First Frost – Haibun

Today is Open Link Night at the d’Verse Poetics Pub. Gayle is acting as bartender. Open Link means any poem can be submitted. Stop by for a visit and read some of the poems linked. There is no prompt so there will be a variety of offerings! On a cool autumn night, get warmed up by reading inspired poets’ work or, submit one of your own.  http://dversepoets.com/2015/10/15/dverse-poets-open-link-night-158/

copyright Kanzensakura aka Toni Spencer

copyright Kanzensakura aka Toni Spencer

First Frost
Thinking of you, always of you. Last night a bright ring around a full moon. Hazy clouds conceal stars but allow the moon to shine forth. Silent deer pass through my yard casting only a slight glance my way. They are well acquainted with this night roaming human and glide past me as the haughty buck leads his harem to the almost stripped garden next door. I close my eyes for just a moment and when I open them again, I find frost has formed, silent as diamond dust, upon the grass and fallen leaves and branches. Dawn is near.

I pick up a faded oak leaf and gently blow upon it. The frost disappears, gone in a slight gust of warm breath. Another exhale to see my breath steam in the cold air. Proof – I am still alive. Unbidden, as I look upon the silent world, the words – “*the only living boy in New York…” steals from my lips. No one hears me except the frost.

autumn dawn – first frost
outlines brittle brown leaves – lone
crow hears my footsteps

*Only Living Boy in New York – Paul Simon – Bridge Over Troubled Water album

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bodhirose
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 15:28:31

    I like how the frost has formed seemingly in the few moments as you linger to pick up that leaf. There’s almost a sad feel that I get from the opening line. Beautiful haiku!

    Reply

  2. Glenn Buttkus
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 15:30:12

    I love me a Haibun, & this one is superb. Narrator as night stroller is a bit haunting; there are critters of the night to beware methinks. The Paul Simon line works well too. I sometimes drop in a line/lyric from Leonard Cohen or Joni Mitchell. I like your line /I find the frost has formed, silent as diamond dust/.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2015 @ 21:17:58

      Cohen is so good. I don’t worry about the creatures of the night. I’ve been an insomniac stroller for the better part of my 63 years. Around here the fiercest we get is a pissed off raccoon. Copperhead mating season is over so that fear is gone. With moon overhead and my webley in its holster, I walk in peace and know where all the owls nest and the squirrels sleep…I started this night time strolling as a 10 year old. Knock on wood….never a mishap.

      Reply

  3. Sanaa Rizvi
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 15:44:22

    Oh! this is soo dreamy 😀 your poems are always so full of life!

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 15:45:52

    I can so easily identify with this. It’s like waking up early to meet the day in my garden.. Deer come visiting – the oak leaf, and the crow. This is a moment to feel alive (and part with dreams)

    Reply

  5. Mama Zen
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 15:52:47

    Just gorgeous.

    Reply

  6. Pleasant Street
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 16:05:56

    I love nights like that. And hearing Paul Simon in the distance while reading your words made it even better. Lovely

    Reply

  7. Suzanne
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 17:09:30

    Such a beautiful account of night. The deer in the garden gives this haibun a magical, almost other worldly quality.

    Reply

  8. Grace
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 17:20:49

    I dread the first frost but its coming as the nights become colder ~ Love the imagery of frost as a diamond dust ~ Thanks for the lovely haibun Toni ~

    Reply

  9. Grace Black
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 20:24:33

    Another gorgeous haibun!

    Reply

  10. Mary
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 20:43:49

    Ah, sometimes ONLY the crow pays attention to how we walk the path! Sometimes only the crow takes note of the details of our lives! I enjoyed your haibun, Toni! Really great writing.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2015 @ 21:06:39

      Thank you. I was torn between one crow and lone crow – such a difference! I’ll think on it some more. Only the crow and sometimes the nosy little cat from next door!

      Reply

  11. thotpurge
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 20:58:29

    Frost on brittle brown leaves… Lovely and perfect closure with the crow reference.

    Reply

  12. Victoria C. Slotto
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 22:18:54

    So many delicious images in this wonderful haibun. And the sensory details abound, allowing me to share the experience.

    Reply

  13. el34ax7
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 22:19:52

    I am jealous of the love you show in these words. Always so beautiful; always so passionate. What an affair it must have been.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 15, 2015 @ 22:24:55

      A Samurai and an onnabugeisha transported through time. He playing piano, me playing the violin, him with his Katana, shorty me with my wakizashi….doing the rhumba to One on One…yes dear friend, it was an incredible 13 years. And he remains unmarried to this day.

      Reply

  14. D.C. Lutz
    Oct 15, 2015 @ 22:57:29

    I very much enjoyed this. It really made me miss the good ol days when I could do a little night strollin myself. Now, I have to get up too early to be up that late. Thanks for sharing

    Reply

  15. Madeleine Begun Kane
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 01:06:09

    Lovely inded!

    Reply

  16. Prajakta
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 01:17:54

    I could feel the crunch of the leaf here. Fall is making itself known right?

    Reply

  17. MarinaSofia
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 03:01:05

    Ah, you get to write about winter and frost once more (not that summer ever stopped you!). There is a crunch and fragility to this – one breath and it is gone.

    Reply

  18. kaykuala h
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 05:43:23

    One can be alone but still within hearing distance. The crow is so alert to be so alerted with small movements!

    Hank

    Reply

  19. petrujviljoen
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 11:36:51

    Inspires me to do a haibun. Well done.

    Reply

  20. Hannah Gosselin
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 14:03:48

    Diamond dust, deer and the listening crow…love your details. 🙂

    Reply

  21. Candy
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 18:19:44

    so vividly descriptive.

    Reply

  22. mishunderstood
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 22:34:22

    The frost is like fairy dust. I get a dreamy reflective feeling from the second part of the prose…with a lovely haiku to finish. 🙂

    Reply

  23. lupitatucker
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 15:21:51

    Your haibun was so clearly described, I feel like I experienced this with you, somehow, through your words. Clear and sharp as frost. The first line grabbed me, the last line didn’t let me go.

    Reply

  24. Bryan Ens
    Oct 19, 2015 @ 10:11:13

    “Silent as diamond dust” – what a perfect expression of that first frost. Your haibun was vivid in description, and beautiful throughout!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

