Quadrille #11

Today De is our bartender for the Quadrille feature today.  Her magic word is “spill”.  A quadrille is a poem of 44 words, no more no less, title not included using the prompt word.  Join us today and submit your Quadrille using the word “spill”. http://dversepoets.com/2016/06/13/quadrille-11/

public domain figure

public domain figure

When Life Becomes Tears
Blood is life –
blood makes us family
blood makes us different ,
makes us the same,
blood tells us we are sick or well.
blood shared is healing
but when innocent blood is spilled
when blood spills onto the ground
Blood becomes tears.

 

50 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Victoria
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 15:26:24

    I’ve been pondering the same thoughts about the word “spill,” penning another quadrille in my mind, though I’m not sure I can express what I want to in 44 words. This is so well done, Toni.

    Reply

  2. kanzensakura
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 15:29:23

    I have a couple of long time friends in Orlando but past the age of going to bars. I did check the Orlando site just in case though and was ashamedly relieved to not find their names. I have already spoken with one friend yesterday and with another this morning. So very said.

    Reply

  3. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 15:44:07

    The innocent blood spilled, and all that hate causing it bring tears for me… I think poetry should be used just like this…

    Reply

  4. Linda Kruschke
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:01:27

    That last line is excellent and so true. I reminds me of the verse that says “Jesus wept.” He also bled. And I believe He weeps even today over the innocent blood spilled.

    Reply

  5. Carol J Forrester
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:05:34

    I think this is on most minds at the moment, you’ve managed to articulate it really well in such a short piece.

    Reply

  6. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:21:52

    Yes, yes, poets everywhere are reacting. Who gives a rip about Trump today. Sad it takes a tragedy of this magnitude to push the media’s focus off him. (by the by, your posters should arrive in a few more days.)

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:28:19

      I don’t give a rip about any of those running to be honest. Bombastic Trump, Savvy Clinton, Holyman Sanders – none of them. Talking to one of the kids at the out of school feeding program this morning, I learned she thought I was rich because I did not worry about getting food and have “spare” food in my pantry. One of of 5 kids in the US goes to bed hungry and wakes up hungry. To her, I am the one percent. That puts it all in perspective for me. So….I am looking forward to my posters. How exciting!

      Reply

  7. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:25:44

    Wow. Brilliant, Kanzen. ❤
    So much blood and erased lives. XX

    Reply

  8. whimsygizmo
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 16:52:07

    Well done, Toni. When blood is spilled in such a public, violent, terrible way, we are ALL family.

    Reply

  9. Grace
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 17:12:17

    Indeed it does Toni ~ A timely tribute to the lost of innocent lives ~

    Reply

  10. Raivenne
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 17:22:49

    And ah the tears that were wept! Excellent tribute Tony.

    Reply

  11. The Literary Doc
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 18:46:44

    A thoughtful, poignant piece. Beautiful in all of this sadness right now.

    Reply

  12. Arcadia Maria
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 20:05:42

    Lovely and poignant.

    Reply

  13. Candy
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 21:12:02

    Amen to that

    Reply

  14. Patti
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 22:04:07

    Yes. Sadly, there are too many who can’t see that we all share the same blood, that of humanity.

    Reply

  15. Bodhirose
    Jun 13, 2016 @ 22:56:38

    I wish we could all just identify as human beings but that is asking too much for some. I’m deeply heartbroken to see this hatred manifest in mass murder in my home town. It’s not at all the place that I grew up…

    Reply

  16. maria
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 01:22:28

    Powerful piece, Toni! And those last three lines broke my heart into pieces. *sigh*

    Reply

  17. kim881
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 02:42:06

    Well put, Toni. I think everyone else has said what I want to say. America is so far away from where I live but this kind of tragedy unites us all, wherever we are.

    Reply

  18. Rosemary Nissen-Wade
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 06:52:21

    Yes.

    Reply

  19. NJ
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 07:16:50

    I’m so tempted to ‘copy paste’ the whole poem here but I’ll just say it instead. I loved the whole poem. You have described life so beautifully and so powerfully. These lines:
    blood makes us different ,
    makes us the same…

    I mean, I kept nodding throughout saying, ‘yes, you are so right! Why can’t people see that? Why? Why are people so blind?’

    Reply

  20. Bryan Ens
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 08:17:14

    Blood becomes tears. Such a poignant response to the weekend’s violence.

    Reply

  21. Walt Wojtanik
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 11:29:22

    Touching and beautiful in tribute! Thank you for this, Toni!

    Reply

  22. Mish
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 11:58:21

    So true. It is so hard to understand those who have no value for human life.The last line is powerful and heartbreaking.

    Reply

  23. lillian
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 12:41:02

    Absolutely beautiful. So very sad when humanity turns against itself, not understanding that is what it is doing.
    A beautiful post.

    Reply

  24. freyathewriter
    Jun 14, 2016 @ 14:54:59

    Yes, beautiful. If only something so awful, so horrific, hadn’t happened, hadn’t need to be mentioned.

    Reply

  25. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jun 15, 2016 @ 00:34:23

    when innocent blood is spilled
    Blood becomes tears.

    When it does it is sad. More so when they are caught in a cross-fire of conflicts among big powers!

    Hank

    Reply

  26. Josslyn Rae Turner
    Jun 15, 2016 @ 05:54:04

    I also love the last line. Beautifully written.

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

