and fitful snow and me walking…

free public domain image

free public domain image

 

And on this dark night of tattered clouds
And fitful snow and me walking –
Walking trying to piece out this crazy quilt
Of emotions confessions beseechings anger
And all you can do is repeat the same words –
All I can do is to not hear them
Over and over and over again again again
Until I have to run outside
And walk in this sporadic snow under the shrouded moon
My footsteps looking like those of a drunken gypsy
In the shallow snow.
Muttering whywhywhy – the litany of an idiot
Or a fool finding truth for the first time
And being wounded straight through the heart
I’m sure those beings above the clouds
Laugh at those like me as they pull the clouds
Tighter about the moon
Encouraging darkness.
And on this dark night of tattered clouds
And me walking
The fitful snow filling my footsteps
And I cease to exist.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grace
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 18:13:22

    I can hear your terrible sadness and heartbreak Toni ~ So sorry to hear the news ~

    Reply

  2. lynn__
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 22:31:27

    I don’t know how personal this might be but I sense the pain of tattered clouds and feel the sadness…peace to you, Toni.

    Reply

  3. macjam47
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 23:04:09

    A very emotional and sad piece. Sending you hugs.

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 08:28:53

    So sad.. and footsteps filling with snow is a wonderful metaphor that works so well here.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

