERS
    life RISING
    ONCE
    AGAIN..:)

    Reply

  20. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 14:26:33

    I agree, this sounds like your life story in 12 lines but you continue to surprise, revolve and hold many, many mysteries. You’re amazing, Kanzen. ❤ ❤

    Reply

  21. Linda Kruschke
    Jul 15, 2015 @ 16:09:50

    Very nice. Some of who you are I’d picked up from your poetry in general, but this is a great summary and included some interesting details that say so much about where you’ve been and where you are going. Thanks for sharing. Peace, Linda

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 15, 2015 @ 18:40:59

      Thank you Linda. I hope we all continue to share and open up with each other. I have enjoyed and appreciated this journey with everyone.

      Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab®|PRO

      Reply

  22. C.C.
    Jul 16, 2015 @ 19:17:37

    This is autobiographical, powerfully so, even in so few lines. And, I love the introduction to the Seven Virtues of Bushido.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

