Pining For Home: kokyo o shitau

At dVerse  today (Tuesday) we have a guest blogger who is inspiring us to write about travel and gave several different words, such as resfeber that means “travel fever”.  I am going with a different take on travel with the both the German word heimweh – homesickness and the Japanese kokyo o shitau – similar meaning: pine for home.  Before I married, I was a prolific world and North American traveler.  Years later, those travels have ended here, at home.  Mr. Linky and Pub opens at 3:00 EST.  Come read the poems about other lands, cities, excitement, homecoming.  http://dversepoets.com/2015/11/03/poetics-tangled-in-travelers-heart/

故郷を慕う kokyō o shitau
“Leaving home in a sense involves a kind of second birth in which we give birth to ourselves.”
—Robert Neelly Bellah, sociologist

Close the door – always
Another hill to climb or road
That leads to a new
Sunrise – a city to roam –
New food new smells new bodies –
The road always leads back home

A backward glance at
A house that looks like home used
To look – fried chicken
Smell in the air – crows calling –
A small girl in a plaid dress –
The road always leads back home.

NOLA, London, Rome
Beach at Malibu, Venice
Philly, New York – pearls
From Japan soap from Harrods
turquoise from Albuquerque
The road always leads back home.

Go east or go west
Home is best – dew on roses
In the backyard – a
Creek close by where sylvan friends
play – birds at the feeders, cat
On the porch – back home at last.

The road always leads back home
where we find ourselves waiting.

'Houses near Orleans', oil painting by Jean-Baptiste-Camille

‘Houses near Orleans’, oil painting by Jean-Baptiste-Camille

.

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 01:16:39

    Wonderful. I found myself giving a deep sigh of satisfaction when I got to the end of your poem. The quote you have used is terrific.
    This challenge looks like one I will definitely have to do. Already I’m thinking of my response.

    Reply

  2. Mama Zen
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 10:00:26

    Beautifully done!

    Reply

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 16:29:45

    Oh I love the sense in this… somehow I get Bilbo’s walking song in my head… there might be dragon’s but at the end of the road is still your home.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 03, 2015 @ 16:34:50

      Yes it is. I didn’t think of Bilbo’s song but now that I think on it….I tried to do Sound Cloud and have the reading along with this. Klutzomania strikes again!

      Reply

  4. Sanaa Rizvi
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 17:10:14

    Love your take on the prompt.. often we find ourselves longing to be home.. even though the journey which we are on fills our heart with wonder 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  5. Grace
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 17:27:25

    What a lovely quote and painting Toni ~ And I do agree on that road leading us back home to all the familiar smells & scenes ~ Travelling away makes us appreciate it more I believe ~

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 03, 2015 @ 17:36:54

      It truly does. I used to be such a gadabout and traveler. When travelling for work, I would only be home for the weekend for a few months at the time. My roommate at the time loved it because she basically had the house to herself. I lived out of one suitcase and was perfectly happy. Now, you have to put dynamite under me to get me away from home. Except in January when I go to the beach. You know I had to put snow in there somewhere!

      Reply

  6. Mary
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 20:27:35

    I always think that it is wonderful to travel & it is wonderful to come back home! I think there is truth in the song “There’s No Place Like Home.”

    Reply

  7. Sherry Marr
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 20:40:19

    You have captured the human journey – we spend the first half of our lives running away from, and the second half of our lives returning to – ourselves. Smiles.

    Reply

  8. Pleasant Street
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 21:09:56

    Oh this has such a lovely feel and cadence, like a song

    Reply

  9. thotpurge
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 21:27:21

    Where we find ourselves waiting… great ending!

    Reply

  10. Bodhirose
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 23:18:05

    I love this, Toni. It seems to mirror your own travel-filled life before you became more settled…at home. And it’s so true, no matter how good a time you have ‘out there’, coming home feels so dang good!

    Reply

  11. C.C.
    Nov 03, 2015 @ 23:30:48

    I love your unique take on this prompt and your inclusion of German and Japanese words…such a rich addition of vocabulary. Thank you for that!

    Reply

  12. navasolanature
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 06:54:30

    Suggests such a nostalgia for home and so beautifully written.

    Reply

  13. kaykuala h
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 12:51:21

    The road always leads back home
    where we find ourselves waiting.

    We are our own ‘sender’ on the way out and a welcoming party on the way back. We know our movements, where to go and what to see. Rightly said, Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  14. lynn__
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 16:41:30

    Wonderful thoughts…especially love the last two lines and the painting you chose! I also thought of Bilbo coming home to the Shire 🙂

    Reply

  15. navasolanature
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 08:26:17

    I love the poem and the way it wends us back home. But we must leave in order to find ourselves and our home!

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

