Light Through Leaves – komorebi

For Poets United Midweek theme – tranquility. Komorebi is the Japanese word for one of their specific aesthetics – it means: light filtering through tree leaves – the quality of the light as opposed through direct sunlight, light through clouds, etc. The word is used to denote that particular quality of light and the emotions of tranquility, serenity. Come visit at Poets United to read more poems based on the lovely prompt of tranquility – http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2015/11/poets-united-midweek-motif-tranquility.html  The Japanese poetic form is Bussokusekika  Footprint of Buddha

komorebi 木漏れ日
in this cathedral
of trees preparing for sleep –
last dreams of summer –
light filters through the leaves –
gentle golden lullaby
spring will soon return – now sleep.

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 15:40:12

    What a beautiful thought. Though it is autumn and so much of nature is going to sleep, we can rest in the knowledge that spring will return again as it always does after the winter’s sleep.

    Reply

  2. Sherry Marr
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 16:00:44

    This is very lovely – perfectly tranquil! Love the description of the Japanese word for light filtering through trees – always such a lovely sight.

    Reply

  3. Susan
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 16:34:21

    Wow. Thank you for putting this all together–the photo and the description and the poem. I feel the filtering Light, the readiness of the trees in the cathedral preparing to sleep. Now. Sigh.

    Reply

  4. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 17:00:28

    This is a perfect lullaby… Wonderful with such light.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 04, 2015 @ 17:53:44

      that light is indeed soothing – golden in autumn, green in spring and summer, pale grey in winter – although no leaves, the light still has to make its way through branches and evergreens and hollies.

      Reply

  5. humbird
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 19:32:42

    Love the use of ‘cathedral’ for this tranquil poetry piece.

    Reply

  6. Suzanne
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 19:36:17

    I can’t decide which I like most here – your photo, your poem or the fact that the Japanese have a special word for light filtering through leaves. All in all a lovely and inspiring post.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 04, 2015 @ 20:24:01

      They can all be the one you like best! And here is a wow for you – the Japanese have 50+ unique words for rain…kisame – rain that drips from tree branches. Isn’t that cool?

      Reply

      • Suzanne
        Nov 04, 2015 @ 20:42:42

        It’s astounding. I love the word kisame. 🙂

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Nov 04, 2015 @ 20:48:42

          I think I did a haiku or tanka a couple of months ago. Lordy they sometimes blur together. It looks like kiss-a-me but it is kees-ah-may. But I like kiss-a-me….I love their words that are about cultural aesthetics.

          Reply

          • Suzanne
            Nov 04, 2015 @ 21:03:25

            I printed out a lot of my haibun and haiga recently. The blur was threatening to implode and I wanted to know what I had achieved. It was a really good thing to do as it gave me a jumping off place for new work. Thanks for the prounciation guide. I was completely wrong – kes am ay was my guess 🙂

            Reply

            • kanzensakura
              Nov 04, 2015 @ 21:07:46

              You were totally close! Printing is a great idea. I have computer files I go to. I organized them into seasons and categories…being an insomniac helps. But printing would be easy to into notebook and thumb through.

              Reply

              • Suzanne
                Nov 04, 2015 @ 23:56:05

                Yep. It was putting them in a notebook that worked for me. I even made an index. Now I feel I have more control over my work somehow.

                Reply

          • Suzanne
            Nov 04, 2015 @ 21:04:39

            Sorry sent that too soon. Looks like my guess was close after all.

            Reply

  7. oldegg
    Nov 04, 2015 @ 19:53:15

    This is stunningly beautiful much like a parent setting their children at night.

    Reply

  8. Victoria
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 00:00:23

    I find this image quite beautiful, both the words and the photograph. I like thinking of spring coming soon as winter begins. “Now sleep.” is so tender, as if spoken to a baby. .

    Reply

  9. Jae Rose
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 08:29:55

    Sleeping safe under a cathedral spire of trees – I can’t think of anything better…tomorrow will come and all will be well – if we wish it so..

    Reply

  10. Sanaa Rizvi
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 13:25:36

    Love this 😀 such a gorgeous poem

    Reply

  11. Grace
    Nov 05, 2015 @ 21:19:52

    I want to sleep now, smiles ~ Really admire the form specially the cathedral of trees preparing to sleep ~

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Nov 05, 2015 @ 21:43:41

      This is one of the forms I will talk about as a “paternal” twin to tanka – like haiku and senryu are “paternal” twins. I love my trees. Today was so still, I could hear an acorn drop.

      Reply

  12. macjam47
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 22:41:37

    Loved this. So beautiful.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

