MTB – Humor

Today, Victoria has given us the wonderful prompt of writing something humorous.  To be honest, I’ve not been in a humorous frame for a couple of months.  I hope one of these fit the bill.   http://dversepoets.com/2015/10/22/seriously-thats-funny-dverse-meeting-the-bar/

free public domain image

free public domain image

I.  (senryu)
sparrows skate on ice
gobbling seeds – cat sneaks, spies, stalks –
leaps, slips – birds snicker.

II. (Bussokusekika poetic form)
high up in my tree
playing the violin and
watching fall at play –
leaves swirl birds chirp creek gurgles –
I saw notes trying my best
squirrel yells at me – silence!

 

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pleasant Street
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 17:56:54

    This made me smile:) I do like chattering with the squirrels, though I wish they would leave some of the food for the birds!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 18:08:24

    When a squirrel yells at you, you definitely have to listen! Smiles.

    Reply

  3. Grace
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 18:25:25

    Okay, silence to the squirrels ~ And pity that cat slipping ~ And such an interesting poetic form (2nd one) ~ Enjoyed this one Toni ~

    Reply

  4. Victoria C. Slotto
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 18:28:17

    I had a big smile on my face even before I began to write. Cats (and dogs) do inspire. You did great…even taking those forms in a whole new direction! And without desecrating them!!

    Reply

  5. Suzanne
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 19:10:25

    I really enjoyed these. Particularly the second one.

    Reply

  6. Bodhirose
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 20:25:20

    Poor kitty! I think squirrels may be a bit self-centered…

    Reply

  7. Sanaa Rizvi
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 20:33:27

    This made me grin 😀 such a glorious write 😀

    Reply

  8. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 22, 2015 @ 21:05:18

    I laughed out loud. Oh my, something to tickle my funny bone. Nice ones. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  9. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 00:25:32

    Ha, squirrels telling you to shut up, that’s a brilliant thing… Funny is not that hard really.

    Reply

  10. kaykuala h
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 16:19:51

    Playfully with squirrels! If only they knew how much we appreciate them, they might just whisper not shout! Thoughtful take Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  11. Kathy Reed
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 17:00:04

    I’ve seen animals slip on ice but never a sparrow…I wonder if they do …nice Halloween play with this prompt.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Oct 23, 2015 @ 17:03:09

      I’ve not seen small birds but I’ve see geese and larger birds “skate” sometimes. My cat hates ice. He’ll go after the birds and sometimes slip or spin his wheels, so to speak!

      Reply

  12. georgeplace2013
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 17:02:59

    I like both but I do enjoy that first one because cats try to act so cool when they get embarrassed. “I meant to do that.”

    Reply

  13. macjam47
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 23:00:55

    Had nor heard of the Bussokusekika poetic form, Very nice.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

