My Trees

Today at Poets United, the Midway Motif is “vitality, energy”.  Most people think of physical vitality, moving, singing, exercising…I think more of spiritual vitality and energy and renewing it when it flags – and sharing it.  Come and read the different takes on this prompt http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2015/12/poets-united-midweek-motif-energy.html

free Getty image

free Getty image

Wet sepia day
Cold drizzle soaks my world –
Across the way
The trees huddle close
Branches sag – dispirited.
Out my window I see them.
On goes my hoodie and I head outdoors
And stand at the edge of the woods
Breathing in the smell of damp leaves
Cedar and pine.
I go deeper to the center to the old oak
That is my long time friend.
I touch low hanging branches as I pass.
And there is my tree.
No hesitation I wrap my arms around its trunk
And lean close, the bark cold and wet
Against my cheek.
I close my eyes and breathe deeply, slowly.
A soft wordless croon from my chest
And I hug tighter.
I can feel peace now and a flicker of warmth.
I return back to edge of the trees
And turn back.
It’s better now, I whisper.  Rest.
My trees give to me
And I give it back.
We’re all better now.

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Dec 02, 2015 @ 23:30:51

    Love your “soft wordless croon” and the hug that gives as well as takes. The personification really works here.

    Reply

  2. Sumana Roy
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 01:25:19

    it’s wonderful to have a tree as one’s long time friend…love the meditative voice here…..

    Reply

  3. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 02:24:03

    Yes, trees are wonderful like that! (Beautiful first line, btw.)

    Reply

  4. MarinaSofia
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 02:29:24

    There you are – and there are people who think tree-huggers is a dirty word! It does give you such vitality and calm, doesn’t it? I like the very effective way you set the scene with just the first two lines – must be all that haiku training!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 03, 2015 @ 12:36:26

      Must be. It started as a linked tanka but just didn’t want to go that way.

      Reply

      • MarinaSofia
        Dec 03, 2015 @ 14:04:04

        Don’t you just love it when poems have a mind of their own? Same thing happened to mine.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Dec 03, 2015 @ 14:37:14

          It is wonderful when the poem says to you, I know you have something else in mind but this is my life and I am writing it! I have learned to just let it have its way and am always surprised. I meant to comment on your other post the other day and became distracted. I played the Book Bingo game and had too much fun. My husband had fun with it too.

          Reply

  5. Sanaa Rizvi (@rizvi_sanaa)
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 03:10:55

    Such a beautiful thought… love this 🙂

    Reply

  6. petrujviljoen
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 04:46:08

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  7. Laura Bloomsbury
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 06:39:10

    love the contrast with the dispirited scene and sagging branches to the energy giving tree (do you ever practice zhan-zhuang – standing meditation with trees?)

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 08:02:01

    Oh yes, definitely the tree gives back what we give to them and more! Love the last line which sums it all up!

    Reply

  9. writersdream9
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 08:37:27

    I’ve been a tree hugger for a long time and this poem really touched my heart!

    Reply

  10. Jae Rose
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 08:49:31

    It is good to have our tree – the one that is constant, comforting and ver present in our heart, mind and soul

    Reply

  11. Sherry Blue Sky
    Dec 03, 2015 @ 11:16:19

    Oh how I love this, and love how we both went to the trees for replenishment,. Especially love that you hugged the tree and gave back. Beautifully done, Toni.

    Reply

  12. totomai
    Dec 04, 2015 @ 03:41:27

    What a spiritual journey you have here. A much needed hug for you and the trees for renewal.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

