My Night

This is my first visit to Poetic Bloomings, hosted by WALTER J. WOJTANIK and other grand folk over at Poetic Bloomings, another poetry community. Walt is the newest addition to our staff over at dVerse Poets Pub whose doors are closed for a brief summer hiatus. dVerse will be back in a couple of weeks! At Poetic Bloomings today, we were given the amazing poem “You Begin” by Margaret Atwood to be our inspiration. This is my poem inspired by that. I have left a link to my poem at Poetic Bloomings at: https://poeticbloomings2.wordpress.com/2016/07/05/an-entertaining-summer-day-5-you-begin/

My Night
the fiery sunset fades to grey
and grey becomes indigo and
at last black. In the blue hour birds
sing their last songs of the day.
the summer night begins.
this is my night of the summer
when animals creep about
and bats fly, this is my night
with smells of roses, freshly cut grass.
this is my time of silence
broken only by the sound of insects
and frogs singing the stars awake.
air cools and dew falls
and only I am awake to know
this time. the wild tuxedo cat
ignores me as he makes his way
to the bush where is the pile of food I leave for him
and eats his fill and then moves on.
the fawn has grown to a doe and
she grazes on the clover just out of my reach.
The roses of my neighbor and my gardenia
mingle their perfumes for one brief glorious moment.
a mockingbird splits the silence of my night
and begins his cycle of song.
the still cool sky lightens to grey
to heliotrope and then explodes
into sunrise.
this is the beginning of my summer day.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walter J. Wojtanik
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 15:23:35

    Excellent poem in tribute to Atwood, Toni. And welcome to the “Garden”, a cozy little patch where poems take root! Glad you stopped over!

    Reply

  2. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 15:23:42

    What a glorios end with colors, with nocturnal critters and that brief rest before it’s dawn again. Love that visiting cat, I hope he brings some joy to you.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 05, 2016 @ 16:27:46

      We mainly don’t see each other. It is too painful to get close to him but I put out food for him at night and in winter let him sleep in my garage when he wants to. SamCat’s death hurt terribly.

      Reply

  3. Victoria C. Slotto
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 15:33:11

    This is just exquisite, Toni. I confess to feeling a little sad when I “heard” the mockingbird. We don’t have them in Reno, but in the desert they abound and their song often becomes my prayer. But I suppose I need to rejoice in the hummers, the orioles, stellar jays and so many other birds I do have. The songs of the robins do suffice.

    Reply

    • kanzensakura
      Jul 05, 2016 @ 16:33:24

      This wasn’t my buddy Peat who is best buds with a thrasher, Repeat. They are a daytime joy for mean, often riffing on the first six notes of the XFiles theme I finally taught them. This was a regular pass through guy. I find often times, there will be an insomniac mockingbird that goes off a bit before dawn. I fell in love with stellar jays on visits to the West. Beautiful birds!

      Reply

  4. Bryan Ens
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 16:38:02

    love how you start with the setting of the sun, but end with her rising again. So many beautiful night-time images!

    Reply

  5. Marie Elena
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 23:25:40

    So many beautiful images coming to mind here. Nice to meet you, and welcome to the garden! Hoping to see more of your work.

    Reply

Thank you for reading! I try to reciprocate all comments. If you want me to visit a particular post, please direct me directly to that post.

