Beneath the Faithful Stars

Tuesday of this coming week, I will be Pubtender for the dVerse Poets Pub Poetics. My prompt will be Stars. I will be posting this poem for that prompt as well as for Poets United Poetry Pantry on Sunday Poetry Pantry #282

Ursid meteor showers public domain photo

Ursid meteor showers public domain photo

Beneath the Faithful Stars
During the deep night
and only the distant hoot of an owl
breaks the silence.
I lean on a tree and gaze up
at the stars.
Windows around me dark
But above me the windows
of heaven shine.

I only ask of  the stars that they continue
to shine just as they have for millennia.
In this silent night
their heat cooled by unfathomable distance
and their music just the faintest whisper
of glass chimes –
I wrap myself in my grandmother’s quilt
for warmth in the December night.
The faithless world changes from day to day
but the heartbreaking beauty of the stars
ever faithful shines.

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 02:27:26

    I really love the sense of such a night of stars.. So rarely I’ve been in such a night… But I would wish for it to last forever.. To lay on my back and search for constellations 😉

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 13, 2015 @ 08:22:33

      It is truly beautiful. I may do another for Poetics. Years ago when I was single, I would regularly go to one of our deserts to view meteor showers with friends. And lying in a pasture or our yard now is wonderful…watching the stars, seeing the occasional meteor and making a wish. The Ursids this time of year is not as spectacular as the Leonids or Perseids, but they are so special because of the time of year.

      Reply

  2. Bryan Ens
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 07:58:52

    While so much around us changes, it’s nice to have something permanent to hold on to.

    Reply

  3. Sanaa Rizvi
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 13:38:10

    The faithless world changes from day to day
    but the heartbreaking beauty of the stars
    ever faithful shines.

    Wonderful lines Toni 🙂

    Reply

  4. Sherry Blue Sky
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 13:58:10

    I can feel the comfort of your grandmother’s quilt, tying in to the everlasting presence of the stars – so beautifully expressed.

    Reply

  5. Donna@Living From Happiness
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 14:23:09

    Oh I am wrapping myself in your words and the heavenly stars…beautiful!

    ‘But above me the windows
    of heaven shine.’

    Reply

  6. Bernice
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 15:57:41

    Best wishes for Tuesday!!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 13, 2015 @ 16:34:29

      Thank you. I hope you and your husband are well and looking forward to s happy and blessed Christmas.

      Reply

      • Bernice
        Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51:59

        Thanks! I hope you and your husband have a wonderful Christmas and New Years. It is very mild in Buffalo – no snow – and more like fall/summer! But we will take every nice day after last winter. 🙂

        Reply

  7. Mary
    Dec 13, 2015 @ 16:17:24

    The idea of the stars having shined for millennia fills me with awe. The sky is so timeless & its beauty sometimes overpowering. So true that things in life change from day to day, but the stars just stay and shine and stay and shine. Nice tyo know they are a constant!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:33:34

      Years ago, a dear Christian friend gave me a lovely North Star pendant. He said, may your moral compass always point true. I found it a truly profound statement with an even deeper message to it. And it is true.

      Reply

  8. Sumana Roy
    Dec 14, 2015 @ 01:33:26

    this is a sweet song of the silent starry night…what a comfort that they will be always there for us and shine in the darkest of nights…

    Reply

  9. Jae Rose
    Dec 14, 2015 @ 08:25:13

    I truly hope all good things will always shine for us – be it stars or the love stitched in a grandmothers quilt…such a comforting poem

    Reply

  10. IsyLLiS
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22:31

    Lovely words, beautiful imagery.

    Reply

  11. Grace
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54:52

    And so they do ~ I specially love this part:

    but the heartbreaking beauty of the stars
    ever faithful shines.

    Thanks for the wonderful challenge Toni ~

    Reply

  12. Victoria C. Slotto
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 15:05:34

    There is so much comfort in this, Toni. For me, that owl’s hoot creates so much atmosphere right at the start of the poem.

    Reply

  13. MarinaSofia
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 15:50:07

    It’s an uplifting prompt, Toni, thank you so much for it. Although in a way the stars are anything but constant in the small details (they are forever changing, expanding, exploding, dying, and we only find out about that much, much later), there is something very solid and soothing and perennial about their presence. You’ve painted a lovely picture of star-gazing.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Dec 15, 2015 @ 15:51:53

      Yes, they are full of change! But the seasonal constellations, the North Star – they are always there. And to my bedazzled eyes at night, they are friends in the darkness, even if hidden by clouds.

      Reply

  14. The Literary Doc
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 16:36:09

    Their music is just the faintest whisper of glass chimes. Brilliant! I love these lines.

    Reply

  15. Sanaa Rizvi
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 16:56:02

    Once again a beautifully written piece Toni 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  16. ghostmmnc
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 19:39:10

    This is so amazing! I can see it all, and feel like I’m right there looking at the stars.

    Reply

  17. Linda Kruschke
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 20:12:54

    I like the comparison of the lightless windows around with the bright windows of heaven. Beautiful! Peace, Linda

    Reply

  18. Candy
    Dec 15, 2015 @ 22:06:28

    love the faint whisper of the stars’ music. this is so hopeful.

    Reply

  19. Bodhirose
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 00:16:20

    This sounds like one of your insomnia walk-abouts, Toni. I could feel the quietness in this…and perhaps a touch of melancholy.

    Reply

  20. Prajakta
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 01:49:17

    The tranquil calming experience has been captured so beautifully! Specially the hoot of the owl.

    Reply

  21. writersdream9
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:59:31

    You have communicated such peace and tranquility in this poem!

    Reply

  22. whimsygizmo
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48:42

    “and their music just the faintest whisper
    of glass chimes”
    — I can hear this. Gorgeous.

    Reply

  23. whimsygizmo
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48:58

    I LOVED this prompt, Toni. Thank you!

    Reply

  24. Kathy Reed
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 13:37:09

    I love the whisper of chimes and grandmothers quilt; you skillfully gave such beauty to the experience of stargazing…and yes, we dearly want them to last forever and ever.

    Reply

  25. Ava Hypatia
    Dec 16, 2015 @ 22:59:20

    Your poem is really lovely to me, “Windows around me dark But above me the windows of heaven shine”….I felt alone yet full with those words.

    Reply

  26. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Dec 17, 2015 @ 02:45:52

    You’ve captured well that feeling of awe that comes on a clear starlit night.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

