Reminder

Tuesday, Grace is in charge of Poetics for dVerse Poets Pub. She has given us the subject of a new poetry form: the eco poem. The eco poem stresses our relationship to nature and the earth without giving a political rant, a listing of ecological horrors – Come visit to find out more about this intriguing and timely form.   http://dversepoets.com/2016/01/26/poetics-ecopoetry/

 

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

In our climate controlled rooms,
Walking on synthetic carpets
And breathing canned air,
We forget the feel of grass under our feet.
We forget the fragrance of summer rain.
We forget the sexy flush of summer sun on naked skin.

Surrounding ourselves with a barrage of digital noise,
Embedding ourselves in celluloid images,
eating canned fruit,
We forget the sound of birds at first light,
We forget the vistas of sunrise and sunset,
We forget the joy of imbibing sun warmed blackberries fresh off the vine.

In our climate controlled rooms
We watch through coated glass the first flakes of snow falling
And return to whatever important thing is on our computer.
We are forced to remember when our car is covered
With pure white snow and the wheels spin helpless, floundering.
The cold snow stings our skin and the cold air stabs our lungs
And the cold smell of storm fills our being with primeval
desire to flee and fight for survival.
We remember first hand how small we are in the midst
Of winter storm and how fragile is our flesh.

And the winds blow the snow into a horizontal fist
That beats your body as you return to those climate controlled rooms
And are forced to admit just exactly who is the boss of you.

public domain file photo Winter Storm Jonas

public domain file photo Winter Storm Jonas

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 03:09:49

    I think we need to remember that we cannot disconnect ourselves… we have to at least sometimes let us be embraced by nature… it’s so much more than a pretty wallpaper…

    Reply

  2. Bryan Ens
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 07:44:12

    I spend way too much time indoors. I think that we lose part of ourselves when we don’t spend time embracing the beauty of nature.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 26, 2016 @ 08:19:36

      I totally agree. No matter the weather, I go outside and at least walk around our yard and house daily. It is important for us and our children. When we forget, we get reminded.

      Reply

  3. Mary
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 11:20:38

    Toni, your post is a good reminder — we need to get out IN nature, even the harsher nature of winter, rather than hiding away from it in our homes behind glass! I remember the joy of playing IN the snow as a child….but I have lost this as an adult, when snow is more an irritation than something to enjoy. In summer – I suppose – the same is true. If it is too hot or too humid or too rainy we spend too much time INdoors rather than enjoying what nature has to offer. And we watch sunrises and sunsets from behind glass…..and (sigh) cannot smell the grass!

    Reply

  4. Grace
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 13:17:27

    We are not the boss and master, nature is and she reminds us time and time again that she has the upper hand ~ How quickly we forget the smell and sounds of nature with all our tech gadgets , but she reminds us all the time ~ Thanks Toni ~

    Reply

  5. Sherry Marr
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:11:37

    The contrast of those synthetic rooms and the wildness of nature is captured very effectively in your poem, Toni. I loved reading it, imagining all the images………

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:31:38

      And of course, I was out and about in that storm! And when the skies finally cleared and the moon came from behind the clouds, I got down on my knees in spite of the snow and gave my most respectful bow to the beauty around me.

      Reply

  6. Sanaa Rizvi
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:12:16

    Ah yes.. we do forget the importance of nature around us and all that it has to offer. Beautifully penned 🙂

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  7. Glenn Buttkus
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:16:55

    Grace’s last comment voices the heart of my poem as well. Being disabled, still when the weather is fair, I grab my camera, & get outside into the beautiful fray. I like your topical line /and the winds blow the snow into a horizontal fist/.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:29:48

      It is hard to have a disability. I often take my husband outside on good days so he can bask in the sun and be close to his Mother. When I go and get into nature, I find all the kinks and anger and fear melting away. Sometimes he and I can walk together in the yard – it seems the tree creatures know and show up in force on those days. It helps to heal him.

      Reply

  8. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:17:22

    I’m grateful to have been a child when I was–most of my days running free outside in the LA foothills before they were overdeveloped, free of the digital world. I still thrill to the scent of eucalyptus that surrounded my childhood home.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 26, 2016 @ 15:27:29

      That is beautiful – the smell of eucalyptus. my grandmother, a true earth mother, managed to root several stems that came in a flower arrangement. Along with the smell of gardenias at night, was that other smell. It smells like home to me too.

      Reply

  9. Candy
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 17:41:24

    a powerful reminder to each of us

    Reply

  10. flower girl
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 18:11:07

    This is so good. So on point. Fantastic writing.

    Reply

  11. whimsygizmo
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 18:33:26

    I love the “we forget…we forget…we forget” lines, so much. That’s the essence of it, isn’t it? We forget.

    Reply

  12. Delaina J. Miller (@DelainaMiller)
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 19:36:31

    It may not be right but I love my climate controlled rooms. Great poem!

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 21:59:32

      In the summer when it is 103 with 300% humidity, I like my air con too! I just try not to forget the great outside. But I tell you, this was one cold brutal storm.

      Reply

  13. Myrna
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 20:01:17

    Yes, as much as humans want to tame nature, nature really commands. Lovely poem. I like the contrast of man-made comforts with nature’s purity. Enjoyed reading.

    Reply

  14. Suzanne
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 21:33:05

    A very salient comment in keeping with the northern hemisphere weather at present. Very intense poetry.

    Reply

  15. Bodhirose
    Jan 26, 2016 @ 23:35:58

    We are so not the boss! What a great reminder, especially for those who have minimal contact to the way of nature. I love your strong voice in this, Toni.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 21:56:12

      Thank you Gayle. I rarely have a strong voice but this time, it really did come out! It snowed from 10 Friday until 9 am Sunday. a monster of a storm.

      Reply

      • Bodhirose
        Jan 27, 2016 @ 23:13:44

        I find that when I feel passionate about something it shows up in my writing with a stronger voice. I love when that happens! 🙂 Wow, Toni, that’s a lot of snow for your area isn’t it? Are you stuck inside?

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Jan 27, 2016 @ 23:23:38

          Ha! I am rarely stuck. I go outside everyday. I often meditate while doing my sword forms. My husband jokes and calls me The Next to Last Mini Samurai. My neighbors and I have taken out our skies and travelled about the neighborhood. They are Swedish.

          Reply

          • Bodhirose
            Jan 27, 2016 @ 23:35:00

            Haha…sounds like hubby has a good sense of humor. I remember you mentioning your Swedish neighbors previously. I’ve never been on skis but it sounds like a good way to get around. I remember people doing that when we lived in Dorchester, MA after the snowstorms and blizzards.

            Reply

  16. sreejaharikrishnan
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 01:37:35

    So true…when something strikes we realize who is the Boss…but we forget soon, that’s the tragedy!

    Reply

  17. Kathy Reed
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 02:41:56

    Love the warmed blackberries fresh off the vine. I would hate to think of these wonderful things being taken away or being a think of the past. I like your perspective here, Toni.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 21:52:53

      Thank you. Or being able to walk on a beach and not feel the sand between your toes or smelling the ocean….we need to appreciate these wonders. I’m sure you do!

      Reply

  18. lillian
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 08:27:57

    I love all of this….so many wonderful “positioning” lines…..our climate controlled lives described and then immediately followed by the complementary lines of nature that we could be experiencing.
    I especially liked this line “And the winds blow the snow into a horizontal fist” — living in Boston and having grown up in the midwest, it sure does feel like that when you’re out in the midst of a blizzard! Well described.

    Reply

  19. Pleasant Street
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 10:32:13

    I like this part:

    Surrounding ourselves with a barrage of digital noise,
    Embedding ourselves in celluloid images,
    eating canned fruit,
    We forget the sound of birds at first light,
    We forget the vistas of sunrise and sunset,
    We forget the joy of imbibing sun warmed blackberries fresh off the vine.

    Reply

  20. LoobyLoo
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 11:25:56

    Yes, I think we all need reminding to connect with nature a bit more often. Well said.

    Reply

  21. Adriana Citlali Ramírez
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 12:54:12

    Yes, we forget sometimes. But sometimes we also simply miss the feeling of nature. Your poem made me miss been out.

    Reply

  22. navasolanature
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 13:09:18

    Quite topical if you had that snow storm of snow storms. I like the contrast of the climate controlled rooms and the sensual pleasures of nature and then the snow. Who is in control and out of control!

    Reply

  23. Hannah Gosselin
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 14:42:56

    Absolutely!! Such a good reminder…on all levels you bring the highlights and power of nature to the fore…excellent approach…so visual and audible…one can feel that cold. 🙂

    Reply

  24. Sumana Roy
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 23:46:48

    ‘climate controlled rooms’ is self made prison for us so we have to act like a prisoner pining for freedom…yet the key is in the hands of mighty Nature…ha..who is controlling whom….a good reminder Toni…

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

