dVerse Poets Pub – Meeting the Bar #2

Another entry for the wonderful Golden Shovel poetic form prompt De has given us to use for our poems.  Come and read!  I am linking to:  http://dversepoets.com/2016/05/05/dverse-meeting-the-bar-the-golden-shovel-form/  I seem to have a theme going here:  stars and the night.  I have taken my lines (two lines out of sequence but in order) from Alfred, Lord Tennyson’s  Maud, an extract, section viii

Winter Stars at Night
In spite of the leaving of day and love my heart continues to beat
and to throb in rhythm with the watching stars and to
carry me onward through the night and the
coldness of snow as it falls – noiseless.
I remember the lights and the music
your arms around me and the warmth of
your kiss on my neck – tasting the pearls, the
salt of my skin. Before you left the Night
was bright with chandelier stars and warm and my heart beat
f
ast with the waltz and the oh so happy
music and the lift of the music and the smiling stars.
Now here in the lonely night the stars pulse, timing
their silent heartbeats with
lost and broken things
stumbling in the falling snow, here on the earth below

free non-commercial use image

free non-commercial use image

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. whimsygizmo
    May 05, 2016 @ 22:38:53

    Love the cadence, the rhythm, the SHINE of this, Toni. Just beautiful. You show us that sky so beautifully, always.

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 06, 2016 @ 02:10:51

    I really love how the stars might be the same, but they are all so different, depending on with whom you spend your time

    Reply

  3. Sanaa Rizvi
    May 06, 2016 @ 08:34:07

    This is absolutely breathtaking… ❤ ❤

    Reply

  4. navasolanature
    May 06, 2016 @ 09:08:49

    This has such elegance and beauty and inspired by Maud and? Your love of the sky?

    Reply

  5. georgeplace2013
    May 06, 2016 @ 09:40:07

    timing
    their silent heartbeats with
    lost and broken things….. tenderly beautiful

    Reply

  6. Victoria C. Slotto
    May 06, 2016 @ 15:21:57

    For some reason, this makes me want to dance. The music, the stars, the night…and its a new moon=new beginnings.

    Reply

  7. Patti
    May 06, 2016 @ 18:15:46

    I felt loss in this, and a comfort from the sympathetic stars. Beautifully written.

    Reply

  8. Walt Wojtanik
    May 07, 2016 @ 21:49:05

    The repeating heartbeat is mesmerizing, Toni. Nicely done.

    Reply

  9. PSC
    May 09, 2016 @ 19:09:02

    Lovely piece! I especially like those ‘chandelier stars’ and how ‘the stars pulse, timing their silent heartbeats with lost and broken things’ — beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

