Sunday Morning 10:00 a.m.

orange wreath

Sunday Morning 10:00 a.m. (pray for peace)

Fir trees on display – Christmas is coming!
Mother with two little ones
Walking in wonder in this temporary forest
Smell of fir in the cold air
Green rich incense –
The little ones become impatient
And can’t comprehend the calm
The mother is enjoying walking
Among trees and touching them
All with love.
She takes a small orange out from her pack
And peels and shares among the two
Whiney kids – smiles ensue as
They bite into the treat – they eat
As she walks and finally decides on the one
That best makes her soul smile.
Smell of orange and fir –
I breathe in the smells and the cool
Breeze makes me glad I walked over
To look at the trees.
I look at the little sticky smiley faces,
The peaceful look on the face of the mother,
I deeply inhale the fir and the orange
And pray for the breeze to circle the earth –
To replace sadness with smiles,
To silence the sound of guns with
The sound of laughter,
To replace the smells of blood and death
With the innocent smells of oranges
And fir trees.
Please I pray to the breeze, please.
Let there be peace on earth.

 

I am posting this for Poetry Pantry at Poets United. Please come visit and read all the wonderful poems by talented people from all over the world.  http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2015/11/poetry-pantry-279_22.html

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 18:17:11

    Toni, what a heartfelt plea you have written here. We do need to replace sadness with smiles….and oh that guns worldwide would be forever silenced. Yes, Christmas is coming, and we need to keep its message in our hearts.

    Reply

  2. Donna@Living From Happiness
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 19:11:02

    A beautiful plea we all need to make so we can have peace….oh I do hope finally! A lovely poem for the coming holiday season.

    Reply

  3. Sherry Marr
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 19:22:45

    Yes, I echo this plea….I have been thinking about how we can possibly go on with our excessive holiday festivities while refugees are freezing in tents in refugee camps. Thanks for thinking of them, too.

    Reply

  4. Loredana Donovan
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 20:36:47

    Such beautiful Christmas spirit in your poem. I love the orange wreath, the scent must be wonderful. Yes, let’s pray for peace on earth.

    Reply

  5. Bryan Ens
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 23:30:14

    Oh if only the scent of fir and orange would bring us peace.

    Reply

  6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 00:51:04

    The focus of scent is so strong.. I can just hope it would work, how can you ever kill in the scent, please let the wind spread sense.

    Reply

  7. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 01:31:11

    I add my prayer to yours.

    Reply

  8. Jae Rose
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 08:58:53

    The true spirit of Christmas is perhaps living those dear to us all year round – i love the imagery..sights, sounds and smells..most of all the gestures of love – which is always the most fulfilling

    Reply

  9. Myrna Rosa
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 10:48:27

    Oh, I love the experience you witnessed, and your prayer. I pray it too.

    Reply

  10. Sanaa Rizvi
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 11:10:57

    Please I pray to the breeze, please.
    Let there be peace on earth.

    Love the prayer of peace on earth in this exquisite poem.
    Beautifully penned.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  11. insidetheclock
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 13:02:06

    This was lovely. Adored the focus on scent! I could feel my nose tingling.

    Reply

  12. Grace
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 17:47:43

    I specially love this part Toni:

    The sound of laughter,
    To replace the smells of blood and death
    With the innocent smells of oranges
    And fir trees.

    Christmas is coming indeed with your lovely story ~ Thanks Toni ~

    Reply

  13. Suzanne
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 18:00:54

    The way you have embedded your prayer for peace within the simplicity of a mother sharing food with her children gives your words real potency. May our collective prayers for peace be heard

    Reply

  14. Susan
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 18:48:33

    How I love using the perfumes of fir and orange to travel on and launch a prayer from! I also smile in the “temporary forest.” I know the trees are cut, but it still makes me happy to smell them. I rarely take one home, but will take a spray or wreath for the doorway.

    Reply

  15. lynn__
    Nov 23, 2015 @ 19:10:07

    Love this refreshing story and scents, Toni! The Christ child, whose birth we celebrate, came to bring us peace.

    Reply

  16. MarinaSofia
    Nov 24, 2015 @ 00:39:16

    Perfect example of what I meant about taking a concrete incident or image and using that to symbolise peace. Far too few moments like that out there – yes, maybe a mother of toddlers is what’s needed at some of these peace talks!

    Reply

  17. macjam47
    Nov 24, 2015 @ 08:31:34

    Such a beautiful story of the mother and her children and ending with a plea for peace on earth. In this troubled time across the world, I am praying for peace.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

