Black Dragon and Sparrow

free public domain wallpaper

free public domain wallpaper

黒竜 と スズメ (Kuro ryū to Suzume)
Black dragon and sparrow

“Come, let me show you” – Indeed the spring moon was full and lit the yard Like a klieg. Although in jeans and tee shirt, he still looked lethal and royal and somehow,the katana and wakazashi tucked into the makeshift obi around his waist did not look ridiculous. Hands arm and dry, he took my hand and pulled me outside into his yard – “such tiny hands you have” and he smiled his singularly sweet smile down at me. In the gravel place, between the pond for his *nishikigoi and the **karesansui, he pulled me. Always when he touched me, heat and electricity flowed from my heels to the top of my head, always drawing me closer to him. The song of steel as he pulled the katana clear – the sound to my ears like the sound the scales of a dragon would make as it moved across the earth.

Standing behind me his arms enclosed me and he placed the sword in my hands – like this and wrapped my hands around the hilt and now, hold it like this as he moved my arms into position and corrected my stance and how I held the sword. Move with me…awkward at first and then like magic it seemed, I was moving with him. Beneath that huge moon the black dragon and the sparrow began their dance. The sword at times reflecting back the light. And then we were still, weighted in that place it seemed by the moon – drawing us together as it drew the tides. The moon drawing from their branches the petals of the cherry blossoms to swirl and then rest in the dark place under the tree. The moon drawing from the dark water of the pond a nishikigoi as it broke the surface of the water, breaking free to leap and fall back with a loud splash. The moon pulling shadows close to the rocks in the dry garden and giving each piece of gravel its own tiny shadow.

The moon drawing us together, warmed by each other, our breaths frosted in the cold of an early spring night. We could not move from that place. The earth held us captive as the moonlight pinned us in place. Who knew that gravity was heat and electricity? Who knew that gravity was choosing not to move, to stay suspended in one place?

shallow spring night warmed
only by the first full moon –
tides and lovers rise

*nishikigoi – brocaded carp, koi
**karesansui – dry garden, zen garden like Ryoanji

 

This is for Poets United Midweek Motif by Susan.  The theme is Gravity. http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2015/10/poets-united-midweek-motif-gravity.html

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 17:15:01

    Wow. Who knew, indeed! I feel the passion rise, the formal dance and then stillness within the moon’s attraction all around and the bodies’ and spirits’ attraction to each other. Awe, and then some. Powerful writing.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 21, 2015 @ 17:30:43

      Thank you very much. I have started doing the Pantry on Sundays but this theme just called out to me. I’ve had this haibun in my head for a couple of weeks and the theme just pulled it all the way out. Thank you for such an excellent prompt.

      Reply

  2. Mary
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 18:05:43

    Ah, this is beautiful, Toni. So very romantic. I could feel the electricity! Smiles. Love these lines:

    “Who knew that gravity was heat and electricity? Who knew that gravity was choosing not to move, to stay suspended in one place?”

    Great to see you here for Midweek Motif!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 21, 2015 @ 18:13:57

      Thank you Mary. I’ve been walking around with this one in my head and the theme today pulled right out…kismet I guess. This was fun to do and we have next week’s motif now! I’ll see how the Muse moves me.

      Reply

  3. Audrey Howitt
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 18:15:10

    Heat and electricity–Indeed–beautifully written!

    Reply

  4. el34ax7
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 19:00:54

    I love that refrain, “The moon drawing/pulling,” so much. I find that it allows me to focus on the movement and “pull” of the scene between these two. It’s like staring into the eyes of a lover, longing to touch yet too captivated to move.

    Beautiful.

    Reply

  5. Sanaa Rizvi
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 19:56:26

    Ah.. tides and lovers rise 😀 such a passionate write.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  6. thotpurge
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 21:08:25

    Very evocative haibun… so nicely done.

    Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 21:26:50

    What a powerful, yet intimate picture you paint. Love this. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  8. kaykuala h
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 21:40:03

    warmed only by the first full moon –
    tides and lovers rise

    How one is led by the hand to do its bidding. Yes, gravity is a powerful force yet unseen. Very refreshing when prose is shared Toni, rather than just verses!

    Hank

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 21, 2015 @ 22:24:46

      Thank you Hank. I’ve gotten back into writing haibun and can’t seem to stop! I’m doing a talk on Japanese poetic forms for Dverse 11/16. Hope I don’t make an idiot of myself.

      Reply

  9. Sherry Marr
    Oct 21, 2015 @ 21:54:36

    I especially love your closing haiku. Very lovely.

    Reply

  10. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 00:54:26

    How deliciously sensual. I was electrified too! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Jae Rose
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 08:44:06

    I suppose unless we stop…learn and consider we never truly know what gravity may mean – to us in particular…a wonderful mix of tale and poetry

    Reply

  12. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 10:19:23

    Oh what a wonderful experience, the sword and the dance… beautiful with the moon and that connectedness…

    Reply

  13. glmeisner
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 16:50:25

    Great haiku to end with.

    Reply

  14. moondustwriter
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 13:28:48

    you really have a mastery of the haibun. Line the artist who effortlessly creates a picture – each of your words do that. Thank you for another beauty

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

