dVerse Poetics: Chinese New Year

Today over at dVerse Poets Pub, I am doing the poetics prompt for today. Since we are starting the Chinese New Year, I thought it would be fun to not only have some information about that wonderful festival, but also to use fortune strips from Fortune Cookies. There are four fortunes – the idea is to pick a fortune and write a poem about it and to give as a quote, the fortune. So, below is the fortune strip I chose. Come visit us, find out about the Chinese New Year and read some good poems. And….Since today is Mardis Gras (Fat Tuesday), I have to say “Laissez bon temps rollez!

public domain photo

public domain photo

Your Shoes Will Make You Happy Today
“Your shoes will make you happy today” Chinese fortune cookie strip

My favorite shoes make me happy everyday.
Hot pink with sparkles and images
of koi and geisha
peeping from the bottom of my jeans
or the black dress slacks I wear to church
or in the summer when they take me down
to the creek or across the way to the meadow
or the daily walk in the woods.

Size 5… koi… geishas
hot pink and sparkles
or the second favorite pair which is turquoise…
sparkles, samurai, koi…

Both pair of shoes always make me smile.
They made a little girl happy in Little Tokyo store
today. She saw me and then my shoes and
began pointing – Annie May! Annie May!
Tiny little Cambodian girl nestled in her father’s arms.
Annie May! he tried to shush her
but no. She pointed at me and
then my shoes.
I smiled at her hugely.
Her father explained he was a big fan of
the Bleach Anime’ series and that I had
the white hair of the series Character.
And I had such magic shoes.
He put the little mite of a child down
and she came over and hunkered down
patting my shoes approvingly.

Seems fortunes do come true sometimes.
My shoes made me very happy today.
When he left, she was waving over his shoulder –
bye bye Annie May
bye bye shoes!

I waved and called after her:
*bratan pr dl anak!

*Khmer for “bless you”.

 

public domain image

public domain image

 

58 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria C. Slotto
    Feb 08, 2016 @ 20:38:02

    This brought back a special memory for me. When I went to help in El Salvador after a horrible earthquake, I wore a pare of red and white Nike’s (this was in 1986). A young girl who visited in the clinic we set up in the street couldn’t take her eyes off of them, When I left, I had the joy of seeing her happiness when I gave them to her. Truly, it is more blessed to give than to receive.”

    I will do my best to comment on as many poems as I can tomorrow. Time to indulge in a new computer, Toni…

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Feb 08, 2016 @ 21:25:07

    What a delightful story / poem this is! It is nice when shoes not only make YOU happy but someone else as well!

    Reply

  3. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 08, 2016 @ 23:03:17

    I see the shoes and the meeting with the father and his daughter so clearly. A delight to read and imagine. A fascinating story all because of a pair of shoes. How awesome is that? ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  4. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Feb 08, 2016 @ 23:03:45

    Are you getting my e-mails?

    Reply

  5. GP Cox
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 06:49:02

    Hong Kong is in awfully bad shape this morning. Not a good New Years.

    Reply

  6. Glenn Buttkus
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 12:08:29

    Your sweet shoe tale cracked my face with smiles, Toni. If his is a true event, bless your heart; if it dips into creative license, bless your imagination. I can’t wait to read the there 3 fortunes so that I can join the fun.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 09, 2016 @ 12:24:55

      Very true Glenn. You would have wanted to scoop that tiny child up and abscond with her. I am not good with children but I couldn’t resist her. I’ll send you the other 3 fortunes in a flash.

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 09, 2016 @ 12:34:51

      Here you go, the other three: A merry heart does good like medicine. Whenever possible keep it simple. You are a mover of words.

      Have fun. The post about Chinese New Year is fun too.

      Reply

  7. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 14:31:04

    Oh this is most excellent… What a great way to spread happiness.. I remember making the security check smiling once when I took off my black shoes and had Marimekko flower socks… Yes we need to have some fun with shoes and socks

    Reply

  8. Bryan Ens
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 15:22:35

    This is great fun. Love the joy that you brought to that child, Annie May! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Pleasant Street
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 16:28:57

    many smiles here

    Reply

  10. Victoria C. Slotto
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 17:11:34

    Toni, I will do commenting for you. Given your computer problems and the cold you are experiencing, I prescribe: curl up under a comforter, keep warm and be kind to yourself. I reply to your comment on my blog here.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Feb 09, 2016 @ 17:26:22

      My computer is now not letting me get to other websites to read and comment. I appreciate this very much. I am ready to jump off the roof of the house in frustration.

      Reply

      • Victoria C. Slotto
        Feb 09, 2016 @ 20:18:33

        Go to bed–I”m on it. And when cyberspace welcomes you into your happy space, I did write a second one to the prompt.

        Reply

        • kanzensakura
          Feb 09, 2016 @ 21:27:48

          Thank goodness the email on my phone works. I can respond to emails but can’t comment. I really dislike not being able to comment as that is do important to our community. Thank you so much Victoria. It helps a lot.

          Reply

  11. Sanaa Rizvi
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 17:24:06

    This is such a delightful read! Gong Xi Fa Cai ❤

    Reply

  12. Shawna
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 17:31:56

    I love this.

    Reply

  13. Mama Zen
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 17:53:26

    This made me smile!

    Reply

  14. Nato
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 19:04:11

    So wonderful!

    Reply

  15. Hannah Gosselin
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 19:51:14

    Those are wonderfully happy shoes and this was a fun challenge – thank you!!

    Reply

  16. Grace
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 20:11:33

    How delightful to have these shoes Toni ~ I was smiling at the end too ~

    Reply

  17. whimsygizmo
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 20:11:41

    What a gorgeous little slice of time. Real fortune – and value – lies in moments like these, for me. Love it.

    Reply

  18. Bodhirose
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 21:06:48

    Aww…what a sweet exchange with that tiny girl. Warmed my heart… 🙂

    Reply

  19. Candy
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 22:57:54

    Awww, well your shoes made me feel happy too! 🙂

    Reply

  20. thotpurge
    Feb 09, 2016 @ 23:37:16

    Snazzy pair of shoes indeed!!! Much fun!

    Reply

  21. MarinaSofia
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 02:33:04

    What a wonderful story – those shoes made you extra happy today, seeing your joy reflected in that girl’s eyes! How I love the so-called ‘age inappropriate’ shoes!

    Reply

  22. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 07:50:45

    and she came over and hunkered down
    patting my shoes approvingly.

    It is a nice feeling to be appreciated for. And when it comes from a little one it is a genuine show of true feelings.

    Hank

    Reply

  23. petrujviljoen
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 08:03:08

    Very very uplifting. Best regards to you and your puter. Petru

    Reply

  24. lillian
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 09:15:14

    Such a joyful poem! And joyful happy shoes. I can see them peeking out from many an outfit and I’d be always looking down and smiling. Happy steps indeed. Koi on both….symbol of good luck and happiness. Sparkling you are….

    Reply

  25. Sumana Roy
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 09:54:27

    I’m floating with happiness…heartwarming lines 🙂

    Reply

  26. writersdream9
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 10:43:36

    This made me remember the love for shoes that I had as a child! What a great read!

    Reply

  27. Waltermarks
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 17:14:28

    That’sweet, you made a little girl’s day

    Reply

  28. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Feb 11, 2016 @ 02:48:43

    Such a happy story, and the fortune cookie fortune came true for you!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

