Quadrille: Bubble Lives

free public domain image

free public domain image

I missed the Monday Quadrille De Jackson (WhimsyGizmo) had for us.  Poems have to use the prompt word and be exactly 44 words in length.  The prompt word was “Bubble”. So I am submitting this for dVerse’s Open Link Night – in which poets can submit one of any of their original poems on any subject in any form. Come join us for a wonderful time of reading creative poets!

Bubble Lives
cherry blossoms bloom at dawn –
fade, fall before noon
scattering in the wind.
dew evaporates with the sun –
the song of a bird breaks the silence
then fades again into the silence.
our lives are but bubbles on the surface
of a pond.

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:09:18

    What a beautiful poem… love the thought of bubbles on a pond… wonderful

    Reply

  2. Linda Kruschke
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:15:13

    I see a beautiful hint of spring in this, and you know I do love spring. 🙂 Peace, Linda

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:20:33

      Yes you do! 🙂

      Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:29:08

      And actually, this isn’t about spring. It is about intransience and the brevity of our lives. I learned today my “twin” cousin has lung cancer and this was the result.

      Reply

      • Linda Kruschke
        Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:32:42

        Rereading it I can see that aspect of the poem. Perhaps I saw spring because I so want it to come. But even in the back of my mind as I wrote my comment I thought, and then will come summer and fall and winter again. Subconsciously I did catch on to the fleeting nature of life that you were conveying. I am sorry to hear about your cousin. This is a beautiful tribute. Peace, Linda

        Reply

  3. Glenn Buttkus
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:20:39

    Spring is the most popular theme out here on the trail tonight; & well it should be. Adieu to hoary frost & snow drifts, tire chains, & bone chills–hello to gestation & new life.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:28:52

      And actually, this isn’t about spring. It is about intransience and the brevity of our lives. I learned today my “twin” cousin has lung cancer and this was the result. I grieve for him.

      Reply

  4. Sanaa Rizvi
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:41:49

    This is such an elegant quadrille ❤ ❤

    Reply

  5. summerstommy2
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 16:54:35

    Lovely metaphor on life. Beautifully done.

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 17:01:14

    This is good. Quite profound….. I like the idea of each life being a bubble floating on a pond. The pond = the earth. We each have just a bit of impact in this wide, wide world. (Ha, sometimes individual bubbles think they are more important than they are.)

    Reply

  7. navasolanature
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 17:12:50

    Beautifully expressed and do hope your cousin can be treated and recover. Life is fragile and the bubbles express that .

    Reply

  8. Grace
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 18:06:46

    I am looking forward to seeing those cherry blooms ~ But this part is full of wisdom:

    our lives are but bubbles on the surface
    of a pond.

    Reply

  9. Bodhirose
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 22:09:00

    I’m sorry for your sad news, Toni. And how true that our lives are so very fragile…like those bubbles. Beautifully told in a short 44 words!

    Reply

  10. cayn
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 22:20:56

    This is fantastic!

    Reply

  11. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 23:26:48

    I have no words. Sigh. ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

  12. MarinaSofia
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 01:58:33

    So easily destroyed, and somewhat illusory. I love the comparison! Quadrille suits you.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 15, 2016 @ 17:19:20

      Catching up on some comments! out of town with iffy internet….thank you so much. I like the form – expanded haiku, uncounted tanka….that is how I think of this 44 word wonder Bjorn came up with.

      Reply

  13. Al The Author
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 02:56:07

    This is wonderful. It takes the “classic” haiku concept, and expands it beautifully, even if the overall message is less than positive (or realistic, depending on your viewpoint)

    Reply

  14. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 03:12:27

    Life is so short, so ephemeral – like your bubbles on a pond. A lovely poem.

    Reply

  15. kim881
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 03:31:46

    Ephemeral bubbles and cherry blossom on a pond – sublime.

    Reply

  16. Raivenne
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 13:17:12

    So beautifully put, kanzensakura. The likening to the oh so brief lives of Cherry Blossom blooms and bubbles was heartfelt and heartbreaking. I really felt this.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Mar 15, 2016 @ 17:13:16

      Catching up on some comments! out of town with iffy internet..Thank you. I feel this deeply. I have been out of town taking care of my mother who is frail and not doing well…so this one truly was from the heart

      Reply

  17. Victoria C. Slotto
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 18:24:16

    You are skilled at bringing the feeling of a Japanese poem into so many beautiful poems. So much to love about this one–the kind I wish I’d written.

    Reply

  18. Margaret Elizabeth Bednar
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 20:53:36

    Our life is comprised of moments. Yes. Beautiful

    Reply

  19. Abhra
    Mar 05, 2016 @ 00:12:42

    Breaking silence and then fading into silence – very soulful piece Toni. Have a good weekend.

    Reply

  20. lillian
    Mar 05, 2016 @ 07:03:29

    Ah….I’m so glad you came back to this prompt. This is bubble-licious! The moments of time that pop — like the small bubbles……..really enjoyed this. A quiet poem…serene…..still…..and yet, we just barely here that bubble pop on the surface of the pond. Great metaphor for our lives in the space of time.

    Reply

  21. Bryan Ens
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 09:02:25

    Those last two lines are brilliant! A short proverb to cap of your poem.

    Reply

  22. Shivani
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 13:50:32

    loved the last line “our lives are but bubbles on the surface of a pond”.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

