Sevenling Poem: He survived

Today at the dVerse Poet’s Pub, De has given  us the deceptively simple poetry form:  Sevenling – two tercets and one line at the end – a refined list poem with the last line to bring resolution to the poem.  Another short form!  Easy to read but more than the sum of its parts.  Come join us for exceptional poems from exceptional poets. http://dversepoets.com/2016/04/07/dverse-meeting-the-bar-the-sevenling-form/

copyright kanzensakura

He survived after being thrown away by his person’s heirs
roaming the neighborhood living off stale popcorn and bread thrown out for the birds.
Feral dogs, snow, thirst he fought to live.

I saw him and brought him in and he loved me instantly.
unconditionally through my days of darkness
he guarded me and forgave me.

Who would have thought so great a heart would ever stop beating.

 

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 15:23:01

    Oh, Toni. This makes me ache. Excellent use of the form, to write your heart. I am so sorry for your loss. They truly become family members, and part of who we are.

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 15:39:59

    Oh .. Poor Sam, what a beautiful life you gave him though – love the picture.

    Reply

  3. MarinaSofia
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 15:41:13

    Ah, this breaks my heart! What a lovely picture, too.
    I don’t know why, but I expected short lines for the sevenling, but you have opted for long ones, which makes it a much more solid, chunky form yet still supple – a bit like a cat’s body.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Apr 07, 2016 @ 15:45:06

      Thank you! yes, like a cat. I seem to fall into those long lines for this form. As much as I like the short lines for haiku, I find I like the elegance of long lines, not so much a jerky list as a flowing one – like a cat’s tail.

      Reply

  4. hypercryptical
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 15:55:15

    Beautiful heartfelt words Toni. So sad for your loss.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Reply

  5. Sanaa Rizvi
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 16:25:26

    I am so sorry for your loss Toni.. this is beautifully poignant.

    Reply

  6. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 16:44:30

    You brought tears to my eyes. A happy ending is always god for me.

    Reply

  7. Misky
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 17:15:03

    What a precious little fellow…

    Reply

  8. Bryan Ens
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 17:26:14

    The sadness of loss would not be so profound without that love. Beautiful piece.

    Reply

  9. Bodhirose
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 18:00:11

    What a handsome boy, Toni. It seems you came into each other’s lives at the exact perfect time…to be a best friend to one another. Such precious friendships between us and our animal family members. Your last line just tore at my heart…sniff.

    Reply

  10. Mary
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 18:17:12

    Oh, Toni! It is so sad that animals don’t live as long as humans, isn’t it? We all face our pets’ mortality & it is not easy.

    Reply

  11. Grace
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 18:43:51

    How sad Toni ~

    Reply

  12. voiceless2010
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 19:08:19

    Aww, a beautiful tribute to a beloved companion.

    Reply

  13. ghostmmnc
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 19:18:10

    So sorry for your heartache. Our pets leave their footprints on our hearts, never to be forgotten. Wonderful remembrance of your sweet kitty.

    Reply

  14. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Apr 07, 2016 @ 20:47:03

    Oh what a beautiful poem and story. And what a beautiful cat! The last line made me cry.

    Reply

  15. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 00:01:12

    A blessing extended to one so unfortunate will come round to reward the good heart. It normally works that way! Wonderful lines Toni!

    Hank

    Reply

  16. kelvin s.m.
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 05:37:37

    I like your take at Sevenling. Some people are just so cruel. I am glad you are not. Thank you for saving him! 🙂

    Reply

  17. petrujviljoen
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 05:59:55

    Had a moment here! My cat looks almost exactly like yours! She just jumped onto my lap when i started to read this. Hugged her so close she complained! Also a stray I took in. Sorry about your loss. I can’t imagine being without her. She’s one of the rare ones that turned out female although half a ginger. Oh my word! Will look out for her with a keener eye. We have eagles and jackals here and serval cats.

    Reply

  18. phoartetry
    Apr 08, 2016 @ 16:05:48

    I’m so sorry for your loss. It is never easy, as a pet owner of many, I know.

    “It came to me that every time I lose a pet, they take a piece of my heart with them. Yet, every new pet who comes into my life gifts me with a piece of their heart. If I live long enough, all the components of my heart will be cat, and I will become as generous and loving as they are.” – Unknown

    Connie

    Reply

  19. M
    Apr 09, 2016 @ 03:22:58

    oh my ~

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

