d’Verse Poetics: Change #2 tanka

Another tanka for d’Verse Poetics on the prompt of Change.

 

pink cherry blossoms
from tiny buds now green leaves
form a canopy –
green leaves fluttering soon to
be withered leaves on my lawn.

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grace
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 18:50:07

    Not yet….not yet ready for autumn, smiles ~ I love how it forms a canopy ~

    Reply

  2. Audrey Howitt
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 18:55:25

    Oh I wish we were ready for autumn–but not yet–change is only in thee offing

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 20:46:12

    Sad how everything withers, even cherry blossoms.

    Reply

  4. Sanaa Rizvi
    Sep 15, 2015 @ 22:59:20

    Gorgeous tanka 🙂

    Reply

  5. el34ax7
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 00:27:30

    The next time you sneak into the castle by my house you must tell me you’re coming!

    After a few hanami seasons here, I feel like I can say this is 100% accurate of the “after-hanami” scene. Oklahoma didn’t have any sakura to speak of, but this hits at my imagined nostalgia of the afterglow of hanami.

    For this, I didn’t have to open a window to experience the coming of autumn. Well, well done.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 16, 2015 @ 11:38:55

      Thank you. Are the green trees after the blossoms fall called hazasakura? Can’t quite remember. But the sakura and plums both on our land here are starting a slow teasing striptease – gold leaf here, gold leave there. The dance of the zillion leaves.

      Reply

      • el34ax7
        Sep 16, 2015 @ 19:07:06

        Honestly, I don’t know! I’ll have to ask some of my students today.

        As for that striptease, those naughty little trees seem to be eager enough. I get the feeling they’ll just let it all hang out very soon. Scarlet is the color I see most here. 😀

        Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Sep 16, 2015 @ 12:07:18

      I’m’ just that tiny little priest cricket in the corner of the palace watching all and being basically invisible.

      Reply

  6. Kathy Reed
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 00:29:56

    I’m still clinging to summer, too…fending off the inevitable. But fall is lovely, too. Love the canopy.

    Reply

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 00:39:43

    Still the leaves a clinging… A little while more.

    Reply

  8. Bodhirose
    Sep 16, 2015 @ 16:14:45

    Nature’s change is always an impressive show. Well, except maybe for here…fall is usually very slow to show up.

    Reply

  9. macjam47
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 20:33:50

    Change is coming. I can already see the leaves are changing color.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

