Tuesday Poetics: Mistakes

Today CC is our guest prompter at the dVerse Poets Pub.  She reminds us “Even Monkeys Fall from Trees” meaning, we all have made, make, will make mistakes.  I am writing about a series of events way back in the day – a day that will live in the minds of many – Kani no Tsunami –  crab tsunami. Come join us at dVerse today!

Kani no tsunami
The day began as many others
back in the wild days of my youth.
My cousin Billy was coming over from Jersey
and plans had been made for epic events.
My roommate was pumped, she thought Billy was cool.
At that time I lived on Long Island and one thing was sure.
Be at one of the numerous docks when
The fishing boats came in and
Fresh wondrous catches could be bought for a song
(and a couple of dollars!)
Crabs….I had in mind – crabs.
Steamed with Old Bay seasoning
Butter and cold beer to drink. Oh yes.
Billy arrived and the day of mistakes began.
I had made a two quart pitcher of kamikazes
And they were all cold in the fridge and waiting.
We toasted each other. He broke out a joint.
First things first before we headed to the dock.
The fishing boats rolled in and we found the crab boat.
A bushel of crabs, all snapping and clicking
A bushel of crabs for $2 and no change.
The waterman shoveled crabs into a brown paper bag
And then another bag.
He offered to sell us the basket for $1 but ….
Into the backseat of the car the bags were set.
The crabs kept us company as we chugged Kamikazes
From a thermos and shared another joint.
Arrived back at home I grabbed one damp bag,
Billy grabbed the other.
And yeah, you know what’s coming, don’t you?
Barely inside, first his bag and then mine BURST!!!!!!
Crabs, crabs, everywhere were crabs.
Scuttling and snapping and blowing our minds…
Angry crabs, pissed off crabs, hungry crabs.
We jumped onto the coffee table screaming like – well,
screaming like little girls.
Billy and I clutched each other wondering,
What do we do now?
I finally jumped and made a dash for the kitchen
grabbed a broom and began herding those darn crabs.
Billy helped and we herded them into the bathroom and
Pushed them into the tub.
We didn’t want crabs anymore.
They ended up being put into a garbage can and taken
down to the beach and freed back into the surf.
I’m sure they had tales to tell
About the day they invaded dry land dwellers.
To this day, Billy gets the twitches
when you mention crabs.
So take my advice and don’t make our mistakes:
Stay sober and buy the damn basket for a buck.

public domain photo

public domain photo

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    May 31, 2016 @ 15:14:49

    Ha.. this had me almost bending over laughing… even if you kind of hinted what was gonna happened when you didn’t buy the basket, reality beat my expectations…
    1 for the crabs 0 for humans…

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 31, 2016 @ 15:17:11

      Billy’s eyelids will start to twitch and I refuse to eat them. Somehow, I can’t do it. But I do love to tell the tale. So glad for a change to share it.

      Reply

  2. Sanaa Rizvi
    May 31, 2016 @ 17:32:36

    Oh I agree, this one made me grin as I imagined all those scenes 😀
    Beautifully executed.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Reply

  3. Grace
    May 31, 2016 @ 17:59:04

    This is so hilarious…and I recall the time we bought fresh crabs ourselves and had to stay in hotel as the flight was delayed…and guess what, the crabs were running around the room and into the bathroom ~

    But I love crabs…so yummy with butter 🙂

    Reply

  4. Mary
    May 31, 2016 @ 18:26:02

    Ha, your poem reads like a cautionary tale, Toni!! Glad I am really not a fan of crabs.

    Reply

  5. Victoria C. Slotto
    May 31, 2016 @ 19:47:42

    Chugging Kamikazes…OH NO! We have a neighbor in the desert who makes killer Kamikazes. I don’t drink but just a taste sends me to the edge. This was such a fun one, Toni. I still love crabs…poor things.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      May 31, 2016 @ 22:19:00

      Yes, but the poor things were taken back to their home and they all skittered back with the waves. I can’t eat them now. After returning them home, I just knew I couldn’t eat them again.

      Reply

  6. Nan Mykel
    May 31, 2016 @ 22:26:08

    Oh, great. When you said you know what’s coming I thought 9-11. So glad it was a hilarious story.

    Reply

  7. whimsygizmo
    May 31, 2016 @ 22:52:51

    HA! Is it sad that this just makes me super hungry for crab? (And yet also simultaneously wanting to watch them all side-walk their way back into the ocean?) Love it.

    Reply

  8. C.C.
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 00:03:31

    To think the basket was only a buck! If you’d bought it, you never know….you might still like crabs 😉 Lots of reasons this ‘day of mistakes’ is a story from your wild youth—thanks for sharing it.

    Reply

  9. Laura Bloomsbury
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 07:03:04

    painted a finely detailed picture here and was pure joy to read – those crustaceans get everywhere but at their best in the oceans!

    Reply

  10. Bryan Ens
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 09:25:43

    This is fabulous! I can just envision a group of young inebriated folk stranded on a coffee table surrounded by angry crabs 🙂

    Reply

  11. maria
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 10:37:45

    Hahaha! I enjoyed reading this.. A lesson well learned so it seems! XD

    Reply

  12. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 11:37:12

    I needed this poem in a big way Toni! Put a smile on my face each time I read it (and I’ve read it a few!) We learn from your lesson!

    Reply

  13. freyathewriter
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 15:26:13

    This made me laugh out loud – I was right there with you as the crabs scuttled and snapped at your feet! Brilliant 🙂

    Reply

  14. jillys2016
    Jun 01, 2016 @ 19:26:54

    Great narrative, I saw the whole thing!

    Reply

  15. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Jun 02, 2016 @ 03:02:24

    Wonderfully well told. Despite my prissy disgust at the booze and the drugs in charge of a motor car, I was roaring with laughter by the end.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 02, 2016 @ 15:07:58

      Well, it was several decades ago at the beginning of the 80’s. Times were rather different then among us young ones. Now we are older and wouldn’t consider doing such a thing. Glad it made you laugh.

      Reply

  16. Barry D.
    Jun 03, 2016 @ 00:04:54

    My goodness… that… was… hilarious! I could totally see myself in your shoes! I would’ve made the same mistakes and had the same reaction!

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

