dVerse Meeting the Bar

Today, Victoria is hosting the bar with her Meeting the Bar prompt of writing poems in meter.  I rarely use meter because of my preference for Japanese poetic forms.  But I have given it a try using my beloved creek and trees as prompts.  Come join us at dVerse Poets Pub for fun and frolic.  Meter-Made Mood–dVerse Meeting the Bar

Play Day
Today is the day
I ran away and left my cares behind.
The trees they beckoned
And the creek it giggled
As I danced down the lane
Blue sky above me
And green grass below.
I want to play
I think I’ll play

The birds they sing
The butterflies they flutter and float
I splashed in the creek
And made the frogs hop
Away to quiet stones
And watch me in alarm.
I want to play
I think I’ll play
Oh! Come and let’s play.

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 16:03:14

    I think you should be proud of your poem… the way you vary the length makes it so joyful

    Reply

  2. Victoria
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 16:05:26

    Agree with Bjorn. Alternation of meter made me want to dance in the creek with you. We both kind of went to the same place (my 1st poem, that is.) I’m happy. We are still little girls at heart.

    Reply

  3. freyathewriter
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 16:11:11

    I’m dancing to this 🙂

    Reply

  4. Misky
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 16:48:53

    Splendid meter!

    Reply

  5. Sanaa Rizvi
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 17:49:03

    Gorgeous job done on the meter and mood Toni 🙂

    Reply

  6. Walt Wojtanik
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 19:07:12

    Ok, I’ll play! Wonderful meter and mood, Toni!

    Reply

  7. Grace
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 20:06:32

    I will play along with you Toni. This is such a happy poem.

    Reply

  8. Glenn Buttkus
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 22:35:36

    This joyful romp brings out the little girl in me; imagine my surprise when she popped up; but hey, the difference in the genders is just a couple genes on the helix, & poetic license offers me tremendous latitude.

    Reply

  9. Bodhirose
    Jun 16, 2016 @ 23:29:03

    How sweet and joyful, Toni. Yes, let’s play!

    Reply

  10. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 04:44:03

    I love how you play with the metre, as well as the words.

    Reply

  11. kim881
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 09:26:30

    Hi Toni! I enjoyed this playful poem and I especially enjoyed Glenn’s reaction!

    Reply

  12. jillys2016
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 09:59:11

    When I finished the first reading, I was certain that the word ‘skip’ was in there and went back looking for it. Alas, it is there in mood! Beautiful!

    Reply

  13. whimsygizmo
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 14:55:54

    I love the way the longer “running away” and “flutter and float” lines seem to take their own words to heart, juxta-positioned with the shorter lines. Such a fine playful air to this. Love it.

    Reply

  14. lillian
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 19:35:29

    Well – as I’ve said before, I can’t comment on the meter because I still don’t think I understand it especially when it’s “mixed” but I can comment on the “sense” of the poem and I LOVE this! I definitely want to come into that creek, splash and throw water about, look up at the sky and maybe even give out a shout — even though it might frighten all those birds in the tree near by — but then I could watch them fly up into that beautiful blue sky! This is JOYFUL! And that’s always how I picture you, my friend! 🙂 Late to the reading I am — but the enjoyment is great. Tipping my glass of chardonnay to you! 🙂

    Reply

  15. Kathleen Reed
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 22:42:47

    A fun poem with your use of meter; there is something about the joy matching the picture I had in my head with the words. I could have sworn there was a picture posted.

    Reply

  16. kaykuala (@hankkaykuala)
    Jun 17, 2016 @ 22:58:15

    Good play on the meter Toni! The short phrases make it a delightful play!

    Hank

    Reply

  17. kanzensakura
    Jun 18, 2016 @ 09:27:21

    what fun

    Reply

You've heard my voice, please let me hear yours. Let the conversation begin!

