Haibun Monday #14 – Relax

I am hosting today and for the next couple of times, the Haibun Monday prompt sessions over at dVerse Poets Pub. Today the prompt is “relax” and how do you relax? I am excited about this and have several prompts already going in my head.  I hope you will join us.  The haibun is a wonderful form – a nonfiction prose/poetry form summed up by a haiku at the end.  For my haibun today, I have chosen to write about “boketto”.  Boketto is taken from 「ぼけとする – to be daydreaming. One gazes into the horizon or sky and does it without thinking, by the mind being still and empty. One is aware of what is going on and absorbs scents, sounds, sensations (such as heat from sun or rain). No thinking about anything – no recipes, work, schedules – nothing. Relax!

Boketto 「ぼけとする」
It is the time of morning after the birds have awakened and their busy work completed. Nestlings have been fed and are still for a time. Quietly resting in the branches hidden by full green leaves, the birds are mostly silent now. Sometimes a trill or chirp from a wren, the soft whoowhoowhoo from a dove or the sweet bell song of a cardinal. Rush hour traffic has ended and only an occasional car passes. The sweet smell of honeysuckle in the summer heat is sweet incense. I lie in the hammock gazing up at the green tree tops against the blue sky watching the hawk as it hunts, floating on the wind currents high above me. No thoughts inside my head. A wispy white cloud drifts away into the blue boundary of the horizon. My mind is empty and my eyes simply observe. 「ぼけとする」This daydreaming is as automatic as my heartbeats. I no longer have to say, no thoughts, and work to empty myself. Just as I stopped years ago saying, breathe, breathe…Emptier than the blue sky above me, I simply am.

green tree canopy
blue summer sky – little cloud
fades in the horizon

copyright kanzensakura

copyright kanzensakura

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Grace
    May 23, 2016 @ 08:55:26

    I can feel myself drifting in that sweet smell of honeysuckle, losing myself among the wispy clouds ~ Empty and breath deeply ~

    Now I know the name for this relaxation method ~ Thanks Toni ~

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 23, 2016 @ 11:00:46

    I have to say that finding a spot where you can simply watch the sky.. and drift away must be so very very relaxing…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 23, 2016 @ 14:30:02

      Even in the busiest city, I can always find a bit of sky – it may be small, but I will find it. I used to sit in my car in the parking lot where I worked. I learned to block out the busy around me and just look at that blue sky. But sitting by the sea – watching the sea – oh my.

      Reply

  3. Victoria C. Slotto
    May 23, 2016 @ 15:00:17

    This, for me, is the time of prayer and reflection. Even on days when the sky is blocked because of overcast I find centeredness in these moments. The days I miss that time for some reason–early appointments, for example–just don’t seem to flow as smoothly.I do confess, though, I have a heck of a time silencing my monkey mind…ADD, I suspect.

    Reply

  4. Glenn Buttkus
    May 23, 2016 @ 15:36:47

    Boketto indeed. Your haibun reminds me that as some of us are in the winter of our lives, we can take wonderful shortcuts to the white quiet, the center; like the rapid trip to bliss with a spouse. Thanks for the chance to define “relax” for each of us. I like your line /this daydreaming is as automatic as my heartbeats/–so very Zen.

    Reply

  5. jillys2016
    May 23, 2016 @ 15:38:44

    Lovely imagery and the photo is perfect! Thanks for hosting 🙂

    Reply

  6. sarahsouthwest
    May 23, 2016 @ 16:32:18

    Thank you for a beautiful piece and an interesting challenge. I love your image, and your serene haiku. “Emptier than the blue sky above me..” lovely.

    Reply

  7. Walt Wojtanik
    May 23, 2016 @ 18:09:01

    A gracefully peaceful experience! We could all use a boketto moment! I appreciate this piece very much!

    Reply

  8. Bodhirose
    May 23, 2016 @ 19:29:22

    Just reading this I felt myself relax imagining that blue sky with those puffy white clouds drifting overhead. It is a meditation to watch that blueness. I enjoyed your prompt, Toni…thank you!

    Reply

  9. Mish
    May 23, 2016 @ 20:02:36

    Oh this was heavenly! Just reading it, de-cluttered by brain a bit. We are on the same page when it comes to nature, I believe. Healing, nourishing, balancing….all good.

    Reply

  10. georgeplace2013
    May 23, 2016 @ 20:02:41

    I love watching the treetops sway in the breeze like the rolling surf. Your ” I lie in the hammock gazing up at the green tree tops against the blue sky” took me there for a moment.

    Reply

  11. whimsygizmo
    May 23, 2016 @ 20:26:21

    I simply love the word Boketto…the way it works around in my mouth, ends in that small “oh!” that comes from the simplicity of noticing beauty.

    Again, you have given me a mantra:

    “breathe, breathe…Emptier than the blue sky above me, I simply am.”

    This also brings me straight to “I Am,” the One who made me, and who gives me each breath. There’s thankfulness here, as well. YES.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 24, 2016 @ 11:59:33

      And that small “oh!” is what a lot of Japanese poetry is about, especially classic haiku. The other day my husband heard me muttering and finally said…bo – ketto? boketto? and laughed realizing I was having fun just saying the word…another word – haberdashery. Good word for when driving about busy streets.

      Reply

  12. thotpurge
    May 23, 2016 @ 21:03:31

    Just as I stopped years ago saying, breathe, breathe… love that.. to simply exist without a single thought would be a way to know one’s true self. Lovely!

    Reply

  13. B. E. Adalgari
    May 23, 2016 @ 22:48:24

    There is such a sense of peace and surrender here. I love the image of the cloud which dissolves into the sky– just as your consciousness has dissipated quietly into the wildlife. Beautiful

    Reply

  14. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    May 24, 2016 @ 05:56:25

    daydreaming is as automatic as my heartbeats.
    I no longer have to say, no thoughts,
    and work to empty myself

    How true, Toni! Daydreaming is a privilege. it can suddenly transfer thoughts to play around with lots of ideas to make one productive.

    Hank

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 24, 2016 @ 11:53:19

      Ahhh, but the purpose of this is to get rid of thoughts and such, to just be empty. But I do have my “busy” daydreams, one of which is telling me now to put in another load of wash!

      Reply

  15. Trackback: The Difference a Day Makes | petrujviljoen
  16. Misky
    May 24, 2016 @ 08:05:06

    So relaxing and calming. Lovely.

    Reply

  17. Kathy Reed
    May 24, 2016 @ 10:06:57

    Something I need to do….our early spring is lingering on, flowers are out, but the temperature needs to be warmer here for swaying in a hammock.
    So well said and a good way to relax, no doubt!

    Reply

  18. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    May 26, 2016 @ 20:46:41

    Lovely to be with you during this experience, and the photo captures it perfectly.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

